No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Croppers Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
136 Westbourne Road, Marsh, , Huddersfield, HD1 4LS
We offer you a traditional bar with a warm and friendly atmosphere, a small but cosy dining room, 6 luxury en-suite rooms and a large car park. All rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated. Fitted to the highest standard with the emphasis on your comfort and relaxation, we therefore aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The premises are fully centrally heated, with en-suite rooms including bath or shower. Facilities including remote control TVs, tea & coffee making facilities included in all our rooms, radio alarm clocks and telephones. Tuesday: Steak and Bake night : £23.00 for 2 includes a bottle of wine. Thursday: Fish night : £23.00 for 2 including a bottle of wine. Traditional bar meals served every lunchtime and evening. WE OFFER: 6 luxury en-suite rooms Small parties & receptions catered for Bar Meals lunches (served 11.30-2.00pm and 5.30-9.00pm) All day Sunday lunches (served 12-8pm) WiFi Internet in bedrooms
Picture of Croppers Arms, Huddersfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid Room 3
Booked a double, but the room we were given had small twin beds made up with un-matched bedding. One bed did not have a mattress protector (Alex Pollizzi shock-horror!). Otherwise the room and en-suite was OK. My wife decided whilst shopping to buy a protector and informed a member of staff when we returned that we would be using it. We were told they had a problem with laundry after changing provider.
The weather was warm during the night, and we would have preferred to sleep with the window open. Unfortunately, Room 3 is above the bar and an external cooling unit for the bottle chillers (?)kept firing up every ten minutes throughout the night, which was worse with the window open, so we did not sleep well if at all.
The room and the en-suite were reasonably clean, although a good deep clean would not go amiss.
Towels were very good, as was breakfast.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Though furnishing may be a little dated, I was very comfortable and felt secure......the shower was excellent and the breakfast was also very good indeed. I think food had stopped being served in the afternoon when I arrived but the landlord very kindly did me a hot roast beef sandwich, which was the best I'd ever had, the beef melted in the mouth and the chips which accompanied it were lovely and crisp on the outside and fluffy inside, just as they should be. The landlord also rang for me a taxi, so they couldn't have been more helpful!

Reviewed by
Jill Dransfield

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pub Stay
Friendly pub serving excellent food at reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
Garfield S

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
I was pleasantly surprised with my room, given it was above a pub. It was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, including the bathroom (shower en suite). The bed was comfortable and I had an excellent night's sleep. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. At only £40/night it was not only good value for money, it was a bargain! I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Huddersfield/

Reviewed by
Kim C

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real Yorkshire welcome
I stayed, with friends, at The Croppers Arms for two nights in mid June. The owner and staff couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. My room was just what I needed. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. Thank you!

Reviewed by
B Batten

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and presentable room, perfectly adequate for what we needed.

Reviewed by
g magee

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
I really like this place and have stayed here more than once, the room is large and the bed comfortable, the power shower is my favourite bit! Whenever I'm visiting up north I know I can rely on this place.

Reviewed by
Rebecca N

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great English Pub B & B
Wanted a long weekend near Holmfirth and this was ideal. A friendly welcome and genuinely helpful staff, varied menu and real home cooked food. The room was unpretentious with a fantastic power shower. You couldn't ask for much more, especially at the price.

Reviewed by
J Kirk

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single traveller
Twin room with only 2ft 6in beds so rather small, beds would fasten together for a double. Very good bathroom, no toiletries, but plenty of towels. Tea/coffee facilities provided - socket under table though which could be difficult if you were not agile.
Breakfast fine, poached egg overlooked though.
Will stay again as it is so convenient and compared to many other local hotels good value.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Bishop's Stortford, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next