No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
High street, , , Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU
The Southern Cross Guest House & Tea Rooms in Newton Poppleford, nr Sidmouth, offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation in its historic 14th century thatched cottage. Situated just a few miles from Sidmouth with its glorious World Heritage Coast Status, the Southern Cross Guest House is ideally located to allow you to enjoy all that this historic town and the surrounding area has to offer. There are five cottage style bedrooms full of character to choose from at our bed and breakfast accommodation near Sidmouth. All our bedrooms have colour TV, well stocked complimentary beverage refreshment tray,and hair dryer, ironing facilities are available. A substantial breakfast is served in our traditional tea room and of course includes a traditional full English breakfast. Step back in time as you enter the enchanting, walled, country garden, where you may dine at your leisure from bone china tableware, among tall scented flowers, with a backcloth of stately poplar, eucalyptus, maple and spruce.
Picture of Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southern Cross Guest House
great place

Reviewed by
richard frost

From whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent vs
Perfect stay for couples or alone. Lovely place to head back to after a busy day. Staff very friendly and welcoming, stayed here a couple of times and every time as been brilliant, would highly recommended. Brilliant value for money.

Reviewed by
J Preece

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
we had a lovely stay the bed is lovely and soft and the room very clean with everything you need, breakfast was very tasty, this is the 2nd time my family have used this place and we will definetly be back.

Reviewed by
A MACK

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and Comfortable
Having read some good and bad reviews on the B&B decided to give it a go. Yes there was a musty smell when entering, the stairs and passageways were quite dark and there wasn't a straight wall (or floor) in the place. However I found it clean and comfortable, plenty of parking, the owner pleasant and several places to eat within easy walking distance. It is not a Hilton or Premier Inn but it does have character and is a fraction of the price

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy stay good food made to feel welcome

Reviewed by
w wills

From swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant b&b
was very clean and tidy , loved the slopping floors and the original features of a typical 300 yr old cottage , also impressed with flexability of checking out , & the freedom to come and go as you please

Reviewed by
davina s

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place
was very nice and peacefully and quirky

Reviewed by
davina s

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Value & Quality Breakfast
Excellent value & handy location on several bus routes including late bus from Sidmouth. Great base for a walking trip.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an excellent weekend break at Southern Cross, would recommend to everyone.

Reviewed by
HAZEL G

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night's stay at southern cross
Whilst the outside of the building looked quaint with its thatched roof, on entering the building there was an unpleasant smell and the lounge area looked dark, dingy and most unwelcoming. The bedroom was dark and bed linen did not appear clean as stain marks were visible. The ensuite arrangement was a little odd. A lot more attention to detail is definitely required. Compared to B&B places we have stayed before, this was definitely below standard and therefore expensive by comparison. We were so glad we were booked in for just the one night.

Reviewed by
A Witcombe

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next