You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House


High street, ,, Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jeannette K

  • September 2016

Atmospheric and comfortable

Attentive hosts, comfy bed, excellent breakfast.

  • M Smith

  • September 2016

Great Little place

Great little place, very friendly owners who are always willing to help.

the rooms are as to be expected in a building of this age.

  • Brigitte J

  • August 2016

A quaint House from the 18th Century

I,f you like living in the 18th Century you would like it.

Good service, good food, water pressure in small shower too low, pleasant garden at the rear for snacks etc`

  • Anna L

  • June 2016

lovely room, good location

Very pleasant stay - room was lovely in a building full of character.

Great location for beaches.

The only issue was the sink - whenever next door's room used their sink the plughole gargled noisily into my room's sink, waking me up. I guess that's old buildings for you but it does somewhat ruin the peace and quiet.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed your stay,sorry about the noisy sink we will look into that.

  • R Ambrose

  • May 2016

Southern Cross Guest House

Old listed building, pleasant proprietor pretty garden furnishings quite dated.

Needs a woman's touch.

  • peter calcutt

  • February 2016

Just passing

Only stayed for one night, en route from the west country back to the midlands.

Room was comfortable and the proprietor very welcoming. Everything was as it said on the booking form so no shocks there. Breakfast was very good and I would certainly recommend this guest house to others.

  • Clare H

  • September 2015


Solo traveller for the first time.

I was made very welcome. Beautiful property and room was spot on very clean and tidy. Breakfast was comprehensive and cream tea was the best I've experienced. Thank you and I will stay again

  • Janet Dijkhuizen

  • August 2015

Lovely old place

Lovely old place friendly owners

  • R Lancaster

  • July 2015

Southern Cross Southern Comfort

Wonderful welcome at this quaint thatched guest house and tea rooms.

Lovely comfortable room. Breakfast was superb and the service brilliant.

  • David Lott

  • July 2015


All was fine apart from shared bathroom, however that is understandable due to lack of space.