No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Anchor Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, Hartland, , Bideford, EX39 6BD
The Anchor Inn is a 16th Century Inn situated in the charming village of Hartland near Bideford on the picturesque and rugged coastline of North Devon and is an ideal watering hole for walkers and bikers. Phil and Alison have a well earned reputation for their excellent, traditional English food and fine real ales. There are 11 letting rooms which are comfortably furnished and make an ideal base from which to explore the breathtaking North Devon Coast and Countryside. There is a 45 seater restaurant as well as the bar and lounge which has a wonderful, cosy open fire to warm yourself by. You may also like to enjoy a game of pool or darts and in the summer months the beer garden and terrace are a great place to relax with views over the surrounding countryside. There is plenty to do and see around Hartland please see our Places of Interest page and enjoy your stay with us! Why not take a tour of our local Forge Brewery and taste the Real Ales.
Picture of The Anchor Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anchor Inn had a long arranged party booked for the night we stayed, but didn't let us know until after we had booked in. Told us we had the quietest room, but the loud music kept us awake until just after 1am, when it finally stopped. Music was turned down a little when my wife went down and complained at about 12.30.
No chairs in the room, nor space for them to be added.

Reviewed by
Trevor W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing country / coastal break
Alison and her daughter Amy could not do enough to help, very friendly and provided great food at breakfast & evening meals. The accommodation is in process of refurbishment but does not detract from the overall experience. For the cost, its good value for money.

Reviewed by
Nigel W

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and relaxing stay
Room was clean and had been recently decorated, the stairwell had just been replastered after damage in the winter storms,aimee the landlady was very friendly and the beer was excellent.

Reviewed by
CRAIG ADAMSON

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break

Reviewed by
M Gregory

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The anchor inn is great value for money, friendly and accommodating staff. The decor as reviewed previously is basic and dated but for the money i would come back. Just few odd bug bears. The room although generally clean could do with a thorough clean behind beds and in the drawers etc and a catch on the door to the stairs would be of benefit as it tends to slam shut and echo through the ceilings. I would visit again. Very accommodating and brought in soya milk for me as lactose intolerant.

Reviewed by
Gavin Brockis

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd stay again
Enjoyed staying here. Loved the bathtub. Breakfast was excellent and hot.

Reviewed by
LINDA C

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Stayed three nights. Lovely people, especially Alison and Amy imade us feel so welcome we forgot we were paying guests, beds comfortable and clean. I feel they need more staff , especially at dinner time, rooms a little shabby although nicely decorated , sink tap needs fixing to the sink and only one bedside cabinet? Only one mirror above the sink which I found it difficult to use my hair dryer . Few big spiders in bathroom, overall excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
A Boulton

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely welcoming place, very quiet.
staff are very helpful and friendly. this was our second visit and would definitely go back again

Reviewed by
debbie a

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
First impressions on arri val were deceptive. The pub is in the throws of improving the rooms and the ones myself and a friend had had recently been re-furbished. They were very nice and comfortable with tea & coffee. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Food and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Cole

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
We had a lovely 4 nights at the anchor inn, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food served in the restaurant was excellent. We would love to go back and stay with the anchor again.

Reviewed by
Jemma S

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next