No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ambleside Central

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
10 Lake Road, , , Ambleside, LA22 0AD
Ambleside Central offers room only accommodation. Breakfast is not far away with a range of great cafes serving early morning to all day giving you lots of choice and a lazy morning in bed if you want one! All our rooms are clean and fresh with a comfortable bed, crisp white bed linen, fresh white fluffy towels, and lovely hot showers. Included in your room is a flat screen TV, wi fi and a hairdryer. We have a 24hr hot drinks machine serving teas, speciality teas, filter coffee and hot chocolate.

Offering spacious double, twin and family rooms which are newly refurbished in a contemporary style, and housed in a Victorian building which retains many of its original features. Each room has either an en suite shower room, or a private bathroom which is not shared. Our accommodation is accessed externally, so unlike some guest houses you don’t need to walk through someone’s house to get to your room, and once you have checked in you can come and go as you please.

We can provide off site parking at no charge for the duration of your stay, only a short walk away. This is useful as parking in the town is difficult. Stepping out of our front door your are in the heart of Ambleside town with all it has to offer including, shops, bars, restaurants and more. we also have our own on site Italian restaurant serving freshly made delicious food.

You are also a stones throw away from the stunning Lakeland fells and Lake Windermere, Rydal water, Grasmere and all the outdoor activities these areas have to offer.
Picture of Ambleside Central, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb
Excellent accommodation and pleasant surroundings. Definitely will be back!

Reviewed by
Ian D

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
For a 1 night fleeting visit to Ambleside this was a brilliant place to stay. To escape from living out in the Styx in Scotland all we wanted was a nice affordable base to have a nice relaxing stay. We had room 2 which was excellent value, nice comfy bed, warm and ideally situated in the middle of town. I had read a few reviews(mainly from a few years ago) which where not very impressive, but we found that the Ambleside Central was great, the staff very helpful and we ate at the tarantella restaurant right below and that was a lovely meal. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
David Ellis

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in appearance but not experience
I was happy with the look of the room. It was comfortable and spacious but there were a number of things that were disappointing during the stay. There was a water pump in the bedroom which was in place to take the drain water away, due to the toilet constantly filling, this pump was starting up every few minutes and making a racket during the night. I did contact with hotel manager to report it and he advised me one where to isolate the water supply and the pump. This resolved that issue. The other problem we had was the noise outside the window with people revving cars (Not the hotel's fault). The window also rattled a lot in the wind. Our friends which were in the upstairs room were woken up several times in the night by people in the neighbouring room travelling to the toilet.

Reviewed by
Luke P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekday escape
Perfect for a few days away in the lake. Room perfectly described, very clean and cosy, kettle supplies, and tokens left for the hot drinks machine, was a nice touch. Free wifi - so i could keep in touch, and a hot shower! Exactly as needed, and could not be better placed for pubs, restaurants and shops!

Reviewed by
T Farrer

From Papworth Everard, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
The hotel owner was very friendly and efficient, he was even kind enough to run us back to the wedding venue as he said there could be a long wait for a taxi! the room was spacious and clean and the tea/coffee facilities in the room were good, along with an additional machine on the landing. The whole place seemed quite relaxed and well run.

Reviewed by
B Bowman

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top weekend in the lakes
Ambleside central is great place to stay, we had room 1 ,which slept 3 people comfortably with a separate bathroom just for the room. Car parking just 3mins and free. Both the italian restaurant and Lilly's bar were excellent and the staff very helpful.if there was a negative , it would be the main road which can be noisy for some people,however for 3 walkers all tired and suitably merry from the nights festivities, all slept soundly on all 3 nights stay.

Reviewed by
ian m

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice unpretentious hotel
Nice hotel in central Ambleside. Ideal location and our room was nice although a little small. We also recommend you eat in the restaurant downstairs. Staff is super friendly and helpful too! The only downside is parking (you have to park about 7 mins away from the hotel) and lack of breakfast facilities although you get nice tea and coffee facilities.

Reviewed by
Candie B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter stay
Stayed in room 7, small double room. Was just big enough for the two of us. Very clean, shame breakfast isn't included. Would have larger room if we stay again.

Reviewed by
Charlotte K

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not come back
I stayed there at the weekend with my girlfriend and we wouldn't come back.
The room at first was ok, but then there was a leak with the toilet, the internet didn't work in our room, the noise from outside was loud as was the noise of other guests we could hear running around upstairs.
We wouldn't come back here. I'd rather pay the extra to stay somewhere nicer and have a better place to stay.

Reviewed by
Jas B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room
Quiet room at the back of the hotel, which was located on a busy road so your experience may have been different if you stayed at the front
Perfectly suited to purpose - in the centre of town, easy access to everything.
Room was fine, you are not in the lap of luxury but it's very good value and size was fine
I would stay again

Reviewed by
R Carter

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next