No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stanley Arms

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bottom of the Oven, Macclesfield Forest, Wildboarclough, Macclesfield, SK11 0AR
Nestling in the Peak District National Park on the edge of Macclesfield Forest and surrounding reservoirs with breathtaking views all around, the Stanley Arms is an ideal location for discerning customers who require either first class accommodation, delicious home cooked food or perhaps to quench their thirst with our real ales or wide selection of red and white wines from the bar. This family run establishment is guaranteed to satisfy people who appreciate that little extra when it comes to service, atmosphere and overall value for money. The accommodation is ideal for people on business, tourists and visitors to the area or couples seeking a quiet few days relaxing in the wonderful surrounding countryside. Accommodation consists of 7 luxurious en suite double bedrooms, sympathetically converted from a barn adjacent to the property. Each room offers colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer.
Picture of The Stanley Arms, Macclesfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff throughout. A pleasure to meet them.

Reviewed by
Les B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

80s weekend
The hotel is remote and quiet but was a good place to get away

Reviewed by
kevin gilhooley

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Perfect Retreat
Its very rare to come across a destination that ticks every box to its highest scores. We have stayed in many places around the UK, but there is always something that lets our final review down. The Stanley Arms ticks all of our boxes. From the moment we arrived, till the moment we left the service, the accomodation, ale and especially the food, was second to none. Add in George the pointer (who the wife loved) and we coudnt find fault in anything. Long may this wonderful business continue!

Reviewed by
craig smith

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Lovely B&B in an beautiful setting. Very comfortable room and great food in the pub

Reviewed by
A Curtis

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfort in the peak district
Good beer , rooms and food out in the wilds of the peaks.

Reviewed by
J REILLY

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at the Stanley Arms
We received a very friendly welcome when we arrrived at the Stanley Arms. Accommodation was excellent with tea/coffee making facilities, a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom and a small carafe of sherry! An excellent touch for weary travellers!
Six friends joined us for a meal in the evening and we really enjoyed the food. There was a good selection and everything was delicious, beautifully cooked and served by a lovely waitress.
Breakfast was again beautifully cooked with generous portions which set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
Janet G

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were looking for a quiet place to stay during a 1 night stop over in the peak district. This Pub was lovely. quiet but not too remote, right up in the countryside. The people were friendly and welcoming and the food was fabulous. We had an evening meal in the pub and there was large selection to choose from...not your average pub food, absolutely delicious. The breakfast the next morning was simply the best I have ever had at any hotel, from home made fruit compote to have with yoghurt, to the full English breakfast. Well done! The accomodation was comfortable ...although a little worn and maybe could do with a little updating; however everything we wished for was provided.

Reviewed by
Susie G

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will be back
Our stay at the Stanley Arms was excellent - everyone was extremely pleasant and friendly, including George the dog! it has some nice quirky touches,like a decanter of sherry in the room. Room was well furnished and the bathroom well appointed with a great shower. Breakfast was excellent, real ale well kept, overall, shame we didn't stay longer! The only negative is that the room above ours had extremely squeaky floorboards when people move around so I would request an upstairs room next time - but small point that did not spoil our stay

Reviewed by
Colin B

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macclesfield Forest
Lovely location. Good friendly service. Very accommodating. Able to come in late after going to concert. Dated furnishings, bit dark and dingy but clean. Lovely shower room/washing facilities. Could smell septic tank or drains when in one part of the garden. HP sauce bottle was filled with different brown sauce, yuk. Fruit juice was made from concentrate, not pure juice. Lovely fresh fruit and berries and yoghurt. Hopefully no cheap oil used in cooking but otherwise good food and enjoyed the breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay and would use again.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly pub with decent ale.
All good until trying to sleep. We had a downstairs room in The Barn. The construction of the building meant that the upstairs floorboards creaked very noisily as soon as anyone moved about in the upstairs room. The couple above us were up at 5.30 am pacing back and forth which meant that we could no longer sleep.. On a future occasion we would insist on an upstairs room.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next