No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
High street, , , Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU
The Southern Cross Guest House & Tea Rooms in Newton Poppleford, nr Sidmouth, offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation in its historic 14th century thatched cottage. Situated just a few miles from Sidmouth with its glorious World Heritage Coast Status, the Southern Cross Guest House is ideally located to allow you to enjoy all that this historic town and the surrounding area has to offer. There are five cottage style bedrooms full of character to choose from at our bed and breakfast accommodation near Sidmouth. All our bedrooms have colour TV, well stocked complimentary beverage refreshment tray,and hair dryer, ironing facilities are available. A substantial breakfast is served in our traditional tea room and of course includes a traditional full English breakfast. Step back in time as you enter the enchanting, walled, country garden, where you may dine at your leisure from bone china tableware, among tall scented flowers, with a backcloth of stately poplar, eucalyptus, maple and spruce.
Picture of Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable break
excellent hosts-very informative of local events-excellent cream tea-very generous portions. beautiful garden lovely place to relax in.

Reviewed by
j smaga

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A GOOD CHOICE
We stayed for one night at this pretty, and well run B&B The breakfast was good and the beds comfortable. It was the right choice for us.

Reviewed by
john gronow

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation,friendly staff,food was great,would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
a speller

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value in a beautiful location
I had reservations about whether everything would live up to the pictures and information on the website. Wow - I needn't have worried. It's the most charming thatched cottage/tea room in a lovely village and only a short distance to the sea. The hosts were welcoming and charming and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Cannot fault it and would definitely stay there again..

Reviewed by
Jackie Pearce

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avgreat b& b in beautiful countryside.
A lovely old cottage right by a main road but remarkably peaceful in the garden behind and in the rooms at the back. Owners and their children really friendly and excellent breakfasts. Good walks in the countryside around the village. I would happily visit again

Reviewed by
Sheina S

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southhern cross
I would like to say what a lovely place to stay the owners were really friendly and helpful good value for money good location.

Reviewed by
G Burns

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1 guesthouse
Lovely village guesthouse very comfortable rooms

Reviewed by
w woodford

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place for Overnight or as a Holiday Base
Fantastic people, place, food, great location as a base or just out of Exeter overnight.

Reviewed by
F Bailey

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful hotel run by brothers
The service was extremely friendly. The breakfast could not be faulted. The hotel is an old converted double cottage with uneven floors. The only down points were the wash basin in the bedroom rather than separate and a shower hose fixed in the ceiling. This made it dificult to regulate the temperature without getting frozen or scalded.

Reviewed by
Ian R L

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely little place
The owners were very welcoming in this lovely old quaint cottage. We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Lisa F

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next