No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cleve Court Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Cleve Court Hotel, 3 Cleveland Road, , Paignton, TQ4 6EN
Why not join us at the Cleve Court Hotel in Paignton, a detached, licensed hotel situated 100yards from Paignton's lovely harbour. Nearby you will find Goodringtons long sandy beaches and Quay West Water Park along with the lovely cliff walk and gardens, providing a wide range of activities for all ages. The hotel is noted for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The Cleve Court Hotel boasts attractive gardens which are entered for the "Torbay In Bloom" competition each year, along with the personal supervision of the resident proprietors, who are experienced in giving the service and comfort you would expect of a well run hotel. Relax in the evening in our cosy Bar where we have a small dance floor and live entertainment for party bookings, Christmas and New Year. Our party bookings usually enjoy a game of bingo or perhaps a quiz night. Enjoy our excellent home cooked food in a relaxed atmosphere, our dining room has separate tables where you can sample our excellent cuisine with a choice of menu at all times. Start your day with our traditional English Breakfast, and in the evening enjoy a four course evening dinner perhaps with a bottle of wine from our selection. Special diets and vegetarians are welcome.
Picture of Cleve Court Hotel, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Spotless room (if a little dated) and nice surprise that our room had a balcony. Thoughtful touches with bottles of products in shower room and choice of biscuits on tea & coffee tray. However, though shower room/loo was tiny and awkward to use, it encroached on the room and made the floorspace of the bedroom limited. Breakfast was very good with great choice, though I didn't order the continental breakfast again on our 2nd morning, having been disappointed with plastic wrapped individual servings of cheese and, unusually for a continental breakfast, olives. Overall, a great, family run hotel.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your Review, your feedback is appreciated. Whilst we endeavour to continually improve our service, we would like to point out that we offer a Continental Breakfast which is self service on the Buffet section - so guests can help themselves (the reason cheeses are wrapped). The Olives are enjoyed by many visitors from home and abroad. We also have a full and varied breakfast menu to choose from, which is served by our Staff. We are sorry you found the bedroom small, and did not enquire at the time if it was possible to change to a larger room, which we would have been happy to do.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Good overall experience, central to Torbay area.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Middleton Cheney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well impressed with the hotel

Reviewed by
KAREN T

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay will very likely return again
We booked last minute as we came to the BMAD Bike Festival and had the last available room. The accommodation was very clean and we couldn't fault it the only thing was, we wished the shower had been more powerful. David was very welcoming a really lovely guy, he even allowed us after checking out the following morning to leave our car there so we could go back down to the festival. We were able to check in early as well. We hope to return but will try and get a room with a balcony next time.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind Review. It was a pleasure to welcome you both to Cleve Court Hotel. We also thank you for your feedback regarding the shower, we will endeavour to put this right. We are pleased that the BMAD Bike Festival was a success, and we hope to see you again next year. Kind Regards, Margaret, Carole and David.

Reviewed by
Maureen T

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant overnight stay
A quiet but well situated hotel, family run and very welcoming. Comfortable room, nice lounge and an excellent breakfast. Even though I was one of very few people staying the full range of food was offered.

Reviewed by
Alexander Brown

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All fine, close to the harbour

Reviewed by
andrew r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay and will definitely be back for more!
I do stay away in hotels one or two nights a week so do feel qualified to give an impartial view on the hotels I stay in, hopefully this review comes across as being that.
I stayed here for two nights, my initial thoughts upon booking were not to expect too much for what the hotel was charging. The hotel is easy to find, being on the corner of one of the main roads away from the harbour. Parking was challenging but nonetheless I was able to park in the hotel car park on both nights. The room I was allocated (19) had excellent facilities, and whilst a little small, there was nothing that I could fault it upon; the cleanliness, the quality of the bed/bedding, and towels, were all something which I would expect to pay much more for. Whilst the TV was a little small, my only real gripe, there is nothing else I could fault this hotel for.
I would like to single out whoever the chef was on the Friday morning who cooked one of the nicest full English breakfasts I have had in a long time, and the two young ladies who served breakfast were a welcome sight for tired eyes.
I almost was in 2 minds about writing this review, which would cause this hotel to be much busier in the future and mean I couldn't get a room when I'm next in the area, but they do deserve the accolade as being one of the best value for money establishments I have stayed at in the UK.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your very kind review. We have been welcoming guests to Cleve Court for many years, so it is always a pleasure for us and our staff to hear when our Customers have enjoyed their stay. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Margaret, Carole and David.

Reviewed by
E Stokes

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cleve Cort Hotel
Very clean en-suite, close to beach and harbour. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
K Lambert

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable guest house, public rooms well-presented with an open and spacious feel. Breakfast was good quality and a wide choice, speedily delivered as several staff on duty. The only down-side was a hazardous (home-made?) metal bracket in the narrow opening to the en suite bathroom. I injured a toe on it

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel owned by nice honest people
Great little hotel good size rooms nice and clean nice little touches like shower gel shampoo shower cap tea and coffee shoe shine needle and cotton kit .fantastic breakfast in the morning
one of the owners is called David he is a really nice old chap I sat up till about one thirty drinking at the bar and having a good chat about life he bought me a drink straight away that's what you want friendly people who are not just in it for the money. only problem was we only stayed one night well done to the Cleve court hotel

Reviewed by
shaun c

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next