Cookshayes Country Guest House

3

33 Court Street, Moretonhampstead,, Newton Abbot, TQ13 8LG

Price From 86.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anne V

  • July 2014

great!

Great room, Great food, Great service!

  • Victoria M

  • July 2014

Charming

A big old house filled with the quirks, warmth and charm you expect of this part of the world.

Comfortable rooms and a big breakfast. It was like staying with family.

  • elizabeth h

  • July 2014

great stop off

This was a great stop-off, an excellent place to explore a lovely area.

The room we had was excellent, very clean, tidy, better than a lot of hotels. The view was lovely & Barry upgraded us to a twin en suite for no extra charge. He was very professional, unobtrusive, and the breakfast was excellent - beautifully served. All in all, a discreet, comfortable, home, this is very much a home which accomodates guests. I can certainly recommend this as a Guest House, and would love to visit again & stay for longer.

  • Gloria E

  • July 2014

Good Value

The owner was welcoming and extremely helpful with advice on routes.

We were cycling and he was kind enough to volunteer his assistance with fixing minor bike problems.

  • K Mayo

  • June 2014

Great stay

Ideal place to stay at a village b & b.

set in an idyllic place. Friendly and informative owner, comfortable rooms and a great choice of breakfast.

  • daniela m

  • June 2014

good value for money

  • Susan S

  • June 2014

Just not good enough

This accommodation was very poor value for money, I have stayed in ten B & Bs in the last two years and have never seen anything like this Dirty uncared for property.

The mattress was so old it had no body left in it and was stained, this was covered by a topper that was stained yellow the bed covers must have been at least twenty year old, my dusters are better quality. I hardly slept as I was itching and scratching all night. The breakfast wasn't to bad but we just felt sick and wanted to get out of there so didn't eat much. I have never begrudged the £60 I paid at any of the other properties but I certainly did with this one. I always thought the properties were vetted by Laterooms

  • G Beard

  • May 2014

Relaxing and homey

A quiet location and wonderful views.

Was upgraded from single to twin with en suite. Breakfast was set for when I wanted and welcome was friendly. Perfect position for all of M'hampstead. Lovely place and when I visit Moretonhampstead again I will be staying here.

  • Leonie C

  • May 2014

Comfortable, but dated

The room looked like we had stepped back in time.

The furniture was all rather dated and tired, which wouldn't have been much of a problem (I like historic furniture), but the four-poster bed looked like it was about to collapse as the posts were a long way off vertical, and the wardrobe was rather delicate. Everything could have been improved with a thorough dusting and a re-paint of the walls. The wall behind the bed had possibly been recently replastered, but it would have looked smarter if it had been painted over. The breakfast was good. For once the cooked meal was a sensible size and everything was well cooked, but not dry. It might have been nice if there was some fruit available alongside the cereal and orange juice though. Good location for walking on the moors and Moretonhampstead has a selection of pubs and restaurants for evening meals. We were recommended to visit The Union, which was very good.

  • J Gibson

  • April 2014

Fantastic accommodation, service and food!

Great room - clean/tidy and with all of the essentials; great breakfast and a very warm, welcoming, chatty host (Barry - owner).

Barry was also incredibly kind and not only charged my phone on countless occasions but also gave me a lift all the way to Exeter. Very kind. Would definitely go back