No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Herdwick Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Penruddock, , , Penrith, CA11 0QU
Situated in the quiet village of Penruddock, just off the A66, with views across meadows to Motherby and towards the Northern Fells of Blencathra and Carrock Fell in the west, this really is a beautiful location to spend a few hours or several days. It is ideal for exploring the Northern Lake District with Ullswater (4 miles) and Derwentwater only a short drive away. Penrith and the M6 J40 is 6 miles away with Keswick being only 10 miles away. Built in the 18th century, this traditional Lakeland Inn with oak beamed ceilings, local stonework and open fires, retains all the character you would expect from such a building. Within it's thick traditional local stone walls the Herdwick Inn has all that is expected of a village pub and lots more besides. The Herdwick Inn is committed to serving food and drink of excellent quality, amidst informal, attractive surroundings, where our customers can feel totally relaxed. Our comfortable Bed & Breakfast (B&B) rooms with beautiful views and excellent facilities, make this the perfect place for a weekend "away from it all", or even a longer holiday.The Herdwick Inn has received numerous accolades and has won a Silver Award in the Marstons Brewery Pub of the Year Awards two years running in 2007 and 2008. Our restaurant is renowned locally for the quality of its cuisine and our customer service is second to none. We have ample car parking at both the front and rear of the Inn, together with a peaceful beer garden and patio. We also have secure storage for cycles as we are located close to the C2C cycle route. The Herdwick Inn has an excellent reputation in the local area for good food, from our hearty Lakeland breakfast to our home cooked meals which are served either in our intimate mezzanine restaurant or in the cosy Bar. All of our guest accommodation rooms are en-suite with a shower. Colour TV, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities are also standard.
Picture of The Herdwick Inn, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Lovely little hotel in a fabulous location. Food was great. Staff fantastic nothing seemed to much for them. Rooms were adequate. We had a really enjoyable stay, will return.

Reviewed by
A Garbutt

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Herdwick Happiness
The Herdwick Inn is simply in an excellent location to explore the Lakes from the north. The surroundings are the most beautiful rural countryside and it is very quiet and restful.
Everything was done by the hosts and staff to help us have the most comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly service
Second time we have stayed here and found everything the same excellent service friendly welcome superb food.

Reviewed by
L Miles

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap place to stay
rooms clean, staff welcoming food not great we stayed for dinner and it wasnt great everything was cooked from frozen and chips and veg must of been reheated from the day service, breakfast wasnt much better frozen sausage what you would get from the chippy wouldnt eat ther again below what you would expect from the lakedistrict

Reviewed by
G Seath

From Southport , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good, nice place and would stop again. Just a thought, could you provide something cold for breakfast for early departures? Flask to keep milk cold and some cereal?

Reviewed by
Chris b

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great service
Great

Reviewed by
hayley c

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very good couple of days
the landlady was very friendly and helpful
the breakfast was very tasty and plentiful

Reviewed by
william west

From Burry Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay and a warm welcome. Room clean and staff really helpful.
A traditional inn in a quiet location though not far from the main road network. We received a warm welcome and our host was happy to carry my Dad's heavy suitcase up to the room. Accommodation clean andhad everything we needed. Our only slight problem was that the shower door wouldn't fully shut but I was able to use it without drenching the floor so no real problems. Would happily go again.

Reviewed by
Sally S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing
Clean pub and accomodation. Helpful staff, but no ambience. Food not enough choice especially if you are staying a while. Quiet location and views all around. owner didnt seem to smile, when we saw him. staff very busy, and too busy to exchange pleasantries, even though it wasnt pub open times .
Having said the above we would stay again. good location for northern lakes.

Reviewed by
V S

From Bridlington, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Inn
Lovely Inn, great views, slept very well, superb Steak & Ale Pie, great service - would highly recommend! *****

Reviewed by
karie s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next