No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heavitree Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
30-32 Heavitree Road, , , Exeter, EX1 2LQ
A high quality bed and breakfast with ensuite rooms, City centre location, near to rail, bus and coach stations as well as both hospitals and universities. Explore Devon and Cornwall from our friendly Edwardian home in Exeter near medieval city walls, Cathedral, and some of the best restaurants. Whether visiting Exeter on business, visiting relatives, or exploring the area you are sure to be impressed. All of the thirteen bedrooms are en-suite. Every room has been individually decorated and furnished with every attention to detail. Original period furnishings compliment the new remote control LCD digital flat screen televisions, double glazing, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, and tea and coffee making facilities. Herbal teas are available on request. Now available is WiFi access in all areas of the Guest House including all bedrooms. Enjoy a freshly prepared full English, vegetarian, or continental breakfast in the breakfast room. We do not serve evening meals, but there are an abundance of excellent eating places nearby which we can advise and recommend.
Picture of Heavitree Guest House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience in Exeter
It is very difficult to fault this friendly and helpful establishment.It is situated only a 6 minute walk from Exeter High Street. Nearby facilities include a Chinese restaurant and a Fish n Chip shop.

Reviewed by
David Baker

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and welcoming
Friendly and welcoming reception. Comfortable and spacious room. Delicious breakfast with great service. Would return again

Reviewed by
Kirsten H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb hotel
The title of the hotel on here, "Heavitree Guerst House" is a little misleading, as it is actually called "The Edwardian". However that is a minor gripe and is only here to make sure visitors find this hidden gem of a hotel... It's only about a 5-10 minute walk from the main High Street and therefore easily accessible to all that Exeter has to offer.
On arrival, i was greeted by the landlady, who informed me that there was an issue with the shower in my room which was not working properly (makes a pleasant change to be told without finding out for yourself later on and then having to complain) and because of that there would be a small reduction in the cost for the evening, this is the only reason why i have given it 5 stars instead of 6!
The honesty was very much appreciated. However, I would have quite happily paid full price once i saw the room. The quality was outstanding, what with the leather settee and period furnishings - it puts a lot of very pricey West End hotels to shame!! The room had a very relaxing vibe and it was almost a shame to leave its splendour to go out for the evening.
Must also say that the breakfast was excellent, with quite a range of choice for those of us who like a good old-fashioned fry-up to start the day.
The proprietors, Michael and Jackie could not have been better hosts - and this was evident by the number of repeat bookings they attract (there were some regulars staying when i did). Customer service is prioritised throughout your stay, and you are made to feel like the most important guest they have. A lot of hotels could take a look at how well this place is run, and learn from it.
I'm not normally one for making reviews, but i would be doing this hotel a big disservice by not commenting.. I would highly recommend The Edwardian to anyone wishing to stay in Exeter - my only hope is that when i choose to return it wont be fully booked and I have to book something else!

Reviewed by
Roger S

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girly weekend in Exeter
Twice a year my friends and I arrange to meet up and this time it was in Exeter! It was difficult to get a triple room for 3 adults and for only a Saturday but thankfully the Heavitree were able to accommodate us. Prior to arrival I called ahead and managed to book a car space which was great as spaces are very limited. On entering the guest house we made our way to our room on the first floor which was situated overlooking the main road into Exeter but with no issues of noise. The room was clean, tidy and we were provided with fresh towels. The room has a lot of trinkets and items that I have only seen in my grandmothers house! I am sure tourists would love this but if we are honest it is definitely not our cup of tea and far too much lacy doilies, chintz and too many trinkets but you could not fault the cleanliness of the room and it was great that we could all share one room together. There was one downfall. ...the tv was not working and although the owner was very helpful on the phone, she mentioned that they had been experiencing problems with the TV but nothing was offered in its place, especially as we wanted the music channels to help us get ready. We had a good nights sleep with no issues and breakfast was served between 8-9 and we were met by a friendly host who could not have been more helpful, there was a choice of cereals, juices, tea, coffee and a cooked breakfast. Checkout was at 10am and it was a simple, easy process but we thought the price of £120 per night was quite expensive but maybe that is what prices cost in the city. I am not sure if we would stay there again purely because we like the more modern, stylish type of accommodation but if you like the idea of staying somewhere that is a little more like going to a relative's house and like trinkets then the Heavitree is the place for you.

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Stayed here for 2 nights for my daughters graduation with my sister. Greeted by Jackie the owner who made us feel welcome straight away. Stayed in room 15 on ground floor. Very nice room and comfortable bed. The breakfast was first class. We walked into the city centre with ease within 10 minute but it would be a little bit hilly for anyone with mobility issues. All in all a very enjoyable stay. There was no "lounge" area to relax or wait for my sister to get ready . That isn't a criticism just an observation. I would stay here again

Reviewed by
john ennis

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very central place to stay for Exeter City Centre.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room for 3 was very spacious and relaxing but you were worried that you would knock over one of the many vases or china figures.

Reviewed by
Rachel R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place
I stayed for one night. It was very pleasant and next time I am in Exeter I will stay again. Excellent value for money with very helpful hosts.

Reviewed by
Julia P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice b&b, close to town

Reviewed by
J L

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2