No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cookshayes Country Guest House

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
33 Court Street, Moretonhampstead, , Newton Abbot, TQ13 8LG
Set on the edge of the old moorland town of Moretonhampstead - Cookshayes Country Guest House offers all that is best in elegant tradition. This large mid-Victorian house stands in well tended gardens with views of the surrounding moors and countryside of the Dartmoor National Park. The gardens are there for our guests to enjoy and in which to relax. Being in the National Park it is ideally located for access to Dartmoor and the whole of the South West. We are approved by the AA (Three Diamonds) and by the Dartmoor Tourist Association, but mainly by our guests as can be seen by their comments in our Visitor's Book. We meet all fire and all hygiene regulations. As owners of this delightful 19th century granite house, Tracy welcomes our guests in the manner I expect to recieve on my travels - the moral being "This is our lovely home - come and stay with us" We sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to "Cookshayes", Dartmoor and Devon. A guest house in such a setting demands good food, comfort and friendly service - Cookshayes has all these. Our full English breakfast and all the dishes we serve in our charming dining room are prepared fresh daily in our kitchen. We have become well known in many countries for the high standard and generous portions. Evening and vegetarian meals are available on request. After a hard day relax in our homely lounge, select a book to read from our extensive library or just sit and enjoy the garden
Picture of Cookshayes Country Guest House, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just not good enough
This accommodation was very poor value for money, I have stayed in ten B & Bs in the last two years and have never seen anything like this Dirty uncared for property. The mattress was so old it had no body left in it and was stained, this was covered by a topper that was stained yellow the bed covers must have been at least twenty year old, my dusters are better quality. I hardly slept as I was itching and scratching all night. The breakfast wasn't to bad but we just felt sick and wanted to get out of there so didn't eat much. I have never begrudged the £60 I paid at any of the other properties but I certainly did with this one. I always thought the properties were vetted by Laterooms

Reviewed by
Susan S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and homey
A quiet location and wonderful views. Was upgraded from single to twin with en suite. Breakfast was set for when I wanted and welcome was friendly. Perfect position for all of M'hampstead. Lovely place and when I visit Moretonhampstead again I will be staying here.

Reviewed by
G Beard

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, but dated
The room looked like we had stepped back in time. The furniture was all rather dated and tired, which wouldn't have been much of a problem (I like historic furniture), but the four-poster bed looked like it was about to collapse as the posts were a long way off vertical, and the wardrobe was rather delicate. Everything could have been improved with a thorough dusting and a re-paint of the walls! The wall behind the bed had possibly been recently replastered, but it would have looked smarter if it had been painted over.
The breakfast was good. For once the cooked meal was a sensible size and everything was well cooked, but not dry. It might have been nice if there was some fruit available alongside the cereal and orange juice though.
Good location for walking on the moors and Moretonhampstead has a selection of pubs and restaurants for evening meals. We were recommended to visit The Union, which was very good.

Reviewed by
Leonie C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and quiet place, ideal for relaxing, friendly staff .

Reviewed by
michal k

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cookshayes Country Guest House
Had a great stay at Cookshayes. Room had plenty of space, good views and breakfast was really good. Owner was very friendly and helpful and made the stay a pleasure. A friendly place that would suit all types of traveller. Moretonhampstead is one of the bigger towns in the area and has a good number of shops, pubs, potteries etc to visit with a lot of other places within easy reach.

Reviewed by
J C

From Lytham St Annes, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation, service and food!
Great room - clean/tidy and with all of the essentials; great breakfast and a very warm, welcoming, chatty host (Barry - owner). Barry was also incredibly kind and not only charged my phone on countless occasions but also gave me a lift all the way to Exeter! Very kind. Would definitely go back

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice reception and breakfast. Rooms and house need a good hoover and clean - sorry

Reviewed by
P Rooney

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The owner, Barry, was very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Bell

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stop over for walking on the moors
We really enjoyed our stay at Cookshayes. We were met on arrival, given advice on local pubs, asked if we had everything we needed (we did). Friendly and comfortable, with a good breakfast (vegetarian/vegans catered for). Beautiful old building with great character and an ideal stopover for a weekend walking on the moors. Would thoroughly recommend (but it's not for those seeking plush or perfection).

Reviewed by
Angela B

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
At these prices you can't expect luxury and I have paid more to stay at campsites! It's quiet, functional and Barry will do everything he can to make sure your stay is comfortable and you are well fed. What more can you ask?

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next