No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Marlborough , Salcombe, TQ7 3RN
Set in the picturesque village of Malborough, The Lodge is positioned between the coastal resorts of Salcombe and Hope Cove, known for their beaches, coastal paths and scenic views. Free on-site parking is provided, as well as a garden with sun loungers.

The Lodge operates on a self-service basis. Prior to arrival, guests will be provide with all the necessary information to access their accomodation. Local staff are available on call for any of your requirements.

Each of the en-suite rooms are comfortable and well appointed and they include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky Channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. A complementary DVD library and a computer room with internet connection are available to use on request.

Hope Cove and Salcome can both be reached within a 10-minute drive, the latter of which lies within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Guests can enjoy pleasure sailing, yachting and hiking in these areas.
Picture of Lodge Hotel, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Self-service hotel
We stayed in this hotel for one night and we have not seen a single member of staff!
The keys were left for us (even though we arrived early in the afternoon) and breakfast was self-service too...
Our room had only one working plug, but there was no one around to sort it out... The loo was awfully noisy too.
Generally the most dis-functional hotel we ever stayed in!

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
I booked The Lodge for my wife and I, and our three children. We chose a family suite at £85 per night for 4 nights. I simply could not get near this price anywhere close to Salcombe. Prior to arrival I received a very informative text from the owner about check in, and we exchanged a few texts with contact details etc. This hotel is largely unmanned as previous comments have mentioned, BUT do not let this put you off in any way. The hotel is set up so that there is no need for staff to be on hand. There is a fully stocked kitchen with snacks and breakfast items that runs on a "honesty box" principle, and the hotel is clean and tidy. The pub next door is friendly and serve breakfast, lunch, and evening meals. Overall great value for money in a notoriously expensive part of the world.

Reviewed by
Neil Morton

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with this hotel. Very unusual way that it is being run.
We booked this hotel in early February for a family wedding in the local church. We had booked two rooms for three nights each. On our arrival there were no staff at the hotel only a note to ring a mobile phone number.On ringing this number I was informed that there had been a problem with our booking and our rooms were double booked. Apparently they could only let us have the rooms for one night. I was then informed that luckily there were some rooms available up the road at another guest house. Had the weather been good these rooms would not have been available so we were very grateful to the owners of the second guest house for helping out. The lodge is run in a very strange way as there is never any staff on scene, there is only a mobile number to contact the owner as nobody actually lives on site. Breakfast is on a totally self service basis as you just help yourself in the kitchen. We looked into the kitchen only to be greeted by a pile of unwashed dishes piled up on the draining board so not very appealing. Rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable but there are many things that need improving. We spoke to other guests that were staying at the lodge and they were also very disappointed with the setup.

Reviewed by
n ellis

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The shower was not very good - a pathetic spray if that am afraid.
Carpet in a bathroom is also not very good or hygenic!
The room just felt very tired.

Reviewed by
D Cooper

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left to own devices
Had a text the day before arrival giving instructions on how to get in as they had staff shortage.
Saw no one at the hotel at any time during stay - so no chance of any breakfast.
Room adequate and clean, but window blind collapsed 4- 5 times during stay.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Odd Experience.
No staff around, so a slightly strange experience, although I did see two people very fleetingly when we arrived well before check-in time. They let us park and put our stuff in our room. Perhaps just low season tick over. Could not get WiFi to work. A helpful hint as to where to get breakfast would have been nice! There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room had an extra bed and a tv which could not be viewed from any bed. But all was clean and I suspect in season it would be lively.

Reviewed by
Rosemary B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place
On arrival thought it was just your everyday bnb but as you enter. You are hit by a homely place clean and a feeling of family values. The room was clean and fresh the bed was perfect I would fully recommend this bnb to anyone. Great value.

Reviewed by
Mark Palmer

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position for the Kingsbridge/Salcombe area - easy access to both and surrounding coastal area. Good accommmodation and facilities, very clean and tidy. Slightly unusual service arrangement as the hotel is unmanned but not really a problem as the Manager (Kirsty) is very close by and easily contacted

Reviewed by
peter c

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay Near Salcombe
Comfortable, quiet, clean room and the owner was extremely helpful and accomodating

Reviewed by
T Booth

From Fareham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3