No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mariners Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Silver Street, Lyme Regis, DT7 3HS
Formerly a Coaching Inn, this charismatic 17th century building has been lovingly renovated to retain its historic character married with contemporary fittings and the latest technology, a seamless blend with majestic period features. There are fourteen comfortable guest rooms – all en-suite – and many boast inspiring views of the sea.

We have a seperate bar, lounge and restaurant, this can be hired for private functions, and beautiful sea view gardens complete with summer house. Our restaurant has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence since 2009 to present day. Our chef prides himself on using the wealth of fine ingredients that the west country offers. Dorset lamb and beef, pork from west country farms, and fresh local fish caught in the Lyme Bay.

The hotel is available for private functions, wedding receptions, birthdays, and other events.
Picture of The Mariners Hotel, Lyme Regis at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friday night at the mariners
amazing view,friendly staff.excelent breakfast

Reviewed by
m williams

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean stay but over priced

Reviewed by
d fowler

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay
The room was a little small as was the shower room, the stairs are very narrow with narrow treads so care is needed. The staff are excellent, friendly and cannot do enough for you, I found them helpful. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
John N

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over-priced and over-rated
First impressions were not great. Hotel is on a main road and as you step straight into Reception you're greeted with a nice view of the open kitchen door and cooking smells. Not brilliant. They've clearly spent money on frills and cosmetic appearance but not on the detail. Small TV on the wall was so far away that we couldn't really see it. Worst thing was the filthy toilet seat (underneath) which was stained with years of use. I can't understand how any cleaner could just leave this. It's unacceptable. I pointed it out privately and showed the manager who was apologetic BUT it just should never happen. No discount offered off the £150 per night price. YES £150 per night. We are not talking central London 4 star hotel. This is a place that should be £80 tops. It's not even near the seafront. We had a decent stay but I wouldn't go back unless they halved their price. I'm afraid they are pretending to be top-end but are nowhere near.

Reviewed by
Russ S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mariners Hotel
Great location about 5 minutes from centre of Lyme with parking. Comfortable room with great sea view and great shower. Enjoyed.

Reviewed by
Doug M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent, reception was not always manned.
Overall my stay was ok. The wifi would not work, spite trying several locations in the hotel. Reception was not always manne, had to wait for someone to appear.

Reviewed by
Margaret Brown

From Fareham, Hampshire, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable time in Lyme Regis
The hotel is near the top of the hill leading down to the sea front/Cobb in Lyme Regis. The hotel has plenty of car parking across the road on its own car park. The common passageways need updating but my room was nice with twin beds for single occupancy. My room was above the ladies loo off the bar which meant that there was noise from swinging fire doors until late and the again early next am. Overall a nice friendly place though.

Reviewed by
Andrew Jones

From Den Haag, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and bad
The view from our room was a spectacular sea view and overlooked the garden. For the price we paid we were very disappointed with the size of the room. Unusually it was very hot but there was no air conditioning. The shower room was small with no shelf space and one or two of the fittings fell apart. Overall we would have been happy at a lot less money.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food at The Mariner's
The rooms are fine, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent, and the hotel is situated close to the town, but far enough out to be quiet. There is also a lovely garden overlooking the bay, although the weather during our stay did not encourage long periods outdoors

Reviewed by
Tom F

From Staines, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
The hotel and staff were very nice. Very relaxed atmosphere. The room had a couple of little maintenance issues (door on wardrobe wouldn't shut properly and broken shower holder over bath, very dirty window) but none of it affected our stay. Bed very comfortable. Noisy seagulls overhead on the flat roof at 5am but we are at the seaside so to be expected. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Debbie C

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next