You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Stanley Arms

4

Bottom of the Oven, Macclesfield Forest,, Macclesfield, SK11 0AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (40)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul H

  • July 2016

Nice place but disappointing customer service

The good: nice rural location, room was clean, bed comfortable, food very good.

Some members of staff were pleasant and friendly. The bad: no wifi or phone reception. Upstairs floors noisy so we were woken by people getting up before us. The barman was a little unwelcoming. The most disappointing thing really though was the way the power cut was handled - the entire evening was wiped out for us due to a power cut which took the water out too. This was of course not their fault, but although we heard a lot about how it had inconvenienced them, they didn't seem to be bothered that it had kind of ruined our one night away. I really would have expected some gesture to acknowledge this, but honestly it felt like we'd just been in the way. Can't really recommend as we left feeling unhappy.

  • Charles G

  • June 2016

Comfortable

We arrived very late from a function in Buxton but we were still welcomed warmly and with a nice sherry too in our room.

Bed was very comfortable . Breakfast was great. There were people in room above who talked well into the morning and as they moved the ceiling creaked quite a lot. Also the shower was not draining quick enough. Overall it is value for money.

  • Jerry G

  • February 2016

Great Hotel

Excellent service, excellent food, all in a peaceful location.

  • S Tarpey

  • February 2016

Comfortable hotel

Warm, comfortable stay in a lovely location.

  • Ian K

  • November 2015

Short walking break.

Very nice and welcoming, good food, and service.Only one small gripe, although the place was not fully booked, we were given what room which must have been their smallest room

It snowed whilst we were there, which made the walking all that better in the surrounding country side.

  • J KERR

  • November 2015

Our stay

Had a very enjoyable stay dinner was very good all homemade and delicious.

A good choice at breakfast room clean comfy and warm altogether lovely hope to return

  • Richard H

  • November 2015

Excellent food in fascinating establishment

The inn was easy to find in the dark, being well signposted.

The accommodation was interesting, being outside the main building, but very comfortable. Meals - evening and breakfast- were excellent. Staff were friendly and efficient .

  • Keith Maddocks

  • November 2015

Marvellous I'm Macclesfield. The Stanley Arms a gem in the High Peak

Arrived at the Stanley Arms a little early for the booking in time so decided to have a drink and a snack .we had the home cured ham sandwiches which were delicious .

The landlord said our room was ready and we could put our cases in .upon entering the room we were delighted with the size and quality of the fittings and layout .The bathroom had a shower (excellent ) and a bath . The bed was very comfy . We had a meal booked in the evening again this was excellent .Book a table the pub gets busy food wise .And no wonder !. After the meal we chatted with the landlord and his wife and other guests they were friendly and very easy to get on with. Will definitely be back to stay again .

  • Tracy D

  • October 2015

Lovely place .

Great food. Very friendly staff.

  • peter b

  • October 2015

half chicken

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the only thing I would pick up on was the evening meal.

We ate at the hotel and had a starter followed by the half chicken. I have never seen a half chicken served up as a meal that was so big,there was more chicken on it than I have seen on a whole chicken. we did not finish it at all and were told after that people don't normally have a starter when they order it. It would have been nice to have been told this when we ordered but otherwise the food was very nice.