Lodge Hotel

3

Marlborough, Salcombe, TQ7 3RN

Price From 85.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (28)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mark M

  • November 2013

NEVER AGAIN!

This is not a hotel, it is an unclean deserted house, where for the entire stay we saw no members of staff, slept in a filthy room and if the owners would return my emails, would be attempting to get my money back.

  • D Hearn

  • November 2013

Exactly as descibed great location

  • C Tait

  • November 2013

Overpriced No staff but we knew that milk in rooms out of date

Overpriced as had to buy own food Knew no staff but said food help yourself wasn't any .

Milk maids all were out if date emailed to change them

Reply came after we'd returned home

Clean tidy liked hotel room freedom but costly for no breakfast

  • Benjamin F

  • October 2013

Bizarre experience

This was the most bizarre hotel experience I've ever encountered.

From reading previous reviews I knew the hotel was unstaffed but we got no prior notice of what to do on arrival. When we did arrive the hotel was unlocked and the keys to all rooms were on the reception desk. Surely not great security. There were two mobile numbers listed that you could call for assistance. Two problems - mobile reception is very, very patchy in the area but worse when I did get some there was no response from either number. Left messages on both numbers but didn't get a call back from either.

Eventually we just took all the keys, checked every room and chose the one we liked best. We chose room 7 - a family for us and our 3 year old daughter. Room was very clean but very small. Diuble bed was tiny and we didn't sleep well. The worst part though was the horrendous siund the toilet made every time we used it. Had to be heard to be believed.

  • N Piper

  • October 2013

Hotel stay

  • WILLIAM EMERY

  • August 2013

Very good

Very good

  • L Quainton

  • August 2013

Great location and value for money

Stayed her for 3 nights in August as wanted to stay in Salcombe but found it too expensive.

This place was great value for money and great location...we walked from the hotel to salcombe via beaut u'll footpaths and scenery in just over 30 mins. A great way to get there considering parking in salcombe is a nightmare.

The hotel is different as we rarely saw any staff (or any other guests!) but we found this quite relaxing as we came and went as we pleased, made our own breakfasts when we wanted and ate as much as we wanted. The only hiccup we had was when we came to check in...late rooms email had said between 4pm and 10pm so after a day exploring we arrived at 9:20pm to a dark and locked hotel. The contact number I had went to answer phone that advised would only be available between the times of 9am to 9pm. The only choice we had was to yell up to windows were thought were occupied to help us to get in!. Lucky a fellow resident did come and open the door and our keys were on reception waiti g for us. I think we were meant to have received a code for the back door that we never did. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely return. The area is stunning, one of the most beautiful I've visited in Devon.

  • Gillian Twamley

  • August 2013

Impersonal.

No human contact with any staff. Rooms never cleaned, waste bins never emptied. Shower in 5 either too hot or too cold. Breakfast is you can call it, loaf there all 4 days , and for £6 to get get your own stale bread and cereal not tempting. Room keys could have been picked up by anyone as they were on open view. This worrying as back door not always locked. No staff contact even to greet you or see you out. Very strange. Bistro advertised on web site. Closed. Advertising hotel next door for dinner!

  • R Ault

  • July 2013

A hotel without visible staff.

No receptionist, no waiters, no service. Pick up your keys with a note on reception, find your own room.

"Self help" breakfast. Get your own crockery, find food in the fridge, make your own tea, toast, etc. We ate outside as it was a very hot morning, so find a cloth and wipe down your own table. No full breakfast available and you are invited to go to the pub next door which only serves breakfast on Fri, Sat, Sun.

  • Mick M

  • July 2013

Bit wacky that there is no one to check you in, but a very nice place to stay.