No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bedford Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Esplanade, , , Sidmouth, EX10 8NR
One of the first Regency houses to be built on the seafront in Sidmouth was Wallis’s Marine Library and Reading Rooms. This was the early nineteenth-century meeting place for Sidmouth’s fashionable summer visitors. Between 1815 and 1845 the building was enlarged, and by 1865 it had become the Bedford Hotel. It’s now a Grade II* listed building and the pride of the Pyne family.

Located at the heart of Sidmouth’s seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking panoramic views across Lyme Bay. With the beach just in front, the town right behind and attractive gardens all around, there is much to do within easy reach of The Bedford.

All forty bedrooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. The hotel is centrally heated throughout and there is lift access to all floors. Accommodation is tailored to meet your needs not our convenience; single, double, twin and family rooms are available.

As you would expect, the hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. Limited car parking is available at the rear of and around the hotel. A large public car park is conveniently opposite the hotel.

Devon produces a wealth of food and many of our ingredients in the varied menus are home grown on the family farm ensuring fresh succulent vegetables and free range eggs.

If you’d like a light lunch, snack or an evening a la carte meal, visit Pyne’s at The Bedford for a more informal atmosphere.

With glorious views across Lyme Bay, Pyne's at The Bedford offers a choice of eating styles. The menus are prepared using fresh West Country produce and includes traditional seaside favourites, speciality fish and daily specials. Speciality Curry night every Wednesday, Pie Night every Thursday and traditional roasts served Sunday lunch times and evenings. Open 7 days a week for morning coffee, lunch and evening meals.
Picture of The Bedford Hotel, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stay
Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a Saturday night and found the accommodation to be spacious and comfortable. The lady at reception was very nice and helpful. A slight downside was the lack of packing available but she helpfully pointed out the alternatives. Luckily there is a carpark right next to the hotel which was about £6 for the evening. The only issue would be if you needed to park there all day which i think was more pricey.
The location of the hotel was great. Overall it was a well priced deal for the middle of summer in a popular town. I'd recommend a drive round the coast to the village of Beer.

Reviewed by
Alexandra B

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My view
The view from the room was amazing.

Reviewed by
A Tully

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super room
Super room, but breakfast seemed to be pre-cooked but evening meal very good

Reviewed by
A Appleby

From Bradford on avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit
All in all a very nice Hotel with good helpful staff, nothing to complain about, we enjoyed our short stay and will probably visit again.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside Escape
Pleasant traditional hotel well situated on Sidmouth sea front. Rooms are well appointed and offer home comforts. Staff are friendly and obliging going to great lengths to find us some playing cards! Breakfast was a little uninspiring. Fresh fruit would have been more welcome than tinned!

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed and bedford
We were very warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was larger than expected and very comfortable. The balcony overlooking the sea was superb. A couple of sun loungers would have been a welcome addition. The evening meal was excellent value for money. The breakfast was adequate but could have offered a little more excitement.

Reviewed by
v currie

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and great sea views
The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spotless, although not very big, but when you only sleep in it, size does not matter. The views are gorgeous (the fabulous weather helped of course) and there was no problem with any noise. Breakfast I felt could have been a little better, but there was plenty of it. I did not have an evening meal in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Gill R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff all very friendly good start to the New Year

Reviewed by
S Barrett

From Bruton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BRILLIANT

Reviewed by
D Cox

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff nice selection of breakfast hotel very clean and made to feel welcome
After a slight disaster at the beginning of my stay at the Bedford. The management and staff were extremely thoughtful and caring and could not do enough to make the rest of my stay with them enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Stephanie Bradley

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next