No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain's House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Tors Road, Exmoor National Park, , Lynmouth, EX35 6ET
Open all year except Christmas, The Captains House offers lavishly decorated standard and en suite rooms, all centrally heated with tea and coffee making facilities. Children are very welcome with well behaved adults! The Captains House hosts a beautiful tea garden, a real sun trap in which to sit and enjoy a famous Devonshire Cream Tea. Marvel at the magnificent scenery and pretty flowers while watching the world go by, with the relaxing sounds of the river's babbling in the background. Go on, treat yourself to our mouthwatering freshly baked scones with jam and lashings of farmhouse clotted cream - mmm, wickedly delicious! The area is a paradise for nature lovers and walkers. The poets Shelley, Wordsworth and Coleridge visited the area and wrote lovingly of our village many times. The classic novel Lorna Doone by R D Blackmore was penned and set here.
Picture of The Captain's House, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
very quaint b&b,comfortable and clean.although the room had a sweet view,we found it a little small.

Reviewed by
darryl james

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
A wonderful couple of days lovely place to stay great hosts make sure you walk up to waters meet it's worth it

Reviewed by
r hodgson-reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little cottage to stay
It was a really nice guest house situated near by the lovely lake.such a great place to stay in north Devon and very close to the all the attraction. Rooms were excellent condition and good value for money.warmly guest wellcome and good customer service.

Reviewed by
Jagath B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean room. Don't expect anything fancy.
Location of the b and b was lovely, nice and quiet. I really liked being able to hear the river as I was lay in bed. Room was clean, not decorated to my style and in my opinion needed updating and de cluttering. Bathroom was clean, shower a little temperamental but done the job. No luxury, just a cheap room in a good location.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the chap at the captains hotel was a mine of information. very useful then one is in lynmouth and the weather is damp.

Reviewed by
G Allard

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getaway Break
Had a lovely time there, very pleasant experience. Very informative and charismatic chap that runs the ship. Thank you

Reviewed by
J Rayner

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely place, very clean and lovely people.food was nice but we would of liked to have beans with our breakfast. Other than that couldnt fault our stay.

Reviewed by
s fear

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable accommodation.
We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Captains House. The room was very clean & comfortable with lovely views of the river. The owners were very welcoming with a lot of local knowledge & useful information. We will definitely stay at The Captains House again.

Reviewed by
linda v

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Captains House, Lynmouth
Lovely location and friendly proprietor. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The showers were cold on one day and did not have an en suite as expected. Dated décor in the bedroom.

Reviewed by
R Friend

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
The owner of the B&B was welcoming and guided us of where to go, what to see.
The room we booked initially was with the private bathroom, but on arrival we been told we have to share it as we have booked two rooms. Which was a shame. Room was very cold, and no heating even though we asked if we can have it. No hot water on the first night, as according to the owner there was some electrical issue which fair enough was fixed quickly.
Breakfast was decent. Lovely coffee.
Decor not to everyones liking but I do appreciate antique mixed with oriental.
Free wi fi provided.
Garage for parking available.
In overall not bad stay, lovely view with the river.
For the price we got the room bearing in mind it was bank holiday was ok and we slept well.
Tip for the stay: go to Rising Sun! It's a must.

Reviewed by
Dijana U

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next