No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Marlborough , Salcombe, TQ7 3RN
Set in the picturesque village of Malborough, The Lodge is positioned between the coastal resorts of Salcombe and Hope Cove, known for their beaches, coastal paths and scenic views. Free on-site parking is provided, as well as a garden with sun loungers.

The Lodge operates on a self-service basis. Prior to arrival, guests will be provide with all the necessary information to access their accomodation. Local staff are available on call for any of your requirements.

Each of the en-suite rooms are comfortable and well appointed and they include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky Channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. A complementary DVD library and a computer room with internet connection are available to use on request.

Hope Cove and Salcome can both be reached within a 10-minute drive, the latter of which lies within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Guests can enjoy pleasure sailing, yachting and hiking in these areas.
Picture of Lodge Hotel, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stay

Reviewed by
N Piper

From PLYMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Very good

Reviewed by
WILLIAM EMERY

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and value for money
Stayed her for 3 nights in August as wanted to stay in Salcombe but found it too expensive. This place was great value for money and great location...we walked from the hotel to salcombe via beaut u'll footpaths and scenery in just over 30 mins. A great way to get there considering parking in salcombe is a nightmare!
The hotel is different as we rarely saw any staff (or any other guests!) but we found this quite relaxing as we came and went as we pleased, made our own breakfasts when we wanted and ate as much as we wanted! The only hiccup we had was when we came to check in...late rooms email had said between 4pm and 10pm so after a day exploring we arrived at 9:20pm to a dark and locked hotel. The contact number I had went to answer phone that advised would only be available between the times of 9am to 9pm. The only choice we had was to yell up to windows were thought were occupied to help us to get in!! Lucky a fellow resident did come and open the door and our keys were on reception waiti g for us. I think we were meant to have received a code for the back door that we never did.
I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely return. The area is stunning, one of the most beautiful I've visited in Devon.

Reviewed by
L Quainton

From Buckingham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impersonal! No human contact with any staff. Rooms never cleaned, waste bins never emptied. Shower in 5 either too hot or too cold. Breakfast is you can call it, loaf there all 4 days , and for £6 to get get your own stale bread and cereal not tempting. Room keys could have been picked up by anyone as they were on open view. This worrying as back door not always locked. No staff contact even to greet you or see you out. Very strange! Bistro advertised on web site. Closed. Advertising hotel next door for dinner!

Reviewed by
Gillian Twamley

From Reigate, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit wacky that there is no one to check you in, but a very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Mick M

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel without visible staff. No receptionist, no waiters, no service. Pick up your keys with a note on reception, find your own room.
"Self help" breakfast. Get your own crockery, find food in the fridge, make your own tea, toast, etc. We ate outside as it was a very hot morning, so find a cloth and wipe down your own table. No full breakfast available and you are invited to go to the pub next door which only serves breakfast on Fri, Sat, Sun.

Reviewed by
R Ault

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LODGE HOTEL MALBOROUGH SALCOMBE
This was a strange set up as the hotel was completely unmanned apart from a cleaner who came each day and was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and tastefully furnished and very well equipped. Bedroom 1 which we occupied was smaller than we expected as the bedrooms were advertised as ' spacious' but the room and en suite were very clean. It would have been helpful if instructions were given re parking if the few spaces at the rear of the hotel were taken. Although this hotel is unusual in the way in which it is run the system seemed to work and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
M Lamb

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY BIZZARE
Booked the hotel on the Wednesday prior to our stay on the friday, trying to find a twin bedded room was very difficult as a great weekend of weather was forcast. THe room was very small for two adults, like living in a shoe box!!. So not worth the money. It was very clean on arrival but beds and rooms were not made the next day. The car park is very difficult to find and on one evening there was no room to park. The lights on the footpath from car park to hotel were not on so very dangerous. THe self service breakfast very over priced!!

Reviewed by
E Kingston

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ghost hotel experience in Malborough
Ghost hotel experience in Malborough was a surprise as no reference when booking on line that it was self service check in etc. breakfast was very expensive for a self service experience and kitchen not very clean. We chose to buy our own! Hotel located in lovely peaceful village and we had a peaceful stay apart from seriously noisy plumbing system in our room . No. 7!

Reviewed by
Joy I

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No staff!
Although comfortable, clean and cosy - I felt the lack of staff a little weird! Helping myself to breakfast just didn't seem right, and was hoping for a proper English breakfast! The directions were terrible, we spent 30 minutes in the dark trying to find the entrance and no-one was answering any of the telephone numbers we were given. The door for the room next to me was constantly banging in the wind so I had to use leaflets to stop it. A really nice house, but I wouldn't come again, sorry.

Reviewed by
G Nightingale

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next