No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cookshayes Country Guest House

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Court Street, Moretonhampstead, , Newton Abbot, TQ13 8LG
Set on the edge of the old moorland town of Moretonhampstead - Cookshayes Country Guest House offers all that is best in elegant tradition. This large mid-Victorian house stands in well tended gardens with views of the surrounding moors and countryside of the Dartmoor National Park. The gardens are there for our guests to enjoy and in which to relax. Being in the National Park it is ideally located for access to Dartmoor and the whole of the South West. We are approved by the AA (Three Diamonds) and by the Dartmoor Tourist Association, but mainly by our guests as can be seen by their comments in our Visitor's Book. We meet all fire and all hygiene regulations. As owners of this delightful 19th century granite house, Tracy welcomes our guests in the manner I expect to recieve on my travels - the moral being "This is our lovely home - come and stay with us" We sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to "Cookshayes", Dartmoor and Devon. A guest house in such a setting demands good food, comfort and friendly service - Cookshayes has all these. Our full English breakfast and all the dishes we serve in our charming dining room are prepared fresh daily in our kitchen. We have become well known in many countries for the high standard and generous portions. Evening and vegetarian meals are available on request. After a hard day relax in our homely lounge, select a book to read from our extensive library or just sit and enjoy the garden
Picture of Cookshayes Country Guest House, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value & good breakfast. Room was big & en-suit as extra. Lobby area untidy & dusty.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Comfortable stay in large room. Very good breakfast - full English at it's best!

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shirlockholmes
Friendly and accommodating and caring; ready to help with anything you need.

Reviewed by
Martin Holder

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly place
Barry was an amazing host, very friendly and went that extra mile, even our dog Indie got a sausage for breakfast. We got the ground floor room that was huge, but en-suit was a tad small for my little fella standing at 6ft5 lol. It said wifi available but the signal was rubbish and didn't work, mobile phones also dont work in the area.
If and when back in the area would defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, basic, homely.
Very good, comfortable beds; efficient showers; good breakfast.
The owner, Barry, was extremely helpful when LateRooms muddled up our booking, making sure that we could still stay. Many thanks!

Reviewed by
Sheila B

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good guest house in the country
a vey warm welcome from owner who was decorating the house and apologised fo this but moved us into a better room, geat views over Dartmoor, comfortable stay and the house is a lovely old styled country BB. breakfast was probably the best we have had in 30 years of staying in BB`s and would thoroughly recommend to couples who like individual houses , great service and on the edge of Dartmoor.great advise from the owner of where to eat in Mortonhampstead.

Reviewed by
peter hasnip

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A proper old fashioned B and B
Loved it - just as B and Bs used to be - even a bath; a rarity nowadays. Very friendly host and breakfast superb with good quality ingredients expertly cooked. Would definitely stay there again if visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it just for breakfast!
For the money, this represents excellent value for money, especially as we visited slap bang in the middle of the summer vacation season. Although the rooms are a bit dated and the facilities are minimal, you do get an en-suite, TV, tea & coffee making facilities... all the things you expect from a hotel but at low season prices.
The breakfast, however, was the best part of the day! At a time to suit you, cooked to perfection and nothing was too much trouble for our host.
If you're a couple looking for a retreat inside the Dartmoor boundary (walking or cycling holiday), it's the perfect place to rest your weary head and recharge the batteries!

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Romford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in atmospheric country house
Barry is a wonderful host, full of useful tips about walks and visiting areas, he made a delicious breakfast for us, served with elegance and quintessentially tone.
Room could have been dusted before but that is part of experience.
We highly recommend the place.

Reviewed by
Alda Terracciano

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

country Guest House
Not exactly country, fell short of description. Apparent male proprietor was on his own whereas the glowing account of the welcome expected from the lady of the house didn't happen.The garden needed serious attention. The décor of the house was a little drab but never mind, mine host couldn't be faulted for his welcome and manners.Payment was requested by cash or cheque rather than by card because the latter system had been knocked out by a recent rain storm. Breakfast was fine and we would go again on price grounds.







Reviewed by
Nic M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next