The Bay Horse Inn

3

The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village,, Durham, DH7 8ST

Price From 81.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (38)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kevin T

  • May 2015

staff were welcoming but went down hill after that

Room cold, shower - dirty, broken door.

batrhroom radiator leaked. no remote for TV. wall lights didnt work. Enough tea and milk for two drinks- asked for more. Photos on web of pub way out of date. Only small bar menu available. Ordered gammon, only to be told none left, nor half menu. So had burger and chips, - very disappointing - got impression it had been microwaved then put in pan. Chips weird - never had chips like this before, - werent frozen, possible fresh chips that had been stored and refried?.

It says breakfast included you only get cereal, toast, juice and coffee or tea. If you want a full English you have to pay an extra £3.95 which is not mentioned when booking. I was intending to have the cooked breakfast, and passing the kitchen there was one on the hotplate, but no one in breakfast room. I decided someone had made the breakfast assuming someone would order at some stage and it would appear secounds later as if by magic. I decided cereals were safer bet. Would I stay here again - not a chance.

  • Tracey A

  • April 2015

value for money

Made to feel very welcome on arrival, room initially cold but soon warmed with heated, room very basic, but for price value for money.

Only grumble was bath mat wet, shower riser broken, some mould round edge of shower tray and shower tray dirty due to what looked like a mop bucket being emptied into tray and not rinsed but removed with ease with a blast of water

  • J Minihan

  • April 2015

Room was cold , dark and dirty .

lights kept flickering unsafely . One of the duvets literally stank of urine. Was told breakfast is served from 8-9.30am .Arrived at 9.20am with 2 children only to be told we were too late , the cooker had been turned off and she was far too busy to make it anyway. ( this could have been a blessing in disguise)

  • beverley m

  • March 2015

staff very welcoming and couldnt do enough. room very clean the only problem room very cold

staff very helpful and friendly.

accommodation very clean. village very nice. the only problem was room very cold. heating only came on after request and for a very short time but did supply electric heater. bathroom very nice but again cold.

  • Eileen S

  • March 2015

Ice cold in Brandon

Arrived on a cold March evening to a freezing cold room to find central heating was not working although a small electric heater had been provided, this unfortunately was inadequate and did not warm the bathroom.

The result of this was we could not walk on the bathroom floor without shoes. The shower also had mould on it but this is not surprising as there was no heat in the room. The standard of the public rooms were very basic. Although a restaurant was advertised it was not open during our stay and only bar meals were available. The menu was limited but the quality and quantity of food was excellent. The female staff were very friendly although they were clearly all fed up with the complaints of lack of heating. Although WiFi was supposed to be available in the public areas this was another thing that did not work.

  • Amanda L

  • February 2015

I Found this was well located for Durham

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • JoAnn S

  • February 2015

Short break in Durham

Very good value for money, no frills everything necessary was there.

Tea, coffee and biscuits in room. Complimentary continental breakfast but could order full English for £3.95. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Ample on site parking, 10 minutes by car into Durham. Would definitely stay there again.

  • David Cox

  • February 2015

Disappointed

I wasn't impressed with my stay at The Bay Horse Inn, Durham Staff welcomed us on arrival but went downhill after that.

We stayed in room 6 mould patches in room and bathroom, the heating only came on for a couple of hours. There was no hot water on the morning. Bath could of done with a non slip mat or similar, also a non slip mat on the floor for when getting out of the shower. The room description said Television, telephone and tea and coffee. Only enough tea/coffee for a couple of drinks. (Good job we brought coffee and milk)

It says breakfast included you only get cereal, toast, juice and coffee or tea. If you want a full English you have to pay an extra £3.95 which is not mentioned when booking. The breakfast was a big let down it was luke warm or cold, seems cooked left in fridge and heated up. Morning staff could of been more helpful and been around to see to clients needs instead of disappearing. Seems as though the morning staff was not bothered

This place would suit someone who just wanted to bed down for the night or building workers

Very disappointing.

  • Alan Horton

  • January 2015

Great Stay in a place that was recommended to us

The staff were great from start to finish and could not have been more welcoming.

The room was clean and tidy. It was a really cold day but the room was warm but quickly became toasty warm with the heater provided in the room. At night the central heating made the room really comfortable to be in. The bed linen was really freshly washed and so were the towels. We had a great nights sleep and had a great cooked breakfast in the morning which was very good value for money. I have stayed in all types of accommodation all over the world but have not enjoyed such value for money and a more enjoyable stay. We will be booking again in the near future

  • Trevor E

  • January 2015

Excellent value for money.

Friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable (but basic) and clean room. Very convenient car parking and good "local" pub.