No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mariners Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Silver Street, Lyme Regis, DT7 3HS
Formerly a Coaching Inn, this charismatic 17th century building has been lovingly renovated to retain its historic character married with contemporary fittings and the latest technology, a seamless blend with majestic period features. There are fourteen comfortable guest rooms – all en-suite – and many boast inspiring views of the sea.

We have a seperate bar, lounge and restaurant, this can be hired for private functions, and beautiful sea view gardens complete with summer house. Our restaurant has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence since 2009 to present day. Our chef prides himself on using the wealth of fine ingredients that the west country offers. Dorset lamb and beef, pork from west country farms, and fresh local fish caught in the Lyme Bay.

The hotel is available for private functions, wedding receptions, birthdays, and other events.
Picture of The Mariners Hotel, Lyme Regis at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved it
My wife and I wanted a short break at Lyme Regis, we saw the Mariners had rooms so we booked our stay.We were not dissapointed the room was great and the food was terrific, we would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
jon moody

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice looking on the outside, rather disappointing on the inside
Mariners is a landmark in Lyme. I should know - my parents lived in Lyme for 30 years.
The bedroom I stayed in was low ceilinged, and the bathroom very small.
The dining room is unimaginative in decor. Breakfast was ok - I didn't eat dinner their this time.

Reviewed by
S Keeping

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break away
The staff were helpful and polite. The room was adequate. I felt that the full cooked breakfasts were skimpy though. The hotel was near enough to the town without being too close to hear the pub kicking out noise.

Reviewed by
Andy C

From Tadley, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Overnight Stay - A must to visit !!!
Just came back from a overnight Business trip and although don't normally comment on these i was that impressed just thought i had to. Great location close to centre of Lyme Regis perfect place to take the family but i stayed over on business and can not fault the place - Great Service , the quality of the room for the price was very good and the food is worth the trip. Very surprised to have that quality food and choice in a small hotel but it does appear to be a favourite of locals as well. If your planning a holiday or business trip within 15 miles of Lyme Regis check this place out .

Reviewed by
D Tye

From Sutton coldfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place to stay

Reviewed by
kirsten s

From london, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little hotel
Although out of season, this hotel and the freindly, helpful staff tried to keep up standards and I had an excellent room with soft towells, comfortable bed and satellite TV. The hotel had free Wi-Fi which was very good. Also the food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent, the only slight issue was the limited times that the evening meal and more so, breakfast was available - 8am is late for a businessman to sit down in the morning.
Would definately stay here again

Reviewed by
Bruce C

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
I booked this room as an overnight stay for the long commute from home to work. The hotel was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Reviewed by
Lorraine O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel service and food excellent

Reviewed by
Bruce Fixter

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room & view were lovely & very friendly staff. Breakfast was lovely too, had a very enjoyable stay & will go back as it's such a beautiful place to visit

Reviewed by
c rowntree

From Slough, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3