No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Rising Guest House

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
86 Parkstone Road, Poole, BH15 2QE
We are a small family run traditional guest house situated adjacent to the beautiful Poole Park just five minutes from Poole town centre. Established over thirty-five years ago, South Rising has been trading successfully as a B&B ever since. Please note we do not operate a 24 hour reception, arrival times accepted between 4pm.& 8pm. Earlier & later check-in times and single occupancy discounts by special arrangement only, please contact us direct. Payment for your stay with us will be taken in full at time of booking. Payment will be refunded, minus a 5% cancellation charge, when more than 48 hours cancellation notification is given prior to arrival date. Payment will not be refunded if cancelled after this period. All prices quoted exclude breakfast. This can be purchased for an additional £6.00 per person which we would kindly ask that you book in advance and is served from 08.30. We are unable to accommodate same sex groups or stag / hen parties.
Picture of South Rising Guest House, Poole at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Comfortable
Booked at the last minute. Received a warm welcome. Room was clean and comfortable, shower was excellent. Never sure what you're going to get when you book an independent B&B but cannot fault South Rising and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

Reviewed by
Terry A

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
South Rising Guest House, is more a home from home place. Lovely couple with a can do anything for you attitude. Bedroom comfy, dining room very nice with a talking point of Star Trek.. Lots of models around for the enthusiast. Breakfast very tasty. Very close to a large park with a lake. Walkable to Poole harbour and all entertainment. Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Kevin Oxley

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful owner. Ideal location for short stop.
Lovely walk through park to Poole Quay.

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap small noisy
no complaints about our welcome very polite man, however the room was tiny, so tiny that i could sit on the bed and brush my teeth over the sink and the mattress was worn out and very uncomfortable, i was so tired in the morning i did'nt bother with breakfast because i wanted to avoid complaining as i was tired and misserable, maybe the other rooms are ok but all i can say for sure is Room 2 should be a single room !

Reviewed by
Phill M

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice B&B
We stayed for a night and found the room to be clean and comfortable. The lady who booked us in was welcoming and pleasant. The B&B is about 10 minutes walk from the shops and 20 minutes from the Quay but right next to a lovely boating lake.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B on busy main road
This was a very pleasant B&B, slightly to the East of the town centre, and close to the park. It's on a main road, and the traffic can be very noisy so, if you want a quiet night, try to book one of the rear-facing rooms. Parking is also restricted, but is available on-site if you get there early enough. Breakfast isn't automatically included in the price – which, for me, was a great plus – but is available, if you want it, at a very reasonable £6.00.

Reviewed by
Phil Taylor

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay.
The hotel was very clean and welcoming. The owner did all he could to ensure you had all you needed. We arrive early and knowing it was too early to book in we asked if we could park and wlak into town. They were more than happy to allow us to do this. The room was clean and had everything we needed, adequate supplies of tea, coffee and milk. Water was hot and the shower worked well. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was plenty on the plate. We were again asked if we'd like to leave our car at the hotel when we went into town again in the morning. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Reviewed by
S Bennett

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and adequate
Room very clean and spacious and well decorated and host friendly. Traffic noises from road all through the night. Duvet and pillows could have been a better standard as duvet kept slipping every which way constantly. Top sheet might be advisable on bed to prevent this. Pillows uncomfortable - otherwise room was good

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that we did not live up to the expectations of this couple during their stay with us. With regards to the points that were made, the room that they occupied (Room-6) is advertised as being 'on ground floor at front of property facing a busy main road'. We do this to make aware to potential guests who want a quiet room that this room might not suit them thus giving them chance to reserve a rear facing room or to book an alternative accommodation provider with quieter room vacancies. As for the pillows, these were bought new for Easter. Pillows are a personal preference, some people like them soft, some hard. We always steer a middling course and supply medium density pillows in an attempt to cater for most people. Regarding the 'slipping' duvet, as experience of my wife's sleeping habits has shown over the years, restless sleepers tossing and turning throughout the night will dislodge any bed covers. We do readily appreciate guests comments and we do act upon them in order to improve our service so that our guests experience a positive and enjoyable stay with us.

Reviewed by
A Ryan

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
I only stayed for one night to attend a work christmas party locally, but found the owners to be friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and warm, everything I needed was there and there was lots of information for visitors about local attractions. The owner explained the directions to where I was going, I would definitely stay here again, nothing to fault it.

Reviewed by
Georgia A

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

flying visit
very welcoming,not overbearing,good at directions,excellant breakfast.

Reviewed by
richard blades

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next