No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Backpackers Newcastle

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
262 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne , Tyne and Wear, NE4 6AQ
24hr reception and parking with late check out available.

Situated within a five minute walk from Newcastle train station, National Express bus station, St James Park home of Newcastle United, the Oz Academy, and The Tyneside Metro Arena. Newcastle Backpackers is also within easy reach of the cities world famous bars, restaurants (see lonely planet) and shops. It sits on Newcastle Westgate Road, the historical Roman road which follows the route of Hadrian’s Wall. We are ideally placed for jumping off on the Hadrian’s Wall walk.

Newcastle Backpackers has a family boutique feel and is much smaller than the nearby rival hostel in Newcastle. With maximum 26 beds, we can still offer a choice of 10 and 8 bed rooms with a large chill-out room featuring plasma T.V., sofas, band hero, dartboard, playstation and games. Guest have use of a self catering kitchenette and dining table that seats 8. We also offer free wifi and a computer guests can use.

All of our facilities are brand new with individual bathrooms featuring large cubicles and powers showers. We offer breakfast in the form of serial, porage, toast and eggs with tea and coffee.

Adjacent car spaces are available and there is ample storage for bicycles. We have plenty of personal lockers for guests to use during there stay. We also have a large storage room and a safe for guest to put personal belongings in the reception area to store after checkout, please ask for details. On arrival we have maps and tourist guides.

Picture of Backpackers Newcastle , Tyne and Wear at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stag do
We stayed one night her ,very friendly ,great atmosphere, very clean rooms,fresh bedding , helpful staff

Reviewed by
andrew a

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience!!
Owners are very friendly. very clean. Highly recomended!!!

Reviewed by
C Armour

From Dromore, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for nights out
We were a group of 8, 5 girls and 3 guys! Went up to newcastle for a messy weekend away. Backpackers was great, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, beds were comfy and it's really close to town. Very impressed and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Andrea M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good work
The room had a strong musk smell to it, but I quickly became accustomed to it. Otherwise, great accomodation

Reviewed by
Mark M

From USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a pleasant experience
It was certainly cheap but it wasn't cheerful. When I arrived I couldn't get into the building which was locked, no one answered the bell outside or the phone. There were 3 suspicious looking men standing outside who made me feel very uncomfortable. After waiting half an hour someone eventually answered to the door, he spoke very little English, had no record of my booking, and I started to feel like I was in a scene from the horror film Hostel. The room was reasonable, although there were no ladders to get to the top bunk beds. The two working showers were filthy, full of hair and dirt. In the kitchen someone's cold kebab from the night before was still on the counter top and the sink was full of washing up. In short, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Sorry, I'm only being honest.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant surprise
upon arriving i was made to feel very welcome. i was offered a refreshing drink and shown room. i then joined a few others in the chilling room and again felt easy amd welcomed and joined in the activities of the night. as it says its a chilling room with internet access, playstation and music in background. very good value for money and will happily return again in future.

Reviewed by
c jennings

From Caerffili, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent !
Great hostel, management was great and very helpful with information! it was one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in! You have access to tea, coffee and toast free of charge when ever you like! Over-all excellent value for money!

Reviewed by
L Hatton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation quite satisfactory for my needs

Reviewed by
C Jennett

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ill be there again and again ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect ect
was very happy

Reviewed by
Mario Dilorenzo

From England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good only if you have absolutely no other choice!
PROS: Location-wise, reasonably close to the city centre by foot, good bus links, 15 min walk from closest Metro station (St. James'); the main door had a security code lock; the room had heating; the bed was in good condition, clean linen and comfortable; there were separate toilet/shower rooms for ladies and gents; there was a kitchen with cereal and fresh milk, tea, coffee, etc; "Chester" the dog. CONS: Again, location-wise, terrible, especially if you are arriving late, quite scary, didn't feel safe; all sorts of drunk/noisy men/women coming into the room at all times during the night, making it impossible to rest and most importantly, making it impossible to feel safe. A big NO-NO if you are traveling for business or if you are a woman traveling alone. Extremely dirty toilets and showers, mainly due to the kind of guest. Again, nearly impossibly to have a clean up in the morning. Every night, different people coming in and out of the room at night, some laughing, some stumbling in the dark and unable to climb the bunk bed. Needless to say, I felt unsafe to leave my suitcase there during the day so had to carry it with me every day of my staying in Newcastle. Imagine yourself finding your way around in an unknown city, pulling a trolley for long distances in the streets covered of snow, not a pretty sight... In summary, not recommended.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for stating how close the Hostel is to Newcastle's amenities and entertainment facilities. I am pondering why you did not take advantage of our security service to have your valuables or suitcase put into the locked safe room whilst you where out exploring. However, our Hostel is exactly as we advertise in that we have shared dorms with bunks, which is why our prices are considerably lower than a private room one would expect at a Hotel. Yes Hostels and Hotels do offer different services. As you stated we do have a security code access on entry, as we do not restrict our guests ability to come and go.Also if they wish to get up and go to the toilet guests are free to do so, and in fact if we tried to place a curfew on such things I think we would be braking the law. My advice for anyone who knew that they would be sharing a dorm and is a light sleeper would be to bring a set of ear plugs. At £10.00 a night our guest are usually over the moon to find they have free internet access and access to a computer, a large screen TV in the lounge and use of a kitchen so they can avoid having to use expensive takeaways or restaurants. Even though we have the planets cheapest pizza shop 2 mins away at £2 for any 10" pizza! The type of guest we normally cater for are friendly and sociable, so yes I agree with you that if one has a temperament for isolation a shared dorm is probably not for you. In fact most of our traveling guests book because they wish to have company and someone to talk to and see this as a bonus. Again I have to thank you for stating that our bathrooms and 6 separate shower rooms are clean until used by other guests, which is a course of human nature. Our 24hr staff respond immediately to any request by guest "when asked". And if we haven't got an immediate solution we'll find one unlike many more expensive establishments. Because we care !

Reviewed by
C Herrera

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next