No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Upcott House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Upcott House, Upcott Hill, , Okehampton, EX20 1SQ
Welcome to Upcott House, a beautiful Edwardian building, originally built in 1870 as a gentleman’s private house. Situated in its own spacious grounds, the house looks out across Okement Valley to Dartmoor. All the rooms in this beautiful period house are tastefully decorated to a very high standard. Upcott House provides a tranquil and friendly atmosphere for the whole family to enjoy. We are ideally placed for cyclists, being on the Tarka trail, Route 27 (Ilfracombe to Plymouth), plus many other marvelous local routes around Dartmoor. We even provide washing machines and tumble driers for the less pleasant cycling or walking days. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes drive of Exeter, with its shops, bars and restaurants. Exeter airport with its routes to Canada and Europe is only 20 minutes away. The Eden Project is 40 minutes, Bude 35 minutes and the historic charm of Plymouth is only an hour away. Or if you just fancy a trip to the local pub, it is a ten minute walk to Okehampton centre. There is a guest lounge with digital TV, secure storage for cycles and ample free parking. Set in the heart of Devon, Upcott house offers the perfect location for that relaxing holiday stay. We can accept dogs but at an additional charge of £5 per night.
Picture of Upcott House, Okehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

upcot hs
This place is literally old school!- qaint, bags of charm and and interesting layout. The rooms are comfortable and unique and msny have stunning views.The cooked breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
robert h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely views
Lovely views but up a steep hill.

Reviewed by
Elaine Hamilton

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
I travel a lot and usually look to stay in small B&B locations. Upcott house is an old former school that is being renovated by its owners. The care and attention to the customer was excellent, the rooms basic but clean with coffee and tea in the rooms, and TV, free WiFi available, and the english breakfast to die for! The building is being renovated and so there was painting and decorating going on whilst I was there, but the location was excellent, as was the owners attention to customers needs. Nice views towards Dartmoor.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the breakfast and our rather special location overlooking Dartmoor. With an Edwardian period property of this size inevitably there will be ongoing maintenance, but we try not to interfere with our customers stay with us.

Reviewed by
martin F

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
I enjoyed a pleasant two-night stay here on a work trip. Very nice accommodation, welcoming hosts and nice setting. Also incredibly good value.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here durung our visit to the Polar Express.
Very friendly hoteliers. Made us feel very welcome.
Beautiful old house.
Our room was very large; 3x single beds and a double yet still plenty of room.
Breakfast was very nice traditional English.
We would recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
G Moncur

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bed and beakfast with plenty of character
I was a bit shocked when i enterered the lobby area as it seemed a bit dingy and the decor dated. However there is a bit iof history about the buiding and therefore the decor was in keeping with character of the building and you get used to it and i found it quite an interesting place.
I prefer a shower to a bath and there was only a bath in the en suite.
The couple running the bed and breakast were friendly chatty and helpful.
If you like an 'old style' of accomodation this place is for you. The cost was a little steep
But i did book during bank holiday weekend,

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that you found our Edwardian property to be interesting. You are correct in saying that we are a comfortable ‘old style’ B&B and not some modern boutique hotel. The decor is in keeping with the arts and crafts period and they favoured darker colours and lots of mahogany furniture. Your bathroom had a bath with shower attachment and we are modernizing this over the winter to provide a power shower with the bath. Many customers (especially walkers and cyclists) like a bath and this will remain. The cost of the room at £100 for B&B a family of four that included a 7 and a 17 year old is fair and reasonable considering that most accommodation would charge at an adult rate for your 17 year old. Our prices remain constant throughout the year and do not increase at bank holiday periods. If you come again try our much larger family room with the four poster at £115.

Reviewed by
R Young

From Warminster, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

aug 2013
Disappointing experience. Hotel room very dusty, whole hotel very dirty. strong smell of fried food throughout the day. very poor breakfast. Nice Friendly dog and reasonable customer service. Cannot recommend and will not stay again.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our house as a bed and breakfast guest but pleased that you found the dog friendly and the level of our service acceptable. Our guest rooms and the house itself are cleaned thoroughly every day to a high standard so we are somewhat surprised at your remarks. The kitchen is well extracted and the house well aired so again we are surprised at your comments. You are entitled to your opinion on the breakfast but you are in a serious minority of one of the last 12 years who have complained that our breakfast is poor. Given your remarks about our house which we find actually quite offensive, we would suggest that next time you try staying in a hotel as you would certainly not be welcome back here again.

Reviewed by
D Jenkins

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upcott House - a lovely family B&B
Upcott House provides visitors with the opportunity to be a guest in a family home whilst at the same time experiencing the professional care and attention one would expect of a Bed and Breakfast establishment.
My dietary requirements were handled very well and the view from my room over the valley was delightful.
There are also unexpected touches to a visit to Upcott House - one can recharge electric cars and the location is quiet and peaceful, despite being on the edge of a town! Meals at the local hostelries, a short walk down the hill into Okehampton, are good value.
All in all Upcott House does what it advertises it does, with a warmth and grace which was much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Dorothy G

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place abd Lovely People
My stay here was short, just overnight whilst away on a business trip.
This b and b is lovely and beautifully situated, would have been lovely for a longer stay as it wa so peaceful. I have taken 1 mark off from the food as I only actually had a grapefruit for breakfast but it was very nice all the same.

Reviewed by
C Walker

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upcott House Oakhampton
Upcott House is the first B&B I have ever been to where breakfast was offered in your room. However I had breakfast in the dinning room as I was traveling alone and it was lovely to have a chat with the owners each morning.
The Full English Breakfast was excellent especially as the bacon and sausage was 'home grown'.
My room was appropriately valeted and fresh towels, soaps etc freely available.
I was booked in for several days and there was no restriction on my comings and goings and early breakfast on my departure day was also no problem.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
S Bingham

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.