No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bedford Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Esplanade, , , Sidmouth, EX10 8NR
One of the first Regency houses to be built on the seafront in Sidmouth was Wallis’s Marine Library and Reading Rooms. This was the early nineteenth-century meeting place for Sidmouth’s fashionable summer visitors. Between 1815 and 1845 the building was enlarged, and by 1865 it had become the Bedford Hotel. It’s now a Grade II* listed building and the pride of the Pyne family.

Located at the heart of Sidmouth’s seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking panoramic views across Lyme Bay. With the beach just in front, the town right behind and attractive gardens all around, there is much to do within easy reach of The Bedford.

All forty bedrooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. The hotel is centrally heated throughout and there is lift access to all floors. Accommodation is tailored to meet your needs not our convenience; single, double, twin and family rooms are available.

As you would expect, the hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. Limited car parking is available at the rear of and around the hotel. A large public car park is conveniently opposite the hotel.

Devon produces a wealth of food and many of our ingredients in the varied menus are home grown on the family farm ensuring fresh succulent vegetables and free range eggs.

If you’d like a light lunch, snack or an evening a la carte meal, visit Pyne’s at The Bedford for a more informal atmosphere.

With glorious views across Lyme Bay, Pyne's at The Bedford offers a choice of eating styles. The menus are prepared using fresh West Country produce and includes traditional seaside favourites, speciality fish and daily specials. Speciality Curry night every Wednesday, Pie Night every Thursday and traditional roasts served Sunday lunch times and evenings. Open 7 days a week for morning coffee, lunch and evening meals.
Picture of The Bedford Hotel, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedford Hotel, Sidmouth
I stayed in the Bedford for two nights and found it a very friendly accommodating hotel. It is perfectly placed for the sea front and all local amenities are well within walking distance. This is a big plus for me as it meant I didn't have to move the car, as after a long journey the last thing I would want to do is drive again.
The hotel has a very nice atmosphere and is very nicely decorated throughout. My room was very spacious and not cluttered. The facilities on offer are good and the staff very helpful all round. The food in the restaurant is first class as is the service. This is the first time I have stayed in the Bedford, but I suspect it won't be the last.

Reviewed by
steve johnson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel but don't take the kids
We stayed for 3 nights in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking Sidmouth beach. The bed was super comfortable and with high quality lovely feel bedding, a very comfortable nights sleep. The hotel is old but clean and well looked after. The breakfast consisted of everything you would want and very well presented and cooked. There was staff training held, we noticed, each day we were there and this was, to be honest, needed badly as the service we had was not the best considering the premium prices we were paying to stay there. It wasn't bad but we expected to be greeted at breakfast with a little more enthusiasm and cheerfulness. Perhaps everyone was tired after the Sidmouth Folk week?? We weren't even asked if we'd had a nice stay when we checked out. Come on guys, give us a little more of a friendly greeting, surely that's your primary roll? We would have liked to have our daughter say with us for one night as the room already had an extra single bed in it but at £60 supplement......you must be joking. The Dukes up the road would have charged £15 to let her stay in our room.....where do you come up with 60 quid.....anyone ever heard such ridicule??? On the whole we enjoyed the room with a beautiful view but soured a little by the above.

Reviewed by
J Page

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

right on the front
Brilliant room, right on the front. Décor a bit faded. Staff friendly. Breakfast substantial, if not always of highest quality.

Reviewed by
Christopher Slinn

From Surrey , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good short break
Hotel was very close to the beach, which we wanted. The food was very good and plenty of it.
The room was a good size with plenty of storage space.
The two steps into the bathroom were rather a worry, especially when your partner is partially sighted - he did fall down them once. Also the bath and safety mat were not too clean.
However, it was a good break for us. Thankyou.

Reviewed by
Mary R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned in a good way
The Bedford Hotel, like Sidmouth, is old fashioned in the best possible ways - welcoming staff and comfortable, elegant accommodation. We booked relatively late for a bank holiday weekend so I wasn't expecting to be given such a lovely room (17) with two large windows overlooking the sea which proved great for people watching! The bathroom was a bit dated but there was plentiful hot water and warm towels. The whole place is scrupulously clean. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but, again, old fashioned good service prevailed - the dining room was well run, the waiting staff friendly and the food excellent. I would recommend the hotel for 'older' couples - I'm not sure it would be ideal for families.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you found the room very clean and bright, however we are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us due to the comments pointed out in your review. The room category was a superior sea view room and as you say the room did have a wonderful sea view as described. Regarding the parking, we do have a great position but this unfortunately means we do not have much parking of our own. The car park opposite is a privately run car park and has no association with this hotel. The reception staff would not necessarily know there was a problem with parking if you did not inform them, had you done so they would have gladly advised you of the best solution. Apologies that you found the towel rail too hot, but it certainly isn't hot enough to cause blistering. You are correct to point out that we are a hotel in the West country and with that we do use fresh and local produce, much of which comes from our family farm, including the eggs that you had at breakfast. Your comments about cheap frozen produce are untrue. We do have groups staying with us but they are certainly not "bargain break" as you describe and should not be categorised as so. The Bedford is an old grade two * listed building with plenty of character and history, and this is what we love about it. It isn't a purpose built hotel so there are some corridors you often have to go through to get to your bedroom. We take pride in what we offer here but we are sorry to hear that it did not suit you.

Reviewed by
Carolyn M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view! Very friendly and happy staff, very clean rooms, comfy bed, peaceful, very warm! would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
r kirkman

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel
Really nice hotel just wish the hotel had its own car park

Reviewed by
Scott M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really impressed
Parking is obviously at a premium, near the hotel but we did manage to park in the road. However, on arrival we were not asked if there was a problem or given an explanation about using the private parking opposite, as the pay kiosk was not manned.
The room was described as "Superior" - it only had a standard double bed and a very small TV. It was very clean and bright. My wife burnt herself on the extremely hot towel rail, fortunately she has "Cook's" hands and there was no blistering. The shower was a joke, installed incorrectly for comfortable use and had to be set at almost the lowest setting otherwise there would have been another burn.
My "full English breakfast" should have been described as Danish or Dutch, the sausages were almost inedible, the bacon and egg were the only 2 things on the plate worth eating, top marks for the hot plate though. Owners please take note this hotel is in the West country, so why are you serving cheap frozen produce? Perhaps to cater for the "bargain break" coach party that were also at breakfast and didn't expect such "luxuries". My wife's smoked haddock was beautiful, but it had either been put on a cold plate or had been sitting around in the kitchen as it was only lukewarm when it was placed in front of her. We asked for "hot " toast when our meal was served, but of course this had obviously been toasted ages before and just served at the requested time, so was inevitably cold.
To get to our room we had to go through a labyrinth of corridors, not terribly well signed, we coped alright but are sure some guests get totally confused.
I assume the cost of £114 for 2 was primarily for the wonderful sea view, but from our experience we will never return, such a pity as it is a great location in a lovely seaside town.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Hindhead, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bedford Hotel
Great hotel right on the front, polite staff,clean rooms & good food

Reviewed by
S Pyett

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay - perfect right on the sea front!

Reviewed by
Sara D

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next