Southern Cross Guest House

3

High street, ,, Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Osbourne

  • February 2014

exactly what I wanted

This is a quiet, clean and friendly guest house , everything I needed was at hand, and breakfast was great.

I would happily stay here again

  • Joseph S

  • January 2014

Comfortably British.

My stay was very pleasant and fantastic value.

I slept soundly and breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. The building was classically British and cozy. I'd definitely visit again!

  • M Vockins

  • December 2013

Warm friendly welcome.

Room comfortable and warm (good on a cold winter's day arrival), beds seemed especially comfortable. Felt it was a good, comfortable, relaxed place to stay. Only meal we took there was breakfasts, which were very good and just what we needed. Only minor niggle was fact that wash-hand basin was in the room rather than in the en-suite loo, but everything else was as good as one might expect in an old house full of character. We liked it!.

  • Craig B

  • November 2013

First stay at Southern Cross as I am working in Exeter but needed a short stay as I was only there 3 days.

I was upgraded on arrival at no extra cost which was a pleasant surprise and obviously welcome. I found the owners welcoming pleasant as well as providing good customer service. I needed an earlier breakfast than normal due to getting into work and this was accommodated for without hesitation. Good breakfast, good service and a very clean room which by the way was warm and cosy. Would definitely recommend the accommodation and will have hesitation staying there again as needs may require.

  • Sanjeev S

  • October 2013

Value for money.

No phone reception inside the rooms and no wifi either.

  • luise ryan

  • October 2013

It was fine

Pretty tea room with rooms over.

Plenty of parking but I was off season and I can see it would fill up in the summer with the lovely gardens. Room was ok would have like a little more space and the flat screen TV is more like a monitor but it does. I had a shared bathroom which was actually a shower room which was disapointing and contributory to the slightly lower mark. Would have been nice to have a relaxing bath. Breakfast choices were unimaginative but ok. Would have also liked a communual space to chill in the evening if I hadn't had so much paperwork. I was offered and used the tea room space to do this which was appreciated. The description did say the room was above the tea room but I didn't expect to be woken up by the early morning quests discussion about their plans which I could hear very clearly and the bed sloped a little but quilt better than in some places. I have used the words ok and fine and think this sums up my thinking it wasn't somewhere to rave about but it did what I needed when I needed it at a reasonable price.

  • Tara P

  • October 2013

Special

This accomodation was great.

It had everything we needed. Cosy feel, warm, yummy breakfast, friendly staff, clean and quiet.

  • L Swartz

  • September 2013

Servicable

Exceptable, met my needs

  • Spence M

  • September 2013

Fantastic Southern Cross

Great place to stay.

The building is fascinating. The room was comfortable and quaint. The breakfast was a choice of everything with home made marmalade and fruit for cereals. Cooked breakfast if you manage it. Excellent for everything.

  • S Lynch

  • September 2013

Nice old style property, good shower, good food a little disappointed that no wifi available