Reviews - Darnley Hotel


3 Belmont Road, ,, Ilfracombe, EX34 8DR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Louise D

  • August 2015

Its time to tell about the 'Darnley Hotel',run and owned by the lovely Sue Dale ( Aug 14-19th 2015)

Darnley Hotel what a wonderful place In beautiful surroundings you want to embrace With friendly staff and an immaculate room What more could you want from Ilfracoombe.

We arrived at the 'Darnley' late at night

And were greeted by Sue,what a lovely sight

She was cheery and friendly and gave us our key

We went up to our room for a cup of tea

Breakfast was hearty

Just like a royal party

Homemade marmalade jellies and Jam

Were brought to us by the wonderful Pam

Gardens matured with blazing colour

No room for extras it couldnt be fuller

Waterfalls and lillies and full of tranquil

A place to reflect and time stays still. Darnley Hotel we would recommend

Come with a partner or bring a friend

Situated in Ilfracoombe Devon

You really feel like you have been to heaven

We had such a lovely break away

So we just had to write and have our say

Kind regards Louise and Terry ( leics)

P.S. You must buy Sue's homemade jams and marmalade they are out of this world.

  • J Kroll

  • September 2014

Excellent accommodation

Lovely breakfast, clean room.

Good size for a single with a double bed. Sue very friendly and accommodating. Good location. Would stay again.

  • neil s

  • September 2014

excellent accommodation, excellent food, very friendly

  • Stephen c

  • August 2014

Great hotel incredible value

Great value, great location, extremely clean and very friendly.

I'd recommend any time.

  • Trevor D

  • August 2014

This is great Hotel to stay at in Ilfracombe.

A family run Hotel with a high standard in cleanliness

and a very good breakfast. The beds are extremely comfortable. The Hotel is Victorian and the

d├ęcor is in line with that period.The Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the town centre. I would like

to thank Sue, Daphne,Derrick & Michele who run this Hotel, for making our stay a very

enjoyable experience, and can highly recommend it.


  • August 2014

Last minute birthday treat

Booked this Hotel last minute and were very pleased with our choice, lovely dog friendly Hotel, very welcoming and good location.

Breakfasts were very tasty and set us up for the day. Loved the Hotel's support of the Dogs Trust. Will definitely return.

  • Rachel B

  • August 2014

We enjoyed the ambiance and the service but there were issues with our stay: badly baked croissants and undercooked breakfast on our first morning, no power point next to a mirror for drying hair, lots of stairs we were 5 stories up from the breakfast room - with no option of a lift, no shower and the rubber attachment for the taps was ineffective and even leaked over the floor.

  • Robert D

  • August 2014

We had a very good short break at this hotel

We stayed for three nights, four people, two rooms.

We found this hotel to be comfortable, clean and very friendly. Much nicer than some of the more modern places. Excellent breakfasts. Good location - quiet (not too much traffic noise), but not a long walk into town, about 10-15 minutes for us.

  • d mould

  • August 2014

this is a lovely hotel with lovely people lucking after you.

Rooms and breakfasts great. would deffo stay there again Thank you.

  • A Hughes

  • August 2014

Lovely Relaxing Family Hotel

Food Excellent, Room Excellent, Owners Friendly and very helpful.

A very pleasant stay, would certainly use this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break.