No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Square, Chacewater, , Truro, TR4 8PY
The Kings Head offers a comfortable bar, Bed & Breakfast and a restaurant, where our guest's can enjoy a full range of dining options from breakfasts, to light-bites and snacks to our full and extensive a'la carte menu. All of our hotel rooms of a high standard and include free WiFi, Tea and Coffee making facilities, TV, and use of an iron and ironing board. A sumptuous full english breakfast is included in the following tarrifs. Set at the top of the Carrick Roads, the magnificent cathedral city of Truro mixes the historic sensitively with the new. Truro is acknowledged as the shopping capital of Cornwall, with major national retailers and small specialist shops to be found along Georgian streets and bustling opes. With its central location in the county and good transport links, Truro has long been a centre for trade and commerce. Lemon Quay, which is the hub for thousands of regular shoppers, has a strong reputation for holding some of the finest markets in Cornwall. The original quay still remains beneath the surface and continues through the streams and leats, which run through the city centre. The majority of the county’s attractions are all within an hour’s drive away and the nearest beaches at St Agnes and Perranporth are less than 15 minutes drive away. Venture a little bit further (20-30 mins drive) and visit the beautiful St Ives bay with its beautiful long beach from Gwithien all the way to Hayle.
Picture of The Kings Head, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, relaxed and good food
Truro based accomodation is over priced so we picked the Kings Head in Chacewater, just 4 miles outside the city in the countryside. We found it friendly and relaxed. Breakfast in the morning was consistantly superbly cooked. The car park is a little small which can be a challenge when the locals park up to use the pub early evening. However, despite having a large car we were able to park up just fine every night. Excellent value for money and somewhere we will use again.

Reviewed by
Franklin M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Stayed for two nights with my 18 year old step son as we were attending an open day at Falmouth University.
we ate in the evening in the pub as well, great value and friendly staff and customers.

Reviewed by
D Hattle

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere to sleep
Booked the room as needed somewhere to sleep before an early morning appointment in Truro.
The bed was comfortable and the room though basic was clean and comfortable.
did not sample the breakfast as had to leave by 8am to catch a bus. I was offered a placked lunch but declined. Bus stop right outside the door.
Tea and coffeee with a kettle was available in the room.

Reviewed by
Edward B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, clean and welcoming
The hotel didn't look too promising on the outside but once inside we were made to feel welcome. Our room was a clean and bright en-suite and we enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep after a filling meal in the bar. Our breakfasts were fine and all-in-all this was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Leslie B

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellent
This was a last minute booking for a business trip, and the Kings Head was the best priced accommodation and closest to where I needed to be.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff welcoming and friendly. I would recommend the Kings Head without hesitation.

Reviewed by
R Savage

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Friendly welcome. Only comment would book room with ensuite next time rather than shared bathroom. Good value and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Liz R

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night stay
Me and my fiance stayed for one night we wish we stayed more the bed were so comfy all the staff was so friendly the cook was good

Reviewed by
scott gale

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly
3 night stay, small but comfortable and warm room. Could be noisy in morning! Shared bathroom with shower but not too much of a problem. Lovely cooked breakfast. Friendly staff. Very convenient for touring the area and beaches. Only downside was that the bar was closed when we returned from a meal out on Sunday night and we were looking forward to a nightcap!

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, clean B&B
Excellent service, clean big room...It Is a good and well priced B&B.

Reviewed by
scott

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!!!
OK for the price. Room was clean but dated. Shared bathroom was left a mess by other guests, wasn't sorted until morning - proprietor should check shared bathroom more often. Breakfast was average and food in the pub was good.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next