No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
High street, , , Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU
The Southern Cross Guest House & Tea Rooms in Newton Poppleford, nr Sidmouth, offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation in its historic 14th century thatched cottage. Situated just a few miles from Sidmouth with its glorious World Heritage Coast Status, the Southern Cross Guest House is ideally located to allow you to enjoy all that this historic town and the surrounding area has to offer. There are five cottage style bedrooms full of character to choose from at our bed and breakfast accommodation near Sidmouth. All our bedrooms have colour TV, well stocked complimentary beverage refreshment tray,and hair dryer, ironing facilities are available. A substantial breakfast is served in our traditional tea room and of course includes a traditional full English breakfast. Step back in time as you enter the enchanting, walled, country garden, where you may dine at your leisure from bone china tableware, among tall scented flowers, with a backcloth of stately poplar, eucalyptus, maple and spruce.
Picture of Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was fine
Pretty tea room with rooms over. Plenty of parking but I was off season and I can see it would fill up in the summer with the lovely gardens. Room was ok would have like a little more space and the flat screen TV is more like a monitor but it does. I had a shared bathroom which was actually a shower room which was disapointing and contributory to the slightly lower mark. Would have been nice to have a relaxing bath. Breakfast choices were unimaginative but ok. Would have also liked a communual space to chill in the evening if I hadn't had so much paperwork. I was offered and used the tea room space to do this which was appreciated. The description did say the room was above the tea room but I didn't expect to be woken up by the early morning quests discussion about their plans which I could hear very clearly and the bed sloped a little but quilt better than in some places. I have used the words ok and fine and think this sums up my thinking it wasn't somewhere to rave about but it did what I needed when I needed it at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
luise ryan

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special
This accomodation was great. It had everything we needed. Cosy feel, warm, yummy breakfast, friendly staff, clean and quiet.

Reviewed by
Tara P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Servicable
Exceptable, met my needs

Reviewed by
L Swartz

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Southern Cross
Great place to stay. The building is fascinating. The room was comfortable and quaint. The breakfast was a choice of everything with home made marmalade and fruit for cereals. Cooked breakfast if you manage it! Excellent for everything.

Reviewed by
Spence M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old style property, good shower, good food a little disappointed that no wifi available

Reviewed by
S Lynch

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
B&B was very nice. Traditional and in keeping with the area. Lovely breakfast and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
C Jackson

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Day Vacation. August 2013.
Thoroughly enjoyable! Andy & Tim the proprietors were welcoming and friendly. Traditional breakfast, orange juice,cereal, fried breakfast, toast & marmalade. First class B&B. Excellent value for money. Bedroom accommodation fine. Shared toilet & bathroom, no problem whatsoever. Other guests friendly. Would stay their again if I have another holiday in the Exmouth and Sidmouth area.

Reviewed by
G Akers

From Norton Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You won't get CROSS staying here!
This was a very good experience of budget B&B
Although no en suit, there was a wash basin in my single room and the toilet was next door. Shower room, one door on. The TV worked tea and coffee were provided in the room together with complimentary biscuits. The room was clean and fresh clean towels provided daily.
The breakfasts were excellent. The best bacon I have had in ages! All served with a friendly smile by the owners. All in all, I reckon it was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
David Brown

From Merriott, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable break
excellent hosts-very informative of local events-excellent cream tea-very generous portions. beautiful garden lovely place to relax in.

Reviewed by
j smaga

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget stay

Reviewed by
andrew c

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next