Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn


The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village,, Durham, DH7 8ST

Price From 63.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (39)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alison S

  • August 2015

Ok for a couple of days but very tired.

The staff were lovely and the room was spacious but definitely needed a lick of paint.

Small details lol no teaspoons or milk in the room on arrival and we had no shower or hot water for the duration of our two night stay, despite mentioning. We used the next door room but this was not ideal and obviously only possible because it was vacant. We ate in the restaurant once, food was tasty and good value. Breakfast was included and was okay.

  • D Pathak

  • July 2015

Great Customer Service...

Great customer service - staff pleasant and friendly; rooms a little tired but adequate for our stay.

  • Kevin T

  • May 2015

staff were welcoming but went down hill after that

Room cold, shower - dirty, broken door.

batrhroom radiator leaked. no remote for TV. wall lights didnt work. Enough tea and milk for two drinks- asked for more. Photos on web of pub way out of date. Only small bar menu available. Ordered gammon, only to be told none left, nor half menu. So had burger and chips, - very disappointing - got impression it had been microwaved then put in pan. Chips weird - never had chips like this before, - werent frozen, possible fresh chips that had been stored and refried?.

It says breakfast included you only get cereal, toast, juice and coffee or tea. If you want a full English you have to pay an extra £3.95 which is not mentioned when booking. I was intending to have the cooked breakfast, and passing the kitchen there was one on the hotplate, but no one in breakfast room. I decided someone had made the breakfast assuming someone would order at some stage and it would appear secounds later as if by magic. I decided cereals were safer bet. Would I stay here again - not a chance.

  • Tracey A

  • April 2015

value for money

Made to feel very welcome on arrival, room initially cold but soon warmed with heated, room very basic, but for price value for money.

Only grumble was bath mat wet, shower riser broken, some mould round edge of shower tray and shower tray dirty due to what looked like a mop bucket being emptied into tray and not rinsed but removed with ease with a blast of water

  • J Minihan

  • April 2015

Room was cold , dark and dirty .

lights kept flickering unsafely . One of the duvets literally stank of urine. Was told breakfast is served from 8-9.30am .Arrived at 9.20am with 2 children only to be told we were too late , the cooker had been turned off and she was far too busy to make it anyway. ( this could have been a blessing in disguise)

  • beverley m

  • March 2015

staff very welcoming and couldnt do enough. room very clean the only problem room very cold

staff very helpful and friendly.

accommodation very clean. village very nice. the only problem was room very cold. heating only came on after request and for a very short time but did supply electric heater. bathroom very nice but again cold.

  • Eileen S

  • March 2015

Ice cold in Brandon

Arrived on a cold March evening to a freezing cold room to find central heating was not working although a small electric heater had been provided, this unfortunately was inadequate and did not warm the bathroom.

The result of this was we could not walk on the bathroom floor without shoes. The shower also had mould on it but this is not surprising as there was no heat in the room. The standard of the public rooms were very basic. Although a restaurant was advertised it was not open during our stay and only bar meals were available. The menu was limited but the quality and quantity of food was excellent. The female staff were very friendly although they were clearly all fed up with the complaints of lack of heating. Although WiFi was supposed to be available in the public areas this was another thing that did not work.

  • Amanda L

  • February 2015

I Found this was well located for Durham

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • JoAnn S

  • February 2015

Short break in Durham

Very good value for money, no frills everything necessary was there.

Tea, coffee and biscuits in room. Complimentary continental breakfast but could order full English for £3.95. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Ample on site parking, 10 minutes by car into Durham. Would definitely stay there again.

  • David Cox

  • February 2015


I wasn't impressed with my stay at The Bay Horse Inn, Durham Staff welcomed us on arrival but went downhill after that.

We stayed in room 6 mould patches in room and bathroom, the heating only came on for a couple of hours. There was no hot water on the morning. Bath could of done with a non slip mat or similar, also a non slip mat on the floor for when getting out of the shower. The room description said Television, telephone and tea and coffee. Only enough tea/coffee for a couple of drinks. (Good job we brought coffee and milk)

It says breakfast included you only get cereal, toast, juice and coffee or tea. If you want a full English you have to pay an extra £3.95 which is not mentioned when booking. The breakfast was a big let down it was luke warm or cold, seems cooked left in fridge and heated up. Morning staff could of been more helpful and been around to see to clients needs instead of disappearing. Seems as though the morning staff was not bothered

This place would suit someone who just wanted to bed down for the night or building workers

Very disappointing.