No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stanley Arms

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bottom of the Oven, Macclesfield Forest, Wildboarclough, Macclesfield, SK11 0AR
Nestling in the Peak District National Park on the edge of Macclesfield Forest and surrounding reservoirs with breathtaking views all around, the Stanley Arms is an ideal location for discerning customers who require either first class accommodation, delicious home cooked food or perhaps to quench their thirst with our real ales or wide selection of red and white wines from the bar. This family run establishment is guaranteed to satisfy people who appreciate that little extra when it comes to service, atmosphere and overall value for money. The accommodation is ideal for people on business, tourists and visitors to the area or couples seeking a quiet few days relaxing in the wonderful surrounding countryside. Accommodation consists of 7 luxurious en suite double bedrooms, sympathetically converted from a barn adjacent to the property. Each room offers colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer.
Picture of The Stanley Arms, Macclesfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Celebrating 22nd wedding anniversary!
Absolutely faultless!Super room.Very comfortable bed.Quality evening menu.Hearty breakfast.Nothing too much trouble.11/10!!!Will definitely visit again(Hopefully to see the Christmas décor in December)

Reviewed by
Trevor H

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury touches and no danger of starving at the Bottom of t'Oven
Wonderful remote moorland setting despite being only 5 miles from the centre of Macclesfield just off the main A 537 to Buxton (don't let the sat nav tempt you up any narrow side roads especially in the dark!). Generous portions of both duck and lamb in the restaurant so no chance to even sample the desserts. Rooms spacious and comfortable, with nice touches such as the sherry. Friendly and hospitable.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect example of an English Inn
Lovely people, very good accommodation, warm cosy bar and restaurant, and the food is expertly cooked using top quality ingredients. If only this was my local.

Reviewed by
Iain H

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome as ever from the Stanley Arms and George!
A lovely stay as always. We are made to feel so welcome when we stay for our walking weekends. The food is glorious, the rooms are warm and cosy and the customer service is superb. The Sherry is a delightful surprise and George, the pub dog, is very sweet and attentive. A perfect walking weekend.

Reviewed by
Ruth G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place

Reviewed by
A Woods

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely place
Really nice place to stay. Very friendly staff and would recommend this good place to stay

Reviewed by
Duncan S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value, beautiful location
Good

Reviewed by
E Davison

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff throughout. A pleasure to meet them.

Reviewed by
Les B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

80s weekend
The hotel is remote and quiet but was a good place to get away

Reviewed by
kevin gilhooley

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Perfect Retreat
Its very rare to come across a destination that ticks every box to its highest scores. We have stayed in many places around the UK, but there is always something that lets our final review down. The Stanley Arms ticks all of our boxes. From the moment we arrived, till the moment we left the service, the accomodation, ale and especially the food, was second to none. Add in George the pointer (who the wife loved) and we coudnt find fault in anything. Long may this wonderful business continue!

Reviewed by
craig smith

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next