Reviews - The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant at South Zeal


South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton, EX20 2JT

Price From 229.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Mike Taylor

  • January 2015

Last minute booking was best decision ever!!!

After booking late Friday morning, we arrived Saturday afternoon to a beautiful friendly pub.

Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We had a drink before checking in to a our room, the beautiful Lustleigh room. Amazing four poster bed, modern bathroom, everything you could say possibly want. We ate dinner downstairs in the bar and the food was A* could not fault it. All freshly made tasted amazing and didn't take forever to arrive either. We then sat at the bar enjoying the atmosphere, a mix of guests and locals, for the next 3 hours. Best country pub/hotel by a mile, definitely returning here soon.

  • Richard A

  • December 2014

What a find.

A warm welcome greeted our arrival; beautiful room with the most comfortable bed and wonderful views of Dartmoor.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay & celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

  • a robertson

  • November 2014

comfey bed

we stayed in the Lyndon room which is on the front of the hotel with a view of the village street which was very quite.

The room was an average size with a lovely huge four poster bed which was very comfortable indeed. We had our evening meal in the restaurant on 2 occasions. The food was very good with a good choice. Good service. The breakfast was lovely and you could have what you liked. The bar was very cosy with a lovely real fire and the local people are very friendly and chatty. The owners Simon and Lyn will do anything for you to make sure your stay is perfect.

  • Jenny Bell

  • November 2014

On the whole the room was tastefully furnished, with good veiws, but felt the bathroom was to small

much to expensive for what it was!!

  • John Scrivens

  • September 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable visit!

Friendly, warm welcome to a completely fascinating and idiosyncratic establishment.

Warm welcome from owners, friendly staff, unique very, very old buildings and good beer to accompany excellent English food; personally could not ask for more!

  • Nicole C

  • July 2014

last minute escape...

Had a really lovely, welcoming stay.

Looked after extremely well by Simon, John and team. Lovely comfy beds and really amazing history of the building itself. This was a GREAT stay...not just a good one. Would go back again and would definitely recommend a stay.

  • J Newman

  • June 2014

Nice change from big 'generic' hotel chains

Cannot praise the Oxenham highly enough.

Despite arriving late I was greeted warmly and shown promptly to my room which was comfortable and pleasantly different from the sterile business-class rooms of chain hotels. All staff were very friendly and the quality of food (breakfast and evening meal) was excellent - I recommend the venison. Loved discussing the history and famous patrons of the pub. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Paul S

  • June 2014

Very refreshing break

We stayed here for 3 nights looking for a base around Dartmoor for a few relaxing days.

We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was excellent - we ate in the bar each evening, but could have chosen the restaurant or snug, and Lyn's breakfasts were just what was needed before a day of activity in the area. No shortage of things to do, with the North Devon coast and East Cornwall very accessible. Simon's historical tour of the building was not to be missed - so much history in an amazing building. And a lovely village - we felt very welcome.

  • sally h

  • May 2014

excellent in every way

Perfect location, room and breakfast, love the animals

  • Mark L

  • April 2014

Hotel with bags of historic charm

Brilliant atmosphere,service and location.A perfect base to enjoy the delights of Dartmoor.The room was beautifully decorated and maintained ,the four poster bed so comfortable it was difficult to leave.As was the Hotel!We have booked to stay again later in the year.