No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brooklands

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Ferry View, , , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3JB
Welcome to Brooklands, a traditional guest house built in the local lakeland stone at the end of the 19th Century. This family-run guest house is set in a quiet and tranquil location just south, on the outskirts of Bowness Village and the waters edge of Lake Windermere. The house has fine views over the fells of the Lake District National Park and Windermere Lake itself. We have five cheerfully furnished bedrooms with a hospitality tray, radio alarms, colour television and central heating. We have a range of rooms from a single, twin, doubles and family all with en-suite facilities. Start the day right with a hearty Lakeland breakfast served from 8.30am. If you are off for a day's walking, why not take one of Karen's packed lunches. We are open all year and have private parking off road, alongside the house. We offer free fishing permits for guests for the local waters. Brooklands is a 10-15 minute stroll to Bowness Village and Lake Windermere. Boats sail regularly from Bowness Pier to Ambleside or Lakeside for the Steam Train and the Freshwater Aquariam. The world of Beatrix Potter and Blackwell, The Arts and Crafts House, are also situated close by.
Picture of Brooklands, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay
Karen is a very nice down to earth lady nothing is to trouble for her .Very near to town centre would definitely go back again

Reviewed by
Barry Hill

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend!! Brilliant b&b in a stunning location
Karen and her husband were fantastic- they were extremely welcoming, gave great directions for finding the b&b, and very helpful, giving me and my other half some brilliant ideas for places to go and explore. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hopefully will be back at Brooklands in the not too distant future!

Reviewed by
Felicity Peifer

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel outside of Bowness
Only stayed one night but found it to be a perfect place to stay for exploring the southern lakes.
Rooms were clean and the owner Karen made us feel at home and gave us plenty of advice of where to go during our stay. Off Street parking a big bonus.

Reviewed by
P Symeou

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality, homely feel
We were met by an extremely welcoming host upon our rather late arrival, who made us feel completely at ease and kindly booked a taxi for us to get to a concert on time. The B&B had a nice homely feel, lots of nice individual touches to each of the rooms (we had a nosy through the open doors as we walked up to our room) and although the shower room was a little cramped and the shower itself needing a little fettling with, the room was well appointed and of practical size.
Breakfast was delicious, with a range of menu choices served in a bright, traditional setting. Thank you

Reviewed by
Mel Heyworth

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic just brillient loved it
A very warm welcome and they couldnt do more to help you just ask them anything and they will sort you out like places to go places to walk things to see loved every moment il be getting the same place again but make sure you get room 2 like us a queen size bed the best night sleep ever and me being 6 foot 5 helped alot :-)

Reviewed by
s fletcher

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very neat and clean guest house, host very friendly and very helpfull, couldnt do enough for us
will recomend to friends, very reasonable prices

Reviewed by
mary m

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful weekend
We had a very nice room, nicely decorated and very clean. our hosts were very friendly and helpful. our daughter and partner were staying in another room with our grandchild and they made a fuss of Isabella and another child staying for the weekend. They provided boxes of toys for them to play with. they had a lovely dog who loved anybody who would throw sticks for him.The breakfast was delicious every morning and our stay was very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Tony Turton

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks very much for such a friendly walm welcome and stay.

Reviewed by
S Laws

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly warm welcome
Although we received a warm welcome and a nice filling breakfast and there was some lovely homemade shortbread in the room. However, I wasn't overly impressed by the rooms at Brooklands. Our room was very small at the top of the house in the attic and felt a bit tired. I could tell that the owners allow guests to have dogs as there was a slight doggy smell but I guess lots of people who visit the lakes want to take their dogs.

Reviewed by
Jane J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A LOVELY BREAK.
We had a most enjoyable break up at the Lakes, we went for 3 nights. The accommodation was very suitable, nice and clean. tasty food and the hosts were really friendly. It was a bit further than we thought it was from the centre and there was no foot path along the road to walk on but the taxi only cost £3.50 each way. So it wasn't a problem.

Reviewed by
Nimmi Springthorpe

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next