Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House


High street, ,, Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (42)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Clare H

  • September 2015


Solo traveller for the first time.

I was made very welcome. Beautiful property and room was spot on very clean and tidy. Breakfast was comprehensive and cream tea was the best I've experienced. Thank you and I will stay again

  • Janet Dijkhuizen

  • August 2015

Lovely old place

Lovely old place friendly owners

  • R Lancaster

  • July 2015

Southern Cross Southern Comfort

Wonderful welcome at this quaint thatched guest house and tea rooms.

Lovely comfortable room. Breakfast was superb and the service brilliant.

  • David Lott

  • July 2015


All was fine apart from shared bathroom, however that is understandable due to lack of space.

  • S Howard

  • June 2015

Excellent value

Traditional B & B with relaxed hosts.

Breakfast in the garden, all freshly cooked, was a highlight.


  • April 2015

One of the best of old timers... One of the BEST !!!

If you want an excellent old time accommodation in a very old house this must be the choice !!!

  • Leslie C

  • March 2015

Interesting and cosy...

Beautiful 18th century guest house with all original features, absolutely charming.

Customer service was excellent - very friendly. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk and lovely biscuits in the room. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Can't fault anything........except that I missed having a cream tea!. Great value for money......won't hesitate to recommend.

  • R Privett

  • March 2015

Rustic Room

The welcome we received on arrival could have been a bit more friendly.

The room was dated and some of our clothes were damp when we moved out. the room facilities were sparse and the shower room could do with some heating.

  • V Dunne

  • February 2015

February visit

I received a warm welcome.

The Guest House was a very interesting listed building and the room was comfortable and warm. There was off road free parking. Breakfast was substantial and of good quality.

  • richard frost

  • December 2014

Southern Cross Guest House

great place