No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southern Cross Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
High street, , , Newton Poppleford, EX10 0DU
The Southern Cross Guest House & Tea Rooms in Newton Poppleford, nr Sidmouth, offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation in its historic 14th century thatched cottage. Situated just a few miles from Sidmouth with its glorious World Heritage Coast Status, the Southern Cross Guest House is ideally located to allow you to enjoy all that this historic town and the surrounding area has to offer. There are five cottage style bedrooms full of character to choose from at our bed and breakfast accommodation near Sidmouth. All our bedrooms have colour TV, well stocked complimentary beverage refreshment tray,and hair dryer, ironing facilities are available. A substantial breakfast is served in our traditional tea room and of course includes a traditional full English breakfast. Step back in time as you enter the enchanting, walled, country garden, where you may dine at your leisure from bone china tableware, among tall scented flowers, with a backcloth of stately poplar, eucalyptus, maple and spruce.
Picture of Southern Cross Guest House, Newton Poppleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southern stay
A cross between hotel and pub and B&B with a few changes it could be used as a film set for the Second World War. My room was small and basic clean but with a hint of tiredness the flush on the toilet was very loud and in a separate room which was known. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The car park is a very tight turn off the main road I didn't get chance to use the gardens but they looked nice

Reviewed by
nick c

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

southern cross guesthouse
the bed was comfy, and room clean, and the breakfast was excellent. the only thing that we didn't like was that the shower room had no basin. it was in the room instead!

Reviewed by
jane s

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
I stayed for a couple of nights at the Southern Cross over Easter and although I didn't actually spend much time there, when I did I was very well treated. The owner was extremely polite, considerate and helpful.The food was good, the single room was perfect and the whole stay was very good. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting a quiet stay in Devon.

Reviewed by
M Hetherington

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely time, room old and cosy, what you would expect from a thatched cottage. Had plenty of tea and coffee in room owner very hospitable. Nothing to dislike.

Reviewed by
carolyn b

From Watchet, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed and an ejoyable exprience
Nice and quiet, room was very nice and a joy to experience the night in this very old (18th century) establishment, Staff were very nice....would stay here again.......regards Alan & Barb

Reviewed by
Alan Heighway

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely Grade 2 listed building, friendly owners. We had the small double with shared facilities at a good price. A building full of character, rotten weather but a good venue. Cheapo sausage in the cooked breakfast but can't complain for the price.

Reviewed by
Tim A

From Edenbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exactly what I wanted
This is a quiet, clean and friendly guest house , everything I needed was at hand, and breakfast was great. I would happily stay here again

Reviewed by
L Osbourne

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortably British.
My stay was very pleasant and fantastic value. I slept soundly and breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. The building was classically British and cozy. I'd definitely visit again!

Reviewed by
Joseph S

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly welcome. Room comfortable and warm (good on a cold winter's day arrival), beds seemed especially comfortable. Felt it was a good, comfortable, relaxed place to stay. Only meal we took there was breakfasts, which were very good and just what we needed.
Only minor niggle was fact that wash-hand basin was in the room rather than in the en-suite loo, but everything else was as good as one might expect in an old house full of character. We liked it!.

Reviewed by
M Vockins

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay at Southern Cross as I am working in Exeter but needed a short stay as I was only there 3 days. I was upgraded on arrival at no extra cost which was a pleasant surprise and obviously welcome. I found the owners welcoming pleasant as well as providing good customer service. I needed an earlier breakfast than normal due to getting into work and this was accommodated for without hesitation. Good breakfast, good service and a very clean room which by the way was warm and cosy. Would definitely recommend the accommodation and will have hesitation staying there again as needs may require.

Reviewed by
Craig B

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next