You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

3

The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village,, Durham, DH7 8ST

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan J

  • July 2016

Bay Horse Inn

This review is written a couple of weeks after our stay because I first wrote to the management to give them the opportunity to answer our complaints.

We paid £89 for our room (and breakfast) before being given the key. The room was very dirty and had not been prepared properly for customers by the cleaner and obviously had not been checked by the management. The staff when seeing the state of the room moved us to another room. The carpet in this room was also very dirty and stained. The mattress on the double bed had no mattress protector, just a sheet over the mattress, which did not protect against staining on the mattress. The springs coming through gave us a very uncomfortable night's sleep. Leaving early, we knew that we were unable to have breakfast, but we would have had to have paid extra for a full English breakfast. Having written to the manageress, she offered us a free night's stay at the pub, which we declined because we have no reason to travel all the way to Durham again. I had hoped the management would make some recompense for us having to pay £89 for a substandard room. The room was not worth £89. The following week the room would have cost us a third of this price. (The usual price for the room). The price had apparently been raised to take advantage of the demand for accommodation required for graduation week at Durham University.

  • Richard T

  • July 2016

Great B&B value, nice stay

Pleasant room in quiet location, nice pub for evening drink, and good breakfast.

Fantastic value.

  • Marie Escott

  • July 2016

Fabulous!!

Had stayed here before, accommodation was good but food let it down.

This time - WOW - what a difference. Room lovely & bright. Crisp, clean bedding & comfy pillows. Bathroom spotless & smelt lovely & clean. Nice touches with toiletries, plenty of storage for our own toiletries. Lovely fluffy white bath sheets, can't be doing with bath towels, not cosy enough when you get out of shower. Dinner was very good, we ate in restaurant, but you had a choice of rooms to eat in. We opted to have continental breakfast, which was enough for us. But having said that the cost of the cooked one was very reasonable. Fabulous manager who is really working her 'butt' off to bring this hotel/inn around and she is definitely succeeding - well done. Have no hesitation in recommending and we will - without a doubt - be returning.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay and i agree

with your comment re the bath towels. look forward to seeing you again

Kay

  • Darren A

  • June 2016

Can't quibble at this price

Just need a roof over my head for a trip visiting family.

Ended up finding a little gem... Didn't expect much for the price...£40 plus complimentary breakfast, and was very surprised. I've payed much more and received much less before. Setting is nice. Rooms spacious. Food excellent.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Kay

  • P Hatton

  • May 2016

Bay horse inn

A really friendly accommodation.

Ideal for a short break. Rooms were very clean and tidy The staff could not do enough to ensure the stay was totally enjoyable. Excellent location a 10 minute ride or bus journey to Durham where you can get a 12 minute train to Newcastle. I would recommend this accommodation and will certainly be back.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look

forward to seeing you again

Kay

Manager

  • S Lunn

  • May 2016

Great value, clean & friendly

Stayed here one night for a local birthday party, would go back again if ever in the area again.

Nice pub with annexed rooms. Great value good accommodation. Breakfast was amazing and they took the time to cater for a gluten free option.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area again.

Kay

  • M Lauder

  • April 2016

Quicky

Perfect room for a late booking

Everything we needed and owner was very nice and friendly

Recommended

  • IAN PATTISON

  • April 2016

The Bay Horse Inn

Excellent service all round.

Very friendly owners and staff. Cant wait to go back

  • Sylvia Joy

  • March 2016

The Bay Horse Inn

Great little place, Kay the manager couldn't have been more friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Would definitely stay again.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

  • jerry mcfarlane

  • March 2016

It was a lovely friendly pub it was just what we needed as just been diagnosed with cancer and had surgery and really needed a break.

it is excellent value for money and really hoping we can return at a later date. just wished we could have stayed longer the accommodation was lovely. enjoyed everything about our stay thank u for our stay