No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alma Lodge Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
125 Alma Road, , , Plymouth, PL3 4HQ
Located overlooking the small golf course at Central Park, Alma Lodge Guest House is nearest b&b to Life Centre. Five mins walk to Brittania Inn (Weatherspoon's pub) therefore ideal if you are tired after a long car journey and also near Argyle FC. If you need to hire a car, Hertz Car Hire is 3 mins walk away from us. We are only 10 mins walk from train station and 15 minutes walk into City Centre and University (and also on a regular bus route into the City Centre/University). We are only 3 miles from HMS RALEIGH. On direct bus route to Raleigh. Ideally situated for Dockyard and also on bus route to Derriford Hospital. Central Park has a picnic area and lovely play area for children. Facilities at the new Life Centre consist of a family leisure pool with flumes, also a 10 lane, 50m swimming pool, a diving pool, (where you might be lucky to see Tom Daley training). Also indoor bowls centre, 12 court sports hall and squash courts, innovative climbing zone, dance, soft play and creche and a gym (150 stations) and group exercise classes. Plymouth is historical, with its Mayflower Steps in the Barbican (where the first American settlers set sail from England). Scott of the Antartic, Sir Francis Drake and the famous Hoe. We are only 10 mins drive from the historical Hoe (sea front) and Barbican areas, which make for a great day out. Also, by car, you could be at the bridge between Devon & Cornwall within 5/10 minutes from the Alma Lodge Guest House. Ferry Ports to France & Spain are only 10 mins drive away.l For the convenience of our guests, we would like to explain that Alma Lodge is not 24 hour manned therefore check in time is after 4 pm. Please note we are unable to take payment via credit or debit card AT THE GUEST HOUSE, however, you can use card on our secured booking site at almalodge.plymouth.co.uk
Picture of Alma Lodge Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money., Lovely, comfortable stay.
Stayed for one night for theatre visit. Lovely, friendly welcome and choice of clean, spacious bedrooms. Delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. Walking distance to local Weatherspoons (The Brittania- very nice) and city centre. Shall definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
P Sutton

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for short stay
Satisfactory for our purpose - attending an evening concert in Yelverton.
Directions provided were very unsatisfactory for someone unfamiliar with Plymouth.

Reviewed by
richard R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two impressed customers
My partner and I were very pleased with our stay at this guest house. What made it so special was the great personality of the proprietors and their daughter. They made you feel very welcome and assisted you in any way they could. The food and cleanliness of the guest house was second to none and would not hesitate to book in future or recommend to friends/family.
Only down side and it is quite trivial is that as the weather at the time we were there was hot it would have been good if an area out in the back garden or the front garden was available to guests to sit outside first thing in the morning or late evening but other than that it was exceptional and we send our very best wishes from Alloa, Scotland. Jennifer and Derek

Reviewed by
jennifer syme

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff brilliant.

Reviewed by
rebecca z

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and bright room, great breakfast
We stayed for two nights at Alma Lodge, was booked in for one night, and added another when we saw our room. It was lovely, bright and clean, with ensuite. Breakfast was delicious, hosts were friendly and helpful. A short walk into city centre. Great price, would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Anthony

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Quality, Value
I was welcomed in and given all the details I needed including where to eat and a map for the city.
Plenty of parking. Room was clean and adequate for my one night stay. Free Wi Fi. Breakfast was good quality and served up on time, since I was on a time limit. I even got a wake up call to check I was coming down for breakfast. Just one thing to be aware of ......it is about 1.4 miles from the city centre. I walked but it is up and down hills so if you are not very good on your pins I suggest you ask about the bus service or get a taxi. It is very good value and I would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
MALCOLM S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Still the best :)

Reviewed by
J Don

From Wantage, Hungary
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
We were in Plymouth to pick up our daughter from Uni. Alma Lodge is very convenient for the City Centre, being only 10-15 minutes walk away. The welcome and general customer service throughout our stay was excellent and friendly. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. And we even got a nice full English breakfast in the morning. Fantastic value for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
C Daplyn

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
It was one of the best place I ever stayed in UK!!!

Reviewed by
J Don

From Wantage, Hungary
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
Owners most helpful and friendly. Would recommend. Handy for railway station and bus stops nearby.

Reviewed by
Guy G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next