No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Denes Guest House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
15 Longmead, , , Lynton, EX35 6DQ
The Denes is one of 'Devon's Hidden Places' where you can discover the Edwardian charms as our previous guests already have. Sally and John extend their warm and friendly greeting to you whether you are visiting for the first time or are a returning guest. All our rooms at The Denes are either ensuite or with private facilities. They are complete with hospitality trays, heating and clock radio alarms. The ensuite rooms have additionally TVs. Or you may wish to relax with a drink in our guest lounge with TV, DVD & Video. We are a 4* Guest Accommodation located in Lynton and its twin village, Lynmouth which are enveloped within the Exmoor National Park and occupy an area of outstanding natural and coastal scenery. The Denes itself lies at the entrance to the Valley of Rocks, where short walks through the valley, or up and over Hollerday Hill, are just a step from our front door. Lynton and Lynmouth where Exmoor meets the sea, an ideal base for exploring Exmoor whether walking, cycling or driving. Feature fireplaces, original paintings and delicious home cooked food are our trademark. The dining room has a wealth of literature from local maps, guides to novels and books; including 'Advanced Level Physics' should your holiday needs require! Breakfast is included and cooked to order. Parking for guests available.
Picture of The Denes Guest House, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Excellent would definitely go again. Made us very welcome but not intrusive. Lots of nice homely touches. Room spotless.

Reviewed by
David M

From Wythall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and relaxing
I had to unexpectedly find a bed for the night at the last minute in Lynton. The Denes turned out to be just right. The location is ideal with a very short walk into the cente of Lynton in one direction and in the other direction you are just at the beginning of the spectacular Valley of Rocks, a lovely walk and amazing sunsets.
John and Sally were kind and welcoming, the room was peaceful and comfortable and many unexpected extras were provided including freshly baked delicious cake on the Hospitality tray. There was a generous choice of breakfast possibilities, all served with kindness and cheerful friendliness! Thank you!

Reviewed by
Lois Hunt

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quality and value
Great little personally owned and run B & b, spacious warm room, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, piping hot shower, lots of thoughtful extras provided (jar of biscuits plenty of milks good choice of beverage) all kinds of toiletries in shower room and all the little things you might have forgotten. Great choice of breakfast, well cooked,can't be beaten for quality and value.

Reviewed by
hoskins helen

From southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Value in Lynton
Great location and close to may wonderful walks. food was excellent and room comforable and clean

Reviewed by
G B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing too much trouble
our stay at the denes was an absolute pleasure,
the little touches like homemade cake on arrival all the toiletries you could ever need were a bonus.
i had mentioned it was our wedding anniversary and when we got back froim our walk in lynton sally handed us a card . they were a lovely couple and breakfast was amazing .
bed was very comfy and the room very clean .
they were very helpful with our questions about eating out and taxis etc .
mo negative comments to be found here :)

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
k golesworthy

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous, high quality and value for money break!
Sally and John must carry on the way they are with their Guests! This was a lovely, traditional and high quality Guest House experience. The rooms were spacious and in keeping with the style of the House and very clean. There were very nice touches during our stay, such as the home made cake every day in our room and the provision of a variety of free toiletries to use . Breakfast was fabulous and both Sally and John were consistently excellent hosts.
We very much enjoyed our stay and will return.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes, John

Reviewed by
T Churchard

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have had a most enjoyable stay at the Denes Guest House, Lynton. The room was lovely and comfortable. We were made to feel really welcome by our hosts, John and Sally, and they were always ready to answer any questions we had. The breakfasts were fantastic and the homemade cakes that Sally left in our room each day was a lovely touch. There wasn't anything more we could have wished for.
Thank you both for making our stay in Lynton a great experience!

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
MARIE BROTHERIDGE

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The customer is wrong
On arrival we were shown to the wrong room. When I pointed this out I was simply told that I was wrong. My protests were brushed aside. The situation did get resolved but the initial attitude was very high handed.
Breakfast was very comprehensive , but bland. Coffee incredibly weak.

ManagementResponse

We were expecting several arrivals that afternoon and it was unfortunate when this guest arrived my wife who greeted them was "blind"!! She had just taken her contact lenses out and so it was a simple error of not being able to read the registration forms properly. The guest who was quite hyper, and throughout their stay, could not appreciate the difficulties she was having in trying to redress the situation. She was extremely apologetic and believed that should have been sufficient for the guest not to write such a vitriolic review about her! We are sorry the breakfast was not to your liking but this can be a matter of taste, as the previous reviewer thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast and if you needed strong coffee then you could have requested it, or even asked for it to be replaced which we would have been happy to do. Least you didn't eat their cake!!

Reviewed by
michael kemp

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We arrived early a bit early but John and Sally were very welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. There was a lovely welcoming gift in our room and had all the toiletries that you could ever need. The room was clean, nicely decorated with an en-suite shower room. Breakfast there was lovely and again, nothing was too much trouble. We will stay here again and would recommend this B&B to anyone. It was a perfect location or us as we were there on a cricket tour and a 5 minute walk to the ground with stunning views.

Reviewed by
Mark Johns

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.