No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penarth Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
St. Austell Road, St. Blazey Gate, , Par, PL24 2EF
Penarth Guest House is a spacious detached house with three high quality ensuite guest rooms set in its own grounds at the edge of the village of St Blazey Gate just 5 minutes’ drive from the Eden Project. This part of the south Cornish coastline between the River Fowey to the east and the River Fal to the west is known as the Cornish Riviera for its beautiful gardens, palm trees and fine weather. Outstandingly beautiful and steeped in history, the area offers many attractions for all tastes from award-winning gardens to pirates. The guest accommodation has been refurbished (winter 2009/2010) to a high standard and all guest rooms are equipped with colour TV, DVD player with Freeview, free wireless internet, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. In the village there is a Post Office, Chinese restaurant and The Four Lords, a charming traditional local pub serving tasty food all day and with a special childrens' menu. High chairs are available and there are indoor and outdoor play areas for the little ones. Also with live music from local bands weekly. For those who like nothing better than visiting historic castles, houses and gardens there are plenty! One of the most visited attractions in Cornwall is the Eden Project (just 5 minutes' drive from Penarth Guest House). Also nearby are the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Lanhydrock House and Gardens and the castles of Caerhays and Restormel.
Picture of Penarth Guest House, Par at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Penarth B7&B
Conveniently placed for visiting St Austell area. Made very welcome, very pleasant people

Reviewed by
Roy Byrom

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Penarth Guestt House, Par, Cornwall
Very clean and comfortable room with a great en-suite. Wonderful breakfasts with a great choice, beautifully cooked and presented. Very friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Louise M

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally satisfied Clients
Everything was perfect - location, room, food & especially Mike & his helpers.

Reviewed by
Pamela Hoffman

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sightseeing tour with my niece from the States
My niece and I arrived at Penarth (later than I'd said) and were greeted very warmly by Mike. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable with everything we could possibly need. The breakfasts were fantastic and we looked forward to them each morning. There was such a huge selection that we tried something different on each of the five days. It was locally sourced food, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Many thanks Mike.

Reviewed by
S Stroud

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous place to stay
Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a warm welcome, what more could you want?

Reviewed by
Barbara J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great host, clean and comfortable room, scrumptious breakfast. Excellent base to visit the Eden Project and explore the Clay Trails nearby.

Reviewed by
Davide R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation food hospitality definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
lynn p

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Mike is an excellent host. Rooms are a high standard and clean. We are both vegetarian and Mike made sure the breakfast was the full veggie choice not a reduced menu which we usually get. There were some nice touches to the accommodation. Location is perfect for the Eden project and a good base for the wider area. If you want a decent pub within walking distance go to the very slightly further away Britannia. An enjoyable stay. Mike got his 4* AA award whilst we were there.

Reviewed by
Liz C

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Weekend
Fantastic host, rooms were spotless and the breakfast as amazing. We look forward to visiting again!

Reviewed by
Tom Barker

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every respect
There is absolutely nothing I can fault about the Penarth. We stayed in the Carlyon room with a Queen-sized bed, tv, tea, coffee, and complementary bottled water. It was very clean and stylishly furnished. The host was knowledgeable and friendly, and the breakfasts comprised fresh local produce, beautifully prepared and cooked, with enough choice to meet every need.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.