No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Breken Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
13 Morton Road, , , Exmouth, EX8 1AZ
Trading since August 2007, owner Tonia has established a reputation for running a clean and comfortable guest house with guests returning again and again. With the advantage of a central location this attractive guesthouse is 5 minutes level walk from the famous Jurassic coastline, two mile long sandy beach (where you will find the Exmouth Pavillion), newly developed marina, bus and rail services. With two family rooms, two twins, one double and two single rooms, Tonia can cater for everyone whether you are visiting Exmouth for business or leisure. Tonia looks forward to welcoming you soon. Exmouth is well celebrated for its long two-miles of golden sand, rare on this coast and fascinating rock pools it's a paradise for children and adults alike. On the Estuary of the River Exe internationally known for its wildlife. In the centre of East Devon's glorious countryside with Woodbury Common and beautiful towns and villages nearby. Exmouth has its own train station, only 25 minutes away from Exeter by train giving great views of The River Exe (and just 10 miles from the M5 motorway). Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Regrettably, we cannot accept pets. Children welcome. Check-In time: relatively felixble and Check-Out time: 10:00.
Picture of Breken Guest House, Exmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK as long as you're not needing a shower!
I arrived after an 8 hour drive, looking forward to doing some sretching in my room and having a hot shower. The room, no 8, was very small, not a chance of doing any stretching and the shower, being at the top of the house, gave good pressure when cold but nothing at all when warm / hot. The following morning I addressed the issue with the proprietor's daughter as Tonia, the proprietor was having a lie in. That evening when returning from work Tonia told me that no-one had complained before, that she had got a plumber in and been told it would need a pump that would cost £600. She offered me a bath in her own personal area and then suggested (I am hoping not seriously) that I use one of the other guest's showers and she would stand at the door ensuring that if they returned they wouldn't come in - I told her I felt this was inappropriate. Upon going back up to my room we managed to get the shower to produce some hot water and realised that this was because no-one else in the building was using the water supply. I had a shower and got up very early the following morning to ensure I had another one before anyone else started using the water supply. So, if you are staying, ensure you avoid room no 8 if space to move or washing is important to you!!

Reviewed by
Claire L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely guest house in a fantastic location
We loved our stay at the Breken. The atmosphere was really relaxed and friendly and we we were made to feel really really welcome. The house is in an excellent location a couple of minutes walk from the sea and a short walk from town. Room was clean and well equipped and the food was great. Would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Farr

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean warm nice welcome would go again

Reviewed by
anthony h

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat visit
V pleasant overall, great location as is v close to the centre of Exmouth. Would recommend to others.

Reviewed by
J Wiseman

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant 4 night stay
Whilst in Exmouth for work I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights. No complaints, I was very comfortable during my stay here.

Reviewed by
J Wiseman

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just like home
We were made to feel so welcome and had a very relaxed stay. This B and B exceeded all we could have expected. At £30 per person per night with breakfast. BARGAIN. We would like to return there in the summer for better weather!!

Reviewed by
Rebbecca G

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Received a warm welcome after a long journey from London, and the hostess was always
friendly and helpful, even prophesying that the football match I had come to see would be off, as it was.

Reviewed by
Paul Tiffany

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tonia is a wonderful hostess and made us very welcome.. a lovely place, full of character.
The variety of clocks provided entertainment at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Marlene Edwards

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place!
Highly recommend

Reviewed by
Francesca S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Very welcoming and accommodating hostess and would definitely stay again if in area

Reviewed by
S King

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next