No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hillside House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 Watersmeet Road, , , Lynmouth, EX35 6EP
Hillside House is a beautiful building dating from the 1790s, though parts of it are much older. According to local tradition it was once a dairy, and the oldest part may date from as early as the 1400s. It is listed (Grade II) as a building of historical interest. The building has been used as a bed and breakfast since the 1940s. Situated on the East Lyn river at Lynmouth, our guest house is ideally suited both to the needs of walkers or those of a less strenuous disposition. We are 400 yards from the South-West Coast Path it is the perfect position to explore an abundance of coastal, riverside and woodland scenery: rugged cliffs, secluded bays, the Exmoor moorland, the Doone valley, Porlock and Watersmeet. Have a gentle stroll around the village itself with its enchanting harbour, quaint fishing cottages and interesting shops. If you prefer you can take a boat trip from the harbour, along the Heritage Coast, or go up the water-powered cliff railway to Lynton and visit the Valley of Rocks. There are a choice of riding stables nearby. Like many old buildings it has settled a bit and you will fail to find any walls or floors which are straight or corners which are perfectly square. For many of our guests this is part of its charm. The décor sympathetically combines many original features with bright, tasteful colours and period furniture. Each centrally heated room has freeview television, hair-drier, tea/coffee making facilities and either en-suite or private bath/shower room. Double, twin or single rooms are available. Free wifi.
Picture of Hillside House, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, an absolute must visit!
- Perfect location to walk to the sea, the village centre & more importantly, the pub!
- Beautiful views of the river.
- Lovely charming bedroom/bathroom, clean & comfortable.
- Delicious home cooked breakfast.
- Friendly & helpful landlord and lady.
- What more could you want?? We'll be back soon!

Reviewed by
N O'Connor

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Room and lady who was looking after us was amazing

Reviewed by
anna hynowska

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could've stayed forever!
The owner gave us a lovely welcome, very chatty and friendly. She was very helpful, giving us tips about where to go and even ringing places to see if they were open... Plus she makes a mean full English!
The room was very clean, small but perfectly formed for a short break, with plenty of tea/coffee supplies and the worlds most comfortable bed! The views of the river and the sea were beautiful, literally just on the doorstep. The cottage itself is a wonderfully preserved little piece of history and fits perfectly into the quaint location. Had a lush couple of days, and definitely didn't want to leave!!

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend
Lovely b&b, right on the river, within easy access of everything. Denise was so helpful, couldn't do enough for us. Will be going back there.

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best B&B stay in years
We were given a fab greeting, and shown to our room (which although small for my husband) was ensuite which was great. The room was cleaned each day throughout oyr 5 night stay. The tea & coffee etc was more than we've had during our stays in hotels. We were told of different places to visit each day, and asked when seen how our day had been. The breakfasts were fabulous and we were able to ask for different things each morning without any problems. They treat their guests like friends & their dog is gorgeous. Definitely stay again. Thanks for making our stay so happy.

Reviewed by
Darren Markham

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly guesthouse
We had a very enjoyable stay. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious especially the sausages and scrambled egg.Mmmmmm, filled me for the day. Room and bathroom was lovely and clean. Views were lovely across to the river. Very welcoming with the lovely flowers outside and seating area. Would recommend as very good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Cook

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frendly,quiet,comfortable.exellent breakfast.would stay here again

Reviewed by
robin mcnally

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would certainly recommend.
Denise the B&B owner made us feel very welcome and helped with local information, where to park and what was on that weekend etc. Our room was on the top floor, it had a lovely view of the river and hillside. The room was very clean and had a nice feel about it, even the floor was a little uneven which added to the general quaint old English style of the house. Breakfast was from 8 - 9 and was good, Denise could accommodate most request, but we just had the classic Full English Breakfast. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Allsopp

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
We stayed in the smallest room, which had everything we needed. Whilst it has limited floor space, there was more than enough room for our weekend bags and get dressed up for a meal out. The bed was huge and very very comfortable. The ensuite shower room had an excellent shower: piping hot and very powerful.
Denise, the owner, could not have provided a better service. She was very hospitable and provided a delicious breakfast. Nothing seemed like to much trouble. The B&B is full of character and charm.

Reviewed by
Natalie Wyatt

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NYE in quaint b&B in Lynmouth
Had a great stay at Hillside House in Lynmouth, we were given the option to have a much nicer room with a better view for the same price when we arrived. The house had character and was warm and cosy and offered great views of the river. The owners were very friendly and offered good advice for walks and where to eat. They served a hearty breakfast, which was available later than the norm on New Years day to give guests a bit of extra time.

Reviewed by
A Tipping

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2