Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House


High street, ,, Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU

Price From 133.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jenni Kumar

  • July 2014

Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford

A really lovely old converted cottage.

Low ceilings, narrow stairs and passageways all decorated cleanly and with secondary glazing so road noise (through the village) not noticeable. They have the most beautiful grounds where there are plenty of tables and chairs set out as they serve the most wonderful cream teas. Breakfast was fantastic, variety of cereals, full English breakfast and then toast with home made marmalade. Staff polite and friendly - couldn't have had a better stay. I have already booked a second visit and will be going back again

  • Helen J

  • July 2014

Wonderful garden

I had a really comfortable stay and great value for money.

It's very handy for Sidmouth and the owners were very helpful and accommodating. The house is a quirky, beamed and thatched, but a little bit tired. However, the amazing garden more than makes up for it. Definitely worth a stop for tea in the garden.

  • J Young

  • July 2014


The Southern Cross Guesthouse has a beautiful garden.........

and that is about all. I booked my room here based on the good reviews. On arriving I was shown to my room by a gentleman, given my keys and some very basic information and then he left. No friendliness, asking about my journey or just general conversation. The room was so basic and small. A prison cell comes to mind. No niceties just very old fashioned sink, table and small chest of drawers with open shelving on wall. The bedspread was the colour of mud and the single bed was hard and unwelcoming. The bathroom was again old and the plumbing decrepit. The toilet had lino on the floor and was equally uninspiring. Above all was the smell. A cloying smell that was unpleasant and strong even with the windows open on a hot summer day. I made myself a cup of tea from the hospitality tray. This was awful too and tasted foul. I then took my small case, left the keys in the door and went downstairs. There was no one around. The dining room also is unwelcoming with no homely touches. There is no reception. I decided that there was no way I could sleep in that room and so I left. The only good thing that I can say about this place was that it was clean.

  • steve johnson

  • July 2014

Nice place,good location.

I choose this guest house for value and location.

It certainly suited my purpose as I was down on business and all the areas I had to visit were within minimal driving distance. I only stated one night so I didn't really have a chance to enjoy all on offer. The guest house is very character and from what I saw has some nice touches. I only briefly met the staff, but all seemed friendly. The breakfast was good and plenty full. I would stay here again as it makes a very good base for touring/exploring the area.

  • B Flynn

  • July 2014

Basic but very comfortable

A thatched cottage with uneven walls and a lovely garden view.

Very welcoming owners and extremely quiet. Ideal for a refreshing and relaxing evening.

  • Antony Webb

  • June 2014

No frills but great value for money

We wanted a base to explore east Devon and this proved ideal.

Very friendly hosts. Excellent breakfasts. Room functional and comfortable. Off site parking. Lovely pub within walking distance offering good range of food. No wifi in rooms but not a problem for us (probably a bonus!).

  • L Harbison

  • June 2014

Good Stay

Owners very friendly and helpful.

The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable, really enjoyed my stay.

  • Louise P

  • June 2014

Lovely stay in this quaint B&B - very friendly and welcoming owners

  • nick c

  • May 2014

Southern stay

A cross between hotel and pub and B&B with a few changes it could be used as a film set for the Second World War.

My room was small and basic clean but with a hint of tiredness the flush on the toilet was very loud and in a separate room which was known. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The car park is a very tight turn off the main road I didn't get chance to use the gardens but they looked nice

  • J Drapier

  • May 2014

Great little place

What a charming pretty place to stay, the room was warm and comfortable with a small on suite, the room looked a little tired but it did add to the charm, breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and the marmalade was lovely