No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pine Lodge Guest house

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Lynway, Lynton, , Lynton, EX35 6AX
We provide bed and breakfast with an evening meal on request. Our breakfast ranges from full English with a selection of fresh fruits and cereals plus catering for dietary needs when informed. Our fully licensed premises can offer evening meals (starting in October into May) with truly home cooked food with the emphasise on good old fashioned cuisine with warming stews, soups, meat pies, roasts and vegetarian needs. The bedrooms are spacious and quietly decorated, offering comfortable well equipped rooms with TV, hospitality trays, and serviced daily. Also for those that need to keep in touch with the outside world we have wireless Internet connection for your laptop. Pine Lodge enjoys a frontal view of the thickly wooded hillside on the Watersmeet estate. From this idyllic vantage point we can watch the seasons change from the delicate greens of early spring through the warm summer colours to the autumnal tints at the year’s end. The only sounds which dominate this wonderful location is the continuing flow of the West Lyn River which tumbles over the rocky river bed in it’s race down to Lynmouth and the sea. Our landscape gardens are open to all our guests where they can relax to enjoy the spectacular views and watch the vast amount of bird life, which are attracted to the garden.
Picture of Pine Lodge Guest house, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accomodation in lovely part of Devon. However access to car park very difficult. A minimum of 15 minute walk to nearest eatery . This was made worse as the walk was all up and down hill.

Reviewed by
J Yorke

From Wotton Under Edge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing get away
What can I say but WOW this really was the best weekend away I have ever had first time staying in a B&B instead of a hotel. I was not disappointed at all despite the weather John and Linda where fantastic and always offering advice on where we can go where is best to eat. really was a pleasure planning on a summer trip back there with the 2 children

Reviewed by
A Worth

From Hampshire, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and fantastic price
John and Linda are excellent hosts. It was our first trip to Lynton and John went out of his way to advise on local points of interest worth a visit and we crammed a lot more into our weekend as a result. Will definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, friendly and value for money B&B.

Reviewed by
M Sowden

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Fabulous friendly service, great location, good quality room that represented excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pine Lodge Fantastic
We recently had a 2 night stay in this fantastic guest house. It is in a great location right on the edge of Exmoor. John and Linda were very welcoming, arranged for tea and homemade cake when we got there. They also recommended places to eat, we went to the Greenhouse Restaurant & Wine Bar, right opposite to the entrance of the Funicular Railway. Our room was very good, really clean and with the added bonus of homemade biscuits on the tray along with tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts were very substantial and kept us going all day,, with a selection of cooked breakfasts, or buffet with homemade jam, marmalade, yogurt and a compote. Then there were cereal selections, juices and dried fruits. It was a shame that the weather was so misty and damp, but with some suggestions from John and Linda of things to do and see all wan't lost. If we are ever in the area again we will certainly stay at Pine Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
P Thorn

From Staines, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm friendly welcome complete with tea and home made cake
Pine Lodge is run by a lovely couple. they gave is plenty of information about the area such as where to visit or eat out. The breakfasts were lovely, especially the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Plenty of choice of fresh fruit too. The room was very clean with lovely fluffy white towels in the bathroom. Lovely location.

Reviewed by
Marian Wallis

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B, Incredible Hospitality
We arrived at pine Lodge for a one night stay on the 3rd of August. We were greeted at the door warmly by John, who introduced himself and showed us to the room. After offering us some tea and cake (which we gratefully accepted and were served in the lovely light dining room) john left us to get acquainted with our room for our stay. The room itself was spacious, with lots of light from the big window, which gave a lovely view of the valley. Every inch of the room was impeccably clean and a pleasure to stay in.
We came with a rough plan of what we wanted to do during our stay in Lynton, but John and Linda were very helpful in suggesting more things we hadnt thought of, and helpful ''non tourist'' routes to walk around. This led to us walking around the Valley of the Rocks, taking in the spectacular views from the coastal path, before riding the famous funicular railway, allowing us to take in both Lynton and Lynmouth. For our evening meal we had a choice of a few restaurants in Lynton, all varied, so anybody would be catered for, my only suggestion would be booking earlier in the day, especially on a Friday or Saturday!
After a perfects night sleep, we were served breakfast. Having plenty of choice between the breakfast buffet, a traditional english breakfast, scrambled eggs, ommelette.. and more that im probably forgetting. I went with the english breakfast and it was 100% perfect, freshly cooked and just what was needed to set us up for the day.
The second day of our stay was accompanied by wet weather, in contrast to the sunshine the day before, however John and Linda were extremely helpful in suggesting things to do which wouldnt involve us getting wet at all. Upon checking out we were seen off by the owners, making the few yards walk to the perfectly placed parking spaces.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pine Lodge and would 100% recommend it to anybody thinking of visiting Lynton or Lynmouth or the surrounding area. Its position on the side of the valley is both picturesque and convenient, being only a ten minute walk, or a two minute drive from Lynton town centre. The room was impeccably clean, with an amazing view, a real pleasure to sleep in.
Above all of these good points, the main reason I'd reccomend Pine Lodge is the amazing hospitality from the owners John and Linda, from the first minute of our stay they made us feel welcome, they were both exceptionally helpful, without being intrusive at all. They really do deserve every bit of praise ive given them in this review!

Reviewed by
Gary W

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay with friendly and helpful staff!
We stayed in a lovely, spacious room overlooking the Lyn valley. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and the couple running the guest house were helpful, informative and generally nice! Would definitely recommend a stay there!

Reviewed by
Jane C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Pine Lodge and would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice quiet place to stay with a very comfortable bed, clean well equiped room and helpfull proprietor.

Reviewed by
M Bradbury

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay at Pine Lodge
I recently stayed at Pine Lodge with my wife. As soon as we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice!
John and Linda were absolutely lovely. They were welcoming, extremely helpful and friendly and were more than happy to help with anything if necessary. We were even provided with tea and cake upon arrival, which was delicious.
Pine Lodge is in such a lovely position with great views. There is a car park provided at the front of the property, which was very useful and meant that we could walk instead of driving.
There is also a lovely pub (The Cottage Inn) which is a two minute walk away. It was not only handy as it meant that we did not have to travel too far, but the food was lovely. It is family run and the owners and the service they provide is fantastic.
Our room was large, modern and comfortable and most of all very clean. John and Linda seem to have thought of everything and even provided homemade biscuits to accompany the tea and coffee making facilities.
A variety of breakfast choices were provided, ranging from a full English to homemade yoghurt and fruit. We tried various different things and were extremely pleased whatever we had.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Pine Lodge and would recommend it to anyone. It was much more than we expected or would have asked for.
We would like to thank John and Linda for making our stay in Lynton simply wonderful.

Reviewed by
K Ferris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next