Reviews - Edwardian Guest Housee


edwardian guest house, 30-32 heavitree road, Exeter, Exeter, EX1 2LQ

Price From 187.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan W

  • October 2015

Exeter Stay

This was an excellent stay in Exeter -well appointed to everything we needed -clean beautiful room with lovely friendly hosts -Highly recommended

  • Trevor S

  • October 2015


  • Simon Johns

  • September 2015

A lovely place to stay

A lovely guest house, immaculately clean, and within easy walking distance to thecentre of the city.

  • A Chee

  • August 2015

Great one night stay

Nice B&B, about 10 mins walk to the city centre.

Rooms are clean, bathroom is a bit small but does its job. The bedroom itself is big.

Friendly staff.

No noise disturbance from other guests.

Breakfast was good.

  • Jayne P

  • October 2014

Fabulous guest house with fabulous service

i was staying alone at this guest house due to the fact I was in Exeter to take my daughter to hospital.

I could not fault it - I was greeted with friendliness by the guest house owner, given keys so that I could come and go, and shown to my room which was lovely - up in the attic rooms. I would definitely stay here again, as I felt safe (being a woman travelling alone this was important), it was clean, and the owner was extremely helpful and friendly. I didn't have breakfast, but this was only due to the nature of my visit (my daughter had to be at hospital early). I would definitely stay here again. Great value for money, and very close to the city centre.

  • William D

  • October 2014

Brief stay

The people and service was excellent and the room nice and clean.

They made me very welcome. It is a pity that breakfast is not served until 8am. As a business traveller I am normally eating breakfast earlier. Also for those who are light sleepers it is worth noting that clocks chime throughout the night.

  • Jasper Selwyn

  • September 2014

Shabby guest house but good breakfast

Its official title is "The Edwardian", which is a good description.

It hasn't been smartened up much in the last 100 years. I arrived about 8 pm, and couldn't get in, or raise the owners by phone. I managed to contact them a bit later, and they told me my key was under the doormat. They apologised when I met them, and were very friendly, but it wasn't a good start. my room was up two flights of stairs, overlooking a busy road. Quite small, but comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and cooked food. I had to get away, and my cooked breakfast was served quickly.

  • Roger P

  • September 2014

We were Double Booked - and the Hotel told us about it far too late!

We booked via Laterooms website about 6 weeks before we wished to stay.

Then with only two weeks before we were due to stay, we received an email from the hotel saying that we had been double booked and therefore we could not stay after all. The hotel must have known about ths sitaution for about 4 weeks and did nothing about it. This was far too late for us to rebook anywhere elsewhere in Exeter. We ended up staying in Taunton 35 miles away. Very disappointed with the Heavitree Guest House.

  • Cynthia G

  • September 2014

Comfortable and convenient

Initially put off by exterior which appears to be in midst of repair and upgrading appearance; seems work also being done interior.

No noise or disturbances while there. Hosts pleasant and accommodating. When shower in initial room not operating properly, provided with another room immediately. Great location for exploring Exeter on foot, and catching buses to other towns, coast, Dartmoor.

  • roger g

  • August 2014

Excellent little hotel

We arrived late at night but the hosts couldn't be more welcoming or accommodating.

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated in an Edwardian style. And the inclusive breakfast offered plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend it as close to the city centre and easy to escape to the coast.