No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heavitree Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
30-32 Heavitree Road, , , Exeter, EX1 2LQ
A high quality bed and breakfast with ensuite rooms, City centre location, near to rail, bus and coach stations as well as both hospitals and universities. Explore Devon and Cornwall from our friendly Edwardian home in Exeter near medieval city walls, Cathedral, and some of the best restaurants. Whether visiting Exeter on business, visiting relatives, or exploring the area you are sure to be impressed. All of the thirteen bedrooms are en-suite. Every room has been individually decorated and furnished with every attention to detail. Original period furnishings compliment the new remote control LCD digital flat screen televisions, double glazing, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, and tea and coffee making facilities. Herbal teas are available on request. Now available is WiFi access in all areas of the Guest House including all bedrooms. Enjoy a freshly prepared full English, vegetarian, or continental breakfast in the breakfast room. We do not serve evening meals, but there are an abundance of excellent eating places nearby which we can advise and recommend.
Picture of Heavitree Guest House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were Double Booked - and the Hotel told us about it far too late!
We booked via Laterooms website about 6 weeks before we wished to stay. Then with only two weeks before we were due to stay, we received an email from the hotel saying that we had been double booked and therefore we could not stay after all. The hotel must have known about ths sitaution for about 4 weeks and did nothing about it.
This was far too late for us to rebook anywhere elsewhere in Exeter. We ended up staying in Taunton 35 miles away. Very disappointed with the Heavitree Guest House.

Reviewed by
Roger P

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and convenient
Initially put off by exterior which appears to be in midst of repair and upgrading appearance; seems work also being done interior. No noise or disturbances while there. Hosts pleasant and accommodating. When shower in initial room not operating properly, provided with another room immediately. Great location for exploring Exeter on foot, and catching buses to other towns, coast, Dartmoor.

Reviewed by
Cynthia G

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Good Customer Service
The room was clean, absolutely fine and what you would expect for a B&B of this price. Staff were exceptionally friendly and really helpful - so a great review on that basis :)

Reviewed by
Kamilla K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little hotel
We arrived late at night but the hosts couldn't be more welcoming or accommodating. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated in an Edwardian style. And the inclusive breakfast offered plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend it as close to the city centre and easy to escape to the coast.

Reviewed by
roger g

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and excellent location

Reviewed by
Francine D

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Staff were really friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very clean, although decor is a little tired.
A much appreciated quiet establishment; no constant slamming doors like in so many
other B+B's.
Because I was leaving at 6:00am; they put fruit and a croissant in my room so that I would
have some breakfast. A lovely gesture.
I would definitely stay there again; and recommend it to friends and family.

Reviewed by
M Collier

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

genuine welcome when we arrived and ideally situated near the city centre - walking distance. Bathroom a little small and cold as radiator not on. Bed unnaturally hard although spotless sheets and blankets. useful to have a groundfloor room for those with mobility problems like my husband.

Reviewed by
A Austin

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience in Exeter
It is very difficult to fault this friendly and helpful establishment.It is situated only a 6 minute walk from Exeter High Street. Nearby facilities include a Chinese restaurant and a Fish n Chip shop.

Reviewed by
David Baker

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and welcoming
Friendly and welcoming reception. Comfortable and spacious room. Delicious breakfast with great service. Would return again

Reviewed by
Kirsten H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb hotel
The title of the hotel on here, "Heavitree Guerst House" is a little misleading, as it is actually called "The Edwardian". However that is a minor gripe and is only here to make sure visitors find this hidden gem of a hotel... It's only about a 5-10 minute walk from the main High Street and therefore easily accessible to all that Exeter has to offer.
On arrival, i was greeted by the landlady, who informed me that there was an issue with the shower in my room which was not working properly (makes a pleasant change to be told without finding out for yourself later on and then having to complain) and because of that there would be a small reduction in the cost for the evening, this is the only reason why i have given it 5 stars instead of 6!
The honesty was very much appreciated. However, I would have quite happily paid full price once i saw the room. The quality was outstanding, what with the leather settee and period furnishings - it puts a lot of very pricey West End hotels to shame!! The room had a very relaxing vibe and it was almost a shame to leave its splendour to go out for the evening.
Must also say that the breakfast was excellent, with quite a range of choice for those of us who like a good old-fashioned fry-up to start the day.
The proprietors, Michael and Jackie could not have been better hosts - and this was evident by the number of repeat bookings they attract (there were some regulars staying when i did). Customer service is prioritised throughout your stay, and you are made to feel like the most important guest they have. A lot of hotels could take a look at how well this place is run, and learn from it.
I'm not normally one for making reviews, but i would be doing this hotel a big disservice by not commenting.. I would highly recommend The Edwardian to anyone wishing to stay in Exeter - my only hope is that when i choose to return it wont be fully booked and I have to book something else!

Reviewed by
Roger S

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next