Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > South Tawton Hotels > The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant at South Zeal
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant at South Zeal

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton, EX20 2JT
The ancient Oxenham Arms at South Zeal is just 5 minutes off the A30 to Cornwall and Devon yet in a beautiful quiet medieval village of South Zeal in the Dartmoor National Park. Originally a 12th Century Monastery, built by monks around a prehistoric standing stone which still supports the middle of the building, the beautiful Oxenham Arms is one of the oldest coaching inn hotels in the United Kingdom. Fanstastic locally sourced fresh foods are served in both the bar and the Monastery Restaurant, Oak Dining Room or the ancient snug.
The hotel has 4 acres of grounds and is ideally located for walking, cycling or just sightseeing in and around Dartmoor. The hotel has produced a series of walking leaflets which provide the novice and experienced walkers of all fitness levels with the opportunity to take in the beautiful historic sights of Dartmoor. The Oxenham Arms is famous worldwide for many reasons, it has 7 beautifully appointed luxury guestrooms and offers great customer service.
Picture of The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant at South Zeal, Okehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking was best decision ever!!!
After booking late Friday morning, we arrived Saturday afternoon to a beautiful friendly pub. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We had a drink before checking in to a our room, the beautiful Lustleigh room. Amazing four poster bed, modern bathroom, everything you could say possibly want. We ate dinner downstairs in the bar and the food was A* could not fault it. All freshly made tasted amazing and didn't take forever to arrive either. We then sat at the bar enjoying the atmosphere, a mix of guests and locals, for the next 3 hours. Best country pub/hotel by a mile, definitely returning here soon.

Reviewed by
Mike Taylor

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find.
A warm welcome greeted our arrival; beautiful room with the most comfortable bed and wonderful views of Dartmoor. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay & celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfey bed
we stayed in the Lyndon room which is on the front of the hotel with a view of the village street which was very quite. The room was an average size with a lovely huge four poster bed which was very comfortable indeed. We had our evening meal in the restaurant on 2 occasions. The food was very good with a good choice. Good service. The breakfast was lovely and you could have what you liked. The bar was very cosy with a lovely real fire and the local people are very friendly and chatty. The owners Simon and Lyn will do anything for you to make sure your stay is perfect.

Reviewed by
a robertson

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole the room was tastefully furnished, with good veiws, but felt the bathroom was to small
much to expensive for what it was!!

Reviewed by
Jenny Bell

From Wotton Under Edge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyable visit!
Friendly, warm welcome to a completely fascinating and idiosyncratic establishment.
Warm welcome from owners, friendly staff, unique very, very old buildings and good beer to accompany excellent English food; personally could not ask for more!

Reviewed by
John Scrivens

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute escape...
Had a really lovely, welcoming stay. Looked after extremely well by Simon, John and team. Lovely comfy beds and really amazing history of the building itself. This was a GREAT stay...not just a good one! Would go back again and would definitely recommend a stay.

Reviewed by
Nicole C

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice change from big 'generic' hotel chains
Cannot praise the Oxenham highly enough. Despite arriving late I was greeted warmly and shown promptly to my room which was comfortable and pleasantly different from the sterile business-class rooms of chain hotels. All staff were very friendly and the quality of food (breakfast and evening meal) was excellent - I recommend the venison. Loved discussing the history and famous patrons of the pub. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
J Newman

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very refreshing break
We stayed here for 3 nights looking for a base around Dartmoor for a few relaxing days. We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was excellent - we ate in the bar each evening, but could have chosen the restaurant or snug, and Lyn's breakfasts were just what was needed before a day of activity in the area. No shortage of things to do, with the North Devon coast and East Cornwall very accessible. Simon's historical tour of the building was not to be missed - so much history in an amazing building. And a lovely village - we felt very welcome.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent in every way
Perfect location, room and breakfast, love the animals

Reviewed by
sally h

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with bags of historic charm
Brilliant atmosphere,service and location.A perfect base to enjoy the delights of Dartmoor.The room was beautifully decorated and maintained ,the four poster bed so comfortable it was difficult to leave.As was the Hotel!We have booked to stay again later in the year.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next