No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Downtown Farm

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Downtown Farm, , , Lydford, EX20 4AX
Downtown Farm is ideal for those who desire a peaceful retreat, wishing to absorb the beauty of Dartmoor, explore West Devon by foot, bicycle, motorcycle, horse or car and yes, there is ample parking for cars & shelter available for motorcycles & bicycles plus stabling for horses. Your hosts Guy & Ellie extend a warm welcome to you from their home. A charming 16th century farmhouse offering character accommodation & nesting within 12 acres of land which is home to traditional, British rare breeds such as White Park Cattle; Shetland, Portland & Jacob sheep; Saddleback, Welsh & Berkshire pigs. A particular feature which our guests always enjoy is our Wetland Garden which is home to our menagerie of ducks & chickens, always providing a ready supply of fresh free range eggs for breakfast.
Picture of Downtown Farm, Lydford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class farm house accommodation good value for money . Very friendly & welcoming hosts.

Reviewed by
D Mayall

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay in an interesting and historic working farm. Very friendly and welcoming. very peaceful tranquil setting and fascinating rare breeds to learn about.
It would have been good to have had toilletries supplied as I stayed in a similar farm star rated and there were far more extras to make us comfortable. Perhaps a suggestion a tiny fridge perhaps could be on the landing to keep milk cold in as it was hot in the room to keep it cold over night. I do not want ny details on your site with this review.

Reviewed by
pauline r

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely farm experience
We stayed two nights in a twin bed room - very comfortable and spacious. We awoke to a view of the geese and sheep, and breakfast was first class. Our chat with Ellie about farming life and the White Park cattle was fascinating. Thanks again, Ellie and Guy

Reviewed by
Julian B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous
Gorgeous farmhouse, lovely location. We had a great short stay, brilliant breakfast. The children fed the lambs in the morning and enjoyed seeing the animals. The weather was awful so we didn't venture into the grounds but would absolutely return.
Lovely stay-thank you Ellie.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure having you and your children stay.

Reviewed by
Marie F

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural hideaway
As advertised, this is a rural working farmhouse and surroundings, I found it very honest and not dressed to impress which is how it should be, the access to the farm animals and environment were great, the wetland area is managed just enough so it retains it wildness, young children would love exploring here, it is located in a stunning countryside and has an simplicity to it, my only criticism would be that the bed springs were very noisy , the accommodation was very clean and presentable and the local breakfast lovely.

Reviewed by
Steven C

From Stockton on tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week break
Pleasant B & B and hostess in a good area for seeing parts of Dartmoor with good eateries in the vicinity

Reviewed by
m mcguffie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great traditional farm B and B
Very pleasant overnight stop at working farm just a few miles from the A30 on way back from Cornwall. Hospitality and welcome was very friendly and personal. As with all B and B's in people's homes there was an initial period of sizing each other up. Family room good size with en suite. Comfortable large double bed but child's single could be a bit better. Cooked breakfast the only option but excellent. Farm animals to see including rare breed cattle (White Park). Has several local options for good food and we ate out in nearby gastro pub. Would consider staying a day or two longer in future.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.