No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Countisbury Lodge

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Countisbury Lodge, 6 Tors Park, , Lynmouth, EX35 6NB
Countisbury Lodge is a large, characterful self catering house with parking, and amazing views high above Lynmouth, but only a short walk to the amenities. This is an excellent place to explore Exmoor National Park, and to walk the North Devon and Somerset coast path. There are five double bedrooms and it can be booked with Seaview Apartment to accommodate 12 people or with Treetops for larger parties of 16 people. "Treetops" sleeps 4 people and "Seaview Apartment" sleeps 2 people, so are ideal for a couple or small family. Seaview Apartment is at the top of the house providing a double bedroom + ensuite, and a lounge with kitchenette. Treetops has a double, a twin bedroom and bathroom upstairs, and a lounge/dining room with separate kitchen downstairs. Weekly bookings run from Saturday to Saturday during the summer holidays. Special offers are available. Lynmouth is an unspoilt village situated on the north coast of Devon, within the Exmoor National Park noted for it's natural beauty and unspoilt landscape. This is the perfect place to go up onto the moor and catch glimpses of the red deer and the wild Exmoor ponies, and explore Devon and north Somerset. The Victorians named the area "Little Switzerland" which is an excellent description of the terrain. Lynmouth and Lynton are linked by the unique water powered cliff railway, another place to admire the beautiful views. Leaving the shops, tearooms and cafes of Lynton behind, you will find the Valley of Rocks, home of buzzards and the wild but docile goats. There is a good selection of eating places in both villages, and the local area. Check in is available from 4pm. If you are likely to arrive at a different time we be grateful if you could let us know.
Picture of Countisbury Lodge, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 6 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Countisbury lodge Nov 2013
We had a lovely relaxing stay at Countisbury lodge which is set in a beautiful and peaceful location. The breakfast was great and the owners very friendly (as was their pet cat!) Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Anna M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Very pleasant stay at this B&B. Made very welcome and the views over the Lyn valley and West Lyn river very dramatic after the heavy storm. Nice place to eat in Lynmouth was the Rising Sun pub near the harbour. Lovely scenic walks on coastal path.

Reviewed by
W Witherden

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really restful, comfortable stay
We had a wonderfully relaxing and comfortable stay here and will definitely hope to return. The bedroom was light and airy with fantastic views and soft pillows!
Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day

Reviewed by
P Swift

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our mini braek.
My wife & I loved our stay the hoists were very friendly the lodge was clean & food was excellent.

Reviewed by
martin bath

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beutiful setting
The setting of the Lodge is beautiful and very tranquil. We stayed at the small one bedroom apartment, for 3 nts and had a great time. The set up was simple but very charming and the owners were extremely welcoming.
We do not normally stay at guesthouses - but the setting and ambience of Countisbury Lodge - together with the hosting skills of the owners made it exceptional.

Reviewed by
Azita S

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely part of the UK, tired accommodation.
Lynmouth and Lynton is a very pretty place and the Countisbury Lodge is ideally placed high in the hillside. Yes it is a trek getting up there from the small town but we felt that was part of the charm and really didn't mind but this, but it can be an issue for the elderly and the very young. We stayed in the double en-suite room situated on the second floor, the room was comfortable but the decor was very tired and in a desperate need of redecoration. There was mould on the curtains and in some places around window and walls, probably due to the single glazing of the window, became heavily covered with condensation, so even though we had a great view, you couldn't really appreciate by the morning. However, the positives were the owners, who were very friendly and the breakfast which was lovely.

ManagementResponse

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your room, which was redecorated in 2011 with new carpets and curtains, in a style that suits a Victorian property. The windows are single glazed in a style fitting the house, and when tightly shut and the heating on condensation can occur. This continues to be a popular room with our guests.

Reviewed by
Matt S

From Oxted, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.