No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cherry Tree Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
10-11 Esplanade Road, , , Paignton, TQ4 6EB
Alan and Trish welcome you to the Cherry Tree Hotel. Our aim is to ensure you have a happy and comfortable stay. The Cherry Tree Hotel is in a prime position on Paignton Sea Front with open views over the bay to Torquay and Brixham. The magnificent vista from the sea-facing rooms pans across the green to show off the long sandy stretch of beach & the Paignton Pier, with its stunning views of Torbay. Our accommodation comprises 20 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated and centrally heated. Each room has a colour Television with DVD player and Freeview, beverage tray, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and mini fridge. Towels and toiletries are provided. The larger family will be very comfortable in one of our spacious 5 bedded rooms. We also have a charming room with a romantic four poster bed and stunning views from the bay window, and some of our double rooms have king size beds. Our spacious dining room offers a breakfast experience of unhurried comfort in stylish yet informal surroundings. Indulge in a hearty full English or vegetarian breakfast, freshly prepared, from quality ingredients sourced from the local Devon countryside - wherever possible. Linger in our sunny and bright dining room over coffee or tea, whilst making plans on how to spend your day. The Cherry Tree has WiFi connection and private parking for guests.
Picture of Cherry Tree Hotel, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly good value accommodation with family atmosphere and beautifully cooked breakfast.
Very accommodating staff that were more than happy to give information about the area and places to visit . Room was a little basic, but adequate for what we wanted. Great location with the sea front just across the road . Would stay again .

Reviewed by
Christopher C

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No way a 4* B&B
Stayed here for one night, room 15 ground floor facing rear of property. The feel of this place is that of a 1960's B&B, the room was very small with a double bed and a single tucked into the corner, with a bay window to the rear.
There is an old TV on the wall high up over the door, probably 12' from where you would be watching it, not so bad if it want for the fact that the TV was only an old 12" thing, you couldn't make out the picture from the bed.
The shower room is tiny as well. There is only 1 double socket in the room and thats got the radio and bedside light plugged into it, so if you want to charge anything you have to do without something else. Also thre is no WIFI in the rooms, every hotel has that now.
Breakfast on the other hand was really good.
There is no way that this place should have a 4 star rating.

Reviewed by
Andrew Young

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Tour
Very friendly welcome and the breakfast was first class. The room was clean. The tv was small, perched high up in a corner, but this didn't bother us as we were out in the evening. Might be a bug-bear to some. Excellent position on the sea-front. All in all we were well satisfied.

Reviewed by
Alyn S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cherry Tree Paignton July 2014
Very welcoming host, good hearty atmosphere about the place and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ian Burnell

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only fault was, it says that the Cherry Tree Hotel has fridges in all its rooms. Please could you comment on this for me. Thank You.

Reviewed by
craig jones

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend The Cherry Tree Hotel

Reviewed by
Lynne D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family run hotel, with friendly owners, great breakfasts and a really good ambience. I stayed in a room advertised as a 'sea view' and it was it certainly was! Directly overlooking the sea with a fantastic view and really handy for the station and all the town's facilities including the pier and beach. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Hospitality brilliant, lovely family! Room (2) a fantastic size and great view, only down side bathroom very small but that sometimes can't be helped - we would however quite happily stay in that room again the bed was enormous. We plan to go back at some point and hopefully stay longer than the 2 nights.

Reviewed by
J Kitchin

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In an excellent position, directly overlooking the sea. Amenities all very close by
Superb location, great hosts and everything you may need pretty close to hand. Public transport trains/ buses all nearby with destinations to all places. If you are not sure of anything, Trish and Allan prove to be the experts on all things.
All in all a great place to stay, I won't say any more as there may not be any vacancies for the next time I want to stay.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round delightful!
This was very much a last minute booking and I had worries as I had never booked over the internet before. I had no such reason to fret as Alan was soon there to welcome us and show us to our room.
The room itself was warm, comfortable, tidy and had a lovely view of the south end of Paignton green and on to the sea itself.
The beds afforded us a wonderful nights sleep and there were no noises during the night...always a plus when staying in a "strange" room!
The breakfast offered was more than ample and we had to actually ask for smaller portions as so much was available. Trish is fabulous in the kitchen and entertaining out of it.
On the minus side: The extractor fan was not working but that was actually a plus for me as I can't stand their racket rattling on for gawd knows how long after you turn the light off in the en-suite. The only other blooper was that the shower rack was missing and so I had to put my shower gel and sponge on the floor of the shower tray.
In summary, if you are fanatical about extractor fans and shower racks then stay away...for now. Otherwise I would wholeheartedly recommend the Cherry Tree for a welcoming, comfortable stay with an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Cutler

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next