Reviews - Culm Vale Country House


Culm Vale, Stoke Canon,, Exeter, EX5 4EG

Price From 126.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • N Pepworth

  • June 2014

Excellent stay

A charming property with really friendly and helpful hosts.

Room was large and well appointed, and everything was spotlessly clean. Really comfortable bed meant I slept better than I do at home. Breakfast was a great experience, on a large dining table in lovely room, and the quality of the produce for the full English was excellent. Brilliant and relaxing start to the day. Pub serving food less than a mile away. Would definitely stay again.

  • Julian K

  • June 2014

Exceeded all expectations.

Graham, Rebecca and Rob run a family guest house.

When you arrive it is more like coming into a friends house, rather than a typical hotel. Each room is individual , as opposed to a chain of hotels, which are more uniform and somewhat sterile.

The location is peaceful and the surrounding area is beautiful.

I had a motoring problem on my way to the accommodation and was 'rescued ' by graham and rob. They really did go above and beyond of what one would expect.

The breakfast was delicious, quality ingredients and the teapot was a decent size and provided sufficient cups. I am certain that Rebecca would have continually refilled it, all morning, if asked. All in all, a fabulous experience from start to finish.

  • M Way

  • June 2014

Had a lovely evening here, wonderful hostess and brilliant breakfast.

  • Jennifer Shelton

  • May 2014

Thank you!

We had a fantastic stay here after a last-minute change of plan due to the weather.

The property is amazing, the room was beautiful and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

  • David L

  • April 2014


Comfy room, great breakfast.

  • Bernadette P

  • February 2014

Unique,Vibrant,Organic,Rural Guest House. Lots of character, generous space, helpful owners.

You'll either love it or hate it.

There is nothing bland or neutral or homogenised about the decor, the service provided by the owners or the overall experience of staying at Culm Valley house.

Set your expectations right: this is a guest house, not a boutique hotel. The grand proportions and style might lull you into thinking of the latter -- but the owners make no pretence of offering grand hotel standards. Judged as a guest house, I found it exceptional value for money. The resident guest is still in residence - and has been joined by a second long-stay guest. The parrot is still whistling away - there is a cat too and reportedly a canary, though I didn't catch sight. Great things: the breakfast options, including free-range farm eggs and home-made yoghurt and fair-trade tea and coffee. Countryside reminders -- cock-crow and the possibility of mud and dust.. I did spot a cobweb; it was removed as soon as I mentioned it to the owners. The house is a straightforward, scenic drive from Streatham Campus - less than 10 minutes north and out of the city. I stayed there while my student daughter was in hospital with suspected appendicitis and I found the owners very helpful, sympathetic and accommodating and the change from the town\hospital atmosphere a very welcome and helpful contrast. I'd recommend Culm Valley house to anyone who is adventurous enough to appreciate the unusual and individual - and who prefers quieter locations.

  • p wright

  • February 2014

First we were told we were not welcome because we had a van and then we had no running hot water in a shared bathroom so not a very good experience.

  • michael b

  • February 2014

Great value traditional B&B

We had a very pleasant stay in this large, well proportioned but rather tired looking country house.

The husband and wife team are very friendly and helpful. We had a tv problem, resolved quickly. Our room was enormous with old and quirky decor and a few damp patches but clean. The soft bed turned out to be rather comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Don't stay here if you are looking for a chic designer B&B or modernity but we liked the personal touch.