No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
High street, , , Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU
The Southern Cross Guest House & Tea Rooms in Newton Poppleford, nr Sidmouth, offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation in its historic 14th century thatched cottage. Situated just a few miles from Sidmouth with its glorious World Heritage Coast Status, the Southern Cross Guest House is ideally located to allow you to enjoy all that this historic town and the surrounding area has to offer. There are five cottage style bedrooms full of character to choose from at our bed and breakfast accommodation near Sidmouth. All our bedrooms have colour TV, well stocked complimentary beverage refreshment tray,and hair dryer, ironing facilities are available. A substantial breakfast is served in our traditional tea room and of course includes a traditional full English breakfast. Step back in time as you enter the enchanting, walled, country garden, where you may dine at your leisure from bone china tableware, among tall scented flowers, with a backcloth of stately poplar, eucalyptus, maple and spruce.
Picture of Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Great value and a beautiful location, lovely garden and a good breakfast

Reviewed by
G Davies

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful garden
I had a really comfortable stay and great value for money. It's very handy for Sidmouth and the owners were very helpful and accommodating. The house is a quirky, beamed and thatched, but a little bit tired. However, the amazing garden more than makes up for it. Definitely worth a stop for tea in the garden.

Reviewed by
Helen J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford
A really lovely old converted cottage. Low ceilings, narrow stairs and passageways all decorated cleanly and with secondary glazing so road noise (through the village) not noticeable.
They have the most beautiful grounds where there are plenty of tables and chairs set out as they serve the most wonderful cream teas.
Breakfast was fantastic, variety of cereals, full English breakfast and then toast with home made marmalade. Staff polite and friendly - couldn't have had a better stay.
I have already booked a second visit and will be going back again

Reviewed by
Jenni Kumar

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
The Southern Cross Guesthouse has a beautiful garden......... and that is about all. I booked my room here based on the good reviews. On arriving I was shown to my room by a gentleman, given my keys and some very basic information and then he left. No friendliness, asking about my journey or just general conversation. The room was so basic and small. A prison cell comes to mind. No niceties just very old fashioned sink, table and small chest of drawers with open shelving on wall. The bedspread was the colour of mud and the single bed was hard and unwelcoming. The bathroom was again old and the plumbing decrepit. The toilet had lino on the floor and was equally uninspiring. Above all was the smell. A cloying smell that was unpleasant and strong even with the windows open on a hot summer day. I made myself a cup of tea from the hospitality tray. This was awful too and tasted foul. I then took my small case, left the keys in the door and went downstairs. There was no one around. The dining room also is unwelcoming with no homely touches. There is no reception. I decided that there was no way I could sleep in that room and so I left. The only good thing that I can say about this place was that it was clean.

Reviewed by
J Young

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place,good location.
I choose this guest house for value and location. It certainly suited my purpose as I was down on business and all the areas I had to visit were within minimal driving distance. I only stated one night so I didn't really have a chance to enjoy all on offer. The guest house is very character and from what I saw has some nice touches.
I only briefly met the staff, but all seemed friendly. The breakfast was good and plenty full. I would stay here again as it makes a very good base for touring/exploring the area.

Reviewed by
steve johnson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but very comfortable
A thatched cottage with uneven walls and a lovely garden view. Very welcoming owners and extremely quiet. Ideal for a refreshing and relaxing evening.

Reviewed by
B Flynn

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills but great value for money
We wanted a base to explore east Devon and this proved ideal. Very friendly hosts. Excellent breakfasts. Room functional and comfortable. Off site parking. Lovely pub within walking distance offering good range of food. No wifi in rooms but not a problem for us (probably a bonus!).

Reviewed by
Antony Webb

From Somerton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Owners very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable, really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
L Harbison

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in this quaint B&B - very friendly and welcoming owners

Reviewed by
Louise P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
What a charming pretty place to stay, the room was warm and comfortable with a small on suite, the room looked a little tired but it did add to the charm, breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and the marmalade was lovely

Reviewed by
J Drapier

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next