Reviews - The Living Room

4

2 Drury Road, Alum Chine,, Bournemouth, BH4 8HA

Price From 152.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (29)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Susannah M

  • December 2015

A gem - lovely B&B with character and attention to detail

I found it difficult to find a decently priced but small hotel like B&B with parking on the outskirts of Bournemouth.

This is a great place to stay - it has much more character than other B&Bs and hotels and I love the eclectic mix of furniture brought together with matching materials. The breakfasts are lovely and Teresa, her son and staff are all friendly and very happy to help with requests without being intrusive. It's great to have a lounge area for the evenings and the honesty bar downstairs and cake on the landing every evening are fantastic additions. There are also options to order a food platter for an evening meal, picnic lunch and lots of information re local amenities. Its a maximum 10 minute easy walk down the road to various eateries and a big M&S food store. I stayed in the single room which has a sink unit in it with a lovely modern shower room just across the corridor - this isn't an issue at all unless maybe you are someone that tends to be up at night several times popping to the loo. I really liked the matching sink surround, chair material and tissue box cover - lovely attention to a theme. Even the kettle in the room had been thought about - a white teapot design and accompanied by a beautiful blue and white tea cup and saucer. The building is old and there is some 'creakiness' (as they mention ion their info booklet) but it's not noisy at all - in fact far less so than the usual door slamming and TV noises staying in other places. I slept beautifully both nights. Just wish I could find more room for the great breakfasts - maybe a long walk beforehand next time. Thank you everyone at The Living Room. I am recommending you and am sure I will be back.

  • Rachel G

  • September 2015

wonderful stay

Other people's reviews encouraged me to stay here and I wasn't disappointed.

The food was wonderful and there were lots of homely touches that showed the owners were prepared to go that extra mile.

  • Gill D

  • August 2015

The Living Room

A brilliant find, thank you.

  • Adrian C

  • July 2015

Very friendly - Breakfast fantastic! loads to choose.

  • Ann P

  • July 2015

Relaing stay at a comfortable. quirky B&B

the Living Room is in a really good position between Westbourne shops and restaurants and the sea via Alum Chine.

The bed was really comfortable. The room had all we needed including 2 comfortable chairs. the breakfasts were great

  • jason f

  • May 2015

family day trip

2 adults 2 children 10 years and 3 years in the family room.

We had a very warm welcome and the room was great kids straight to their room lovely and clean everything was great. A stroll down to the beach took 10.minutes along to the pub for dinner and back. Lovely bath for the kids adults had a shower which was the only let down, the power of the shower was not really any use so would recommend getting that sorted but we were at the top of building so understandable. Other then that the stay was brilliant would definitely recommend.

  • Jemima C

  • April 2015

Beautiful quirky place, friendly atmosphere, amazing breakfast

Lovely room and bathroom (water pressure slightly lacking but walled in shower keeps you warm), full range of really delicious breakfasts and really friendly staff.

The downstairs lounge/coffee area would have been a great place to spend time if we'd had more of it. Free brownies were gorgeous!

  • Jo Brett

  • March 2015

Second visit

Lovely welcome.

A very comfortable room with a great shower. There is a really nice atmosphere of home from home.

  • chris h

  • February 2015

pleasent bed and breakfast

Stayed here for a weekend break.

Pleasant greeting on arrival and shown where the essentials were, the dinning room. Room was small but big enough for two nights with usual tea and coffee facilities. Added bonus of free homemade brownies and flapjacks in an airtight container on the landing with a selection of books and magazines. Room would have got 5 stars if it weren't for the loss of water pressure in the shower in the morning. Breakfast was excellent and I even purchased a slice of homemade banana cake with cinnamon butter for the drive home on the Sunday. Would I go back. Definitely.

  • G Jones

  • February 2015

The Living Room - Salubrious. Great bath mats. February 2015.

Situated a short walk from Westbourne and its useful amenities including shops, restaurants and cafés; this spacious accommodation with its charming hosts, was just the healing respite that The Doctor (46) had ordered.

I would have liked to stay longer to have taken advantage of the proximity to beach, potential walks, and the great food. (Compliments to the chef.) The proprietor of this establishment should feel justifiably proud in the standard of property and customer service that they offer. I intend to return.