No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Culm Vale Country House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Culm Vale Country House, Stoke Road, Stoke Canon, Exeter, EX5 4EG
Welcome to Culm Vale Country House. We are a fine Old Victorian Country House, full of charm and character, giving the best of both worlds!

Culm Vale Country House is situated in the heart of Devon's beautiful countryside on the edge of the Stoke Canon village. Stoke Canon has a well equipped post office/shop which is open all day everyday, there is a pub, The Stoke Canon Inn within walking distance. There are a choice of Pub/Restaurants within a 4 mile Radius. Culm Vale Country House is also only 3 miles to the North of the cathedral city Exeter, known for for it's antique shops, heritage arts & culture scene. Exeter, the regional capital of the South West, is a colourful, cosmopolitan city surrounded by countryside and just a few miles from the sea.

The accommodation is up stairs (NO GROUND FLOOR ROOMS) spacious and comfortable and breakfast is included in the rate. We have 5 rooms available, 3 rooms have a wash hand basin with H & C and razor points, these 3 rooms share the bathroom (Full sized bath with shower and toilet) between them and 1 room is an en-suite with a Full-sized bath with shower, wash hand basin and toilet) & En-suite Chalet. The house is Fully Centrally Heated througout, we have a "wired" Fire/Smoke detection system in all the rooms, with emergency lighting . FREE Wi-Fi available.

There is ample free parking making us an ideal touring base for visits to Dartmoor, Exmoor, North and South coasts as well as the Exeter University Campus which is only 3 miles away.

We are unfortunately NOT WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE of the centre of Exeter, however, we are on a main Exeter - Tiverton Bus route No. 55, daily return tickets and weekly tickets may be purchased on the bus. The Stop which is most convenient for Culm Vale is the Request Stop: "Stoke Canon Mill", Culm Vale Country House is then a 50 or so metre walk up the road on the right with its Large White entrance.

We are open Throughout the Year offering a Friendly Welcome
Picture of Culm Vale Country House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Culm Vale Country House
We really enjoyed our stay at Culm Vale and would not hesitate to recommend it.
We were too late to get an en-suite, but had a lovely big room with a wash hand basin. We didn't meet anyone when we went to the bathroom. There was also a separate toilet. So absolutely no problems at all. We had a lovely breakfast with an extremely nice hostess.

Reviewed by
Peter Freeborn

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. This is a lovely traditional large House with many original features and very large rooms. We had a double, with a shared bathroom which wasn't a problem at all. Breakfast was typical for a B&B and kept us going all day. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Kay R

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for a night with my sister. Lovely big room, comfy beds and an interesting host. Lots of dead animals on walls etc...

Reviewed by
C Mccluskey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
I loved my stay here. Fantastic welcome and service. The room was very large with a good wifi connection. I was made to feel like an old friend. 10/10!

Reviewed by
Charles Bishop

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
A charming property with really friendly and helpful hosts. Room was large and well appointed, and everything was spotlessly clean. Really comfortable bed meant I slept better than I do at home!
Breakfast was a great experience, on a large dining table in lovely room, and the quality of the produce for the full English was excellent. Brilliant and relaxing start to the day.
Pub serving food less than a mile away.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
N Pepworth

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded all expectations.
Graham, Rebecca and Rob run a family guest house. When you arrive it is more like coming into a friends house, rather than a typical hotel. Each room is individual , as opposed to a chain of hotels, which are more uniform and somewhat sterile.
The location is peaceful and the surrounding area is beautiful.
I had a motoring problem on my way to the accommodation and was 'rescued ' by graham and rob. They really did go above and beyond of what one would expect.
The breakfast was delicious, quality ingredients and the teapot was a decent size and provided sufficient cups. I am certain that Rebecca would have continually refilled it, all morning, if asked.
All in all, a fabulous experience from start to finish.

Reviewed by
Julian K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely evening here, wonderful hostess and brilliant breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Way

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you!
We had a fantastic stay here after a last-minute change of plan due to the weather. The property is amazing, the room was beautiful and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Jennifer Shelton

From Chinnor, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Comfy room, great breakfast.

Reviewed by
David L

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique,Vibrant,Organic,Rural Guest House. Lots of character, generous space, helpful owners.
You'll either love it or hate it. There is nothing bland or neutral or homogenised about the decor, the service provided by the owners or the overall experience of staying at Culm Valley house.
Set your expectations right: this is a guest house, not a boutique hotel. The grand proportions and style might lull you into thinking of the latter -- but the owners make no pretence of offering grand hotel standards. Judged as a guest house, I found it exceptional value for money.
The resident guest is still in residence - and has been joined by a second long-stay guest. The parrot is still whistling away - there is a cat too and reportedly a canary, though I didn't catch sight.
Great things: the breakfast options, including free-range farm eggs and home-made yoghurt and fair-trade tea and coffee. Countryside reminders -- cock-crow and the possibility of mud and dust..
I did spot a cobweb; it was removed as soon as I mentioned it to the owners.
The house is a straightforward, scenic drive from Streatham Campus - less than 10 minutes north and out of the city. I stayed there while my student daughter was in hospital with suspected appendicitis and I found the owners very helpful, sympathetic and accommodating and the change from the town\hospital atmosphere a very welcome and helpful contrast.
I'd recommend Culm Valley house to anyone who is adventurous enough to appreciate the unusual and individual - and who prefers quieter locations.

Reviewed by
Bernadette P

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next