No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Birchwood House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
33 St Andrews Road Paignton, , , Paignton, TQ4 6HA
At the heart of beautiful English Riviera, which covers the three towns of Torquay, Paignton and Brixham. Paignton is a resort in the true sense of the word, attracting visitors of all ages and interest throughout the year. Guests benefit from free hotel car parking and close proximity to good local transport link's for those who stay without a car. We have disabled access to ground floor rooms. Ten en-suite comfortable bedrooms, All bedrooms have central heating, TV, Digital freeview, hairdryer and drink making facilities, Fully licensed bar, Comfortable lounge with Digital colour television, Traditional and varied home cooked food, Special diets catered for, Safe and secure car park, Open all year round, Special breaks available, Credit/Debit cards accepted, we are a non smoking hotel.
Picture of Birchwood House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birchwood House
the room was clean but could do with updating bathroom very small with no room at all to move around freely food was excellent and made to feel very welcome also on a hill and partner has walking difficulties

Reviewed by
s wedmore

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend
My partner and I had a lovely time and would recommend to anyone. They owners were lovely and very accommodating, the food was very nice. The room was lovely and the ensuite was also very nice. Will be looking to visit again in the future.

Reviewed by
Sophie S

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Lovely room, nicely decorated, spacious bathroom, comfy beds The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and lots of different options for cooked breakfast. Would stay again

Reviewed by
P Wood

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We received a lovely warm welcome on arriving and after a couple of cold beers really settled in. The room was spotless and the bed really comfortable, the choice and quality of breakfast were fantastic. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Tracy Spraggon

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Birchwood House
Dawn and Steve were fantastic hosts. We were greeted with tea and biscuits upon arrival and made to feel very welcome.The room and en-suite bathroom were spotless and the bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was superb, with a wide choice and great food.Overall a faultless stay at Birchwood.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birchwood house paignton
we had a lovely stay at birchwood house dawn and steve were very helpful and perfect hosts ,we had lovely food for breakfast and room with kingsize bed was very comfortable and clean with clean towels every day and they would do anything to please ,only problem for us being older was the hills to beach there was car parking at the back of house , which was good so yes it was nice ,pat and tony

Reviewed by
p pope

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable
Dawn and Steve have developed a lovely guest house here, and do everything they can to make you feel as comfortable as possible during your stay. Breakfast was delicious...especially the sausages :-P
We will definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
Pam Smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first stay in Paignton B & B
Dawn and Steve couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming.
Looking through the comments in the visitors book its easy to see why they have so many repeat customers.
So good we have booked for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
Tim R

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely hotel run by lovely people
I booked this room late in the day and was met by the owners upon arrival.
Nothing was too much trouble and was made to feel welcome throught
i would thoroughly recommend

Reviewed by
P Harding

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely warm welcoming place, wonderful friendly hosts!
We have stayed in places all over the world but never received such a warm friendly genuine welcome .
Steve and Dawn could not have done anything more to make us feel at ease and comfortable from greeting us on arrival with a handshake and a much needed cup of tea , to the kind words exchanged on our departure .
The room was lovely , very clean , well equipped , fresh ,with a generous sized en-suite that was spotless (and I am very fussy)
Off road parking was a bonus as was sitting on the patio enjoying the last of the sun .
Breakfast exceeded all expectations great choice of food all cooked and served to perfection . Steve's homemade jams and marmalades were to die for!
The whole experience left us feeling we had been to stay with old friends and cannot think of a more complimentary way to express our thoughts .
If you are visiting the Torbay area go check out BIrchwood House you won't do better .
We cannot wait to go back

Reviewed by
Wendy Smith

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next