No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Splatthayes B&B

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Buckerell, , , Honiton, EX14 3ER
Strategically situated in South-East Devon, Buckerell, is one of the traditional gateways into the county of Devon, making it an excellent base for people wishing to visit or to tour East Devon. Buckerell is a quiet picturesque Devon village. The East Devon market town of Honiton, has a great deal to offer its many visitors, - a fascinating history, a lively atmosphere and miles of country walks for ramblers, being just a few of the many delights of the town. For centuries Honiton has been renowned for lace, pottery and glove making, and although these time honoured crafts are no longer carried out to their former extent, Honiton has numerous specialist shops dedicated to both lace and pottery. Splatthayes is within easy reach of both of the West Country's National Parks - Dartmoor and Exmoor, as well as being close to Exeter - the ancient capital of the South West. Vast tracts of the area surrounding Honiton are designated as areas of outstanding natural beauty and the town's location, near to the River Otter, provides the visitor with an abundance of country walks and footpaths to explore. Guests in the bed and breakfast have the use of the lounge, dining room and grounds in which to relax. There are four letting bedrooms all with Television and tea/coffee making facilities. Splatthayes also offers the facility for people wishing to train in various fields of complimentary medicines and therapies .Currently there are courses running in Precision Reflexology Yoga and Zero balancing. These are held in a large comfortable venue that has full shower and kitchen facilities included. Anyone wishing to consider running a course should contact us direct to discuss terms and venue details.
Picture of Splatthayes B&B, Honiton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good b&b experience
No problems. A nice, quiet room in an out of the way location.

Reviewed by
Phillip D

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The owners were very kind and helpful when we were late due to the Sat. Nav sending us on the route from Hell. They were helpful throughout our stay..
The beds were comfortable and clean,but the lounge and bedroom appeared to have a slight musty aroma.
Breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
H Hall

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome
We stayed just one night booked fairly late for our trip but we wish we could have spent more time in the area and stayed at Splatthayes. A very warm welcome from our hosts to the point of coming out with a big umbrella whilst we were bringing small bags in. Very comfortable room and the whole place reeks of the owners' personality in a tasteful way. Would heartily recommend.

Reviewed by
M Seymour

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent place to stay and be sure of a very warm greeting
An excellent B&B and self catering house. Always had a very warm greeting, Made to free like I we where at our own home.
Thanks for a great two weeks.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint thatched village b&b
Very welcoming, great breakfast choice, interesting old country cottage

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, friendly and helpful. A really relaxing experience.

Reviewed by
Lesley M

From Sturminster Newton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected delight
I was welcomed and escorted to my room, which had been upgraded. Wonderful room with a nice living area complete with book cases and tea making facilities.
Lovely location too.

Reviewed by
Philip Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Made to feel very welcome. Noting to much trouble. Home from home

Reviewed by
I Adams

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable and welcoming.
Splatthayes is a beautiful thatched house and a great place to stay. Buckerell is deep in the Devon countryside but close enough to major routes. Douglas and Adrian are excellent hosts.

Reviewed by
David Ireland

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing find - hospitality at it's best!
Doug & Adrian were brilliant hosts and most helpful.
It was our first time to the area and i would highly recommend their accomodation.
Comfortable, relaxing, a good nights sleep and great filling breakfast.
They even helped out with local knowledge and assistance in helping us get to our friends wedding at a venue nearby. Much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Sharon M

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next