No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Culm Vale Country House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Culm Vale Country House, Stoke Road, Stoke Canon, Exeter, EX5 4EG
Welcome to Culm Vale Country House. We are a fine Old Victorian Country House, full of charm and character, giving the best of both worlds!

Culm Vale Country House is situated in the heart of Devon's beautiful countryside on the edge of the Stoke Canon village. Stoke Canon has a well equipped post office/shop which is open all day everyday, there is a pub, The Stoke Canon Inn within walking distance. There are a choice of Pub/Restaurants within a 4 mile Radius. Culm Vale Country House is also only 3 miles to the North of the cathedral city Exeter, known for for it's antique shops, heritage arts & culture scene. Exeter, the regional capital of the South West, is a colourful, cosmopolitan city surrounded by countryside and just a few miles from the sea.

The accommodation is up stairs (NO GROUND FLOOR ROOMS) spacious and comfortable and breakfast is included in the rate. We have 5 rooms available, 3 rooms have a wash hand basin with H & C and razor points, these 3 rooms share the bathroom (Full sized bath with shower and toilet) between them and 1 room is an en-suite with a Full-sized bath with shower, wash hand basin and toilet) & En-suite Chalet. The house is Fully Centrally Heated througout, we have a "wired" Fire/Smoke detection system in all the rooms, with emergency lighting . FREE Wi-Fi available.

There is ample free parking making us an ideal touring base for visits to Dartmoor, Exmoor, North and South coasts as well as the Exeter University Campus which is only 3 miles away.

We are unfortunately NOT WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE of the centre of Exeter, however, we are on a main Exeter - Tiverton Bus route No. 55, daily return tickets and weekly tickets may be purchased on the bus. The Stop which is most convenient for Culm Vale is the Request Stop: "Stoke Canon Mill", Culm Vale Country House is then a 50 or so metre walk up the road on the right with its Large White entrance.

We are open Throughout the Year offering a Friendly Welcome
Picture of Culm Vale Country House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Victorian property, out of town but not too far.

Reviewed by
w bartram

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I loved it, will definitely return. No problems over my late arrival, personal service and a huge room for one person.

Reviewed by
Catherine Ladbrooke

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Treated like royalty
All special requests graciously granted.
Very high quality accommodation in a country house.
Made one feel really welcome.
Breakfast just as you ask for.
The pub in the village is run by the locals as a co-operative well worth seeking out dinner there.

Reviewed by
Simon Martin

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our host at Culm Vale was very welcoming, friendly and most important of all, very thoughtful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Culm Vale as a beautiful idyllic place to stay.

Reviewed by
N Groves

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lets do the Timewarp
Great back in time experience

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My nine year old son and I stayed overnight and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was easy to get to and not far from Exeter city centre but it was lovely and peaceful. The room was clean and tidy the beds comfortable and my sons highlight was the Internet reception and his breakfast. Would highly recommend a stay here and if possible will book again the next time we're passing.

Reviewed by
lisa waller

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend getaway.
This B&B is in a great location for exploring the countryside of Devon, yet is within easy reach of the city of Exeter and the coastal resorts. The people running the B&B were very friendly, the breakfast substantial and well cooked. The bed was very comfortable (in a huge room) and there was no trouble in using the shared bathroom (we did not book an en-suite). A very pleasant stay all round.

Reviewed by
E. M. R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable, comfortable 1 night stay with friendly hosts who were very welcoming and approachable. Location was in a convenient distance of Exeter, and not too stressful to navigate to! Beautiful exterior to the house with a more old-fashioned yet quirky interior design. We used the communal bathroom and didnt have to wait for others to finish before using. Overall, I would recommend.

Reviewed by
J Hicks

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Lovely house - quirky - but great fun and a homely welcome. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Martin Lyon

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute gem of a find
An authentic country house b&b. if you want chrome & leather contemporary settings? Then this is not for you ! It is homely , welcoming and bursting with character. The hosts , Graham and Rebbecca are amiable and strive hard to deliver an excellent quality service, From reception to leaving Ii had nothing but superb hospitality throughout. I would certainly return there without hesitation.

Reviewed by
K Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next