No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - East Burton House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
East Burton Road, , , Wool, BH20 6HE
East Burton House is ideally situated within almost 1 acre of gardens in a rural location less than 3/4 mile from the picturesque village of Wool. Wool is a beautiful village situated in the of the Isle of Purbeck on the south coast of Dorset. East Burton House is set within a quiet picturesque rural location in the stunningly beautiful and unspoilt Isle of Purbeck. There are 3 local public houses within walking distance offering excellent lunch time and evening meals

We are situated in the heart of Thomas Hardy country, Lawrence of Arabia's grave & cottage, Monkey World and Bovington tank museum are just five minutes drive. The sandy beaches of Weymouth, Swanage and Studland, the world heritage Jurassic coast line, Corfe Castle and the Purbeck Hills offering beautiful walks through some of the finest countryside in southern England are all within a short distance of East Burton House. These are just a few of the many attractions and things to do that are located close by.

Set in just under 1 acre of gardens that back onto the river Wynn. East Burton House was originally a farmhouse employing 110 people in 1900! The rear of the house is 17th Century. The old staircase and kitchen, including a cast iron range and bread oven, can still be seen behind the current kitchen. The front of East Burton House is Victorian with the original pattern and coloured tiles in the entrance hall. Lots of the original features still remain – fireplaces, window shutters and even the maid’s bell in the breakfast room!
Picture of East Burton House, Wool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly B&B in a quiet location
We enjoyed our two night break at Burton House which is located on a quite road just outside Wool. The breakfast is made with quality produce, one being the free range eggs from their own hens which can be seen in the garden. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee with biscuits are provided. The local pubs are within a short walking distance and provide good food. A train line with trains running approximately every 30 mins is close but the noise does not spoil the quiet location. Good location for exploring the area. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

Reviewed by
T Reynolds

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and friendly service. Breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
Adrian Monelle

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable room - warm and quiet.
Un-necessary notice threatening to charge an extra £30 if the shower fitting broke. Shower pressure was low, shower door leaked, WC seat was broken. Bed mattresses were uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful old country house in a nice quiet location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Customer service needs a little improvement, but all were very friendly and helpful with information. Hens run free in the grounds and produce the most wonderful free range eggs that really made breakfast enjoyable. Would love to of stayed a little longer

Reviewed by
Melanie Jupp

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

East Burton House..."the Review".
Avery friendly welcome, which set the scene for the rest of our stay. The room was very comfortable and clean and the owner had thought of everything that we might need.
Breakfast was served in comfortable surroundings and was delicious.

Reviewed by
Lisa E

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Farmhouse stay
We stayed at East Burton B&B for three nights and found it very comfortable, clean and quiet with three very good nights sleep and excellent breakfasts. Ok so the rooms could do with a little bit of an update but what do you expect it's an old farmhouse! Outside there are lovely gardens but again in need of love and attention the weather was beautiful but the garden chairs did not cry out ' come and sit on me ' such a shame as its beautiful surroundings with the chickens running free . Good value for money and all you want in the room tea,coffee ,biscuits , hair dryer ,liquid soap, cotton wool and tissues. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We spent 2 nights at East Burton House, accomadation was clean and comfortable,breakfast was a real treat it was lovely and plentiful. We would stay there again

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again ....
A really warm welcome (even from the chickens!!), beautifully clean and comfortable room, breakfast was perfect. Couldn't have wished for better and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Rita Lawrence

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

East Burton House
East Burton House was the perfect location and stay for my 3 days visiting the Isle of Purbeck. With welcoming and helpful staff, a lovely room filled with amenities, nice location close to a number of pubs and close to access roads. Food was good too.

Reviewed by
P Ambler

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five star accomodation at an affortdable price
From the first time you enter the front door Shaun and Denise make you very welcome and are very helpful and the standard of the the accomodation is of a high standard with some unique touches such as stars on the ceiling which when you turn the light off that give you the impression of sleeping under the stars.
the breakfast was good, especially the local sausages.
i would stay again and recommend to everyone

Reviewed by
P Corrigan

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next