No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Anchor Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, Hartland, , Bideford, EX39 6BD
The Anchor Inn is a 16th Century Inn situated in the charming village of Hartland near Bideford on the picturesque and rugged coastline of North Devon and is an ideal watering hole for walkers and bikers. Phil and Alison have a well earned reputation for their excellent, traditional English food and fine real ales. There are 11 letting rooms which are comfortably furnished and make an ideal base from which to explore the breathtaking North Devon Coast and Countryside. There is a 45 seater restaurant as well as the bar and lounge which has a wonderful, cosy open fire to warm yourself by. You may also like to enjoy a game of pool or darts and in the summer months the beer garden and terrace are a great place to relax with views over the surrounding countryside. There is plenty to do and see around Hartland please see our Places of Interest page and enjoy your stay with us! Why not take a tour of our local Forge Brewery and taste the Real Ales.
Picture of The Anchor Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd stay again
Enjoyed staying here. Loved the bathtub. Breakfast was excellent and hot.

Reviewed by
LINDA C

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Stayed three nights. Lovely people, especially Alison and Amy imade us feel so welcome we forgot we were paying guests, beds comfortable and clean. I feel they need more staff , especially at dinner time, rooms a little shabby although nicely decorated , sink tap needs fixing to the sink and only one bedside cabinet? Only one mirror above the sink which I found it difficult to use my hair dryer . Few big spiders in bathroom, overall excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
A Boulton

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely welcoming place, very quiet.
staff are very helpful and friendly. this was our second visit and would definitely go back again

Reviewed by
debbie a

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
First impressions on arri val were deceptive. The pub is in the throws of improving the rooms and the ones myself and a friend had had recently been re-furbished. They were very nice and comfortable with tea & coffee. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Food and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Cole

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
We had a lovely 4 nights at the anchor inn, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food served in the restaurant was excellent. We would love to go back and stay with the anchor again.

Reviewed by
Jemma S

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Landlady Alison made us very welcome, told us we should have been in a recently refurbished room but the shower wasn't working. Our room was o.k. The bedding was clean and fresh , tea & coffee making facilities and biscuits replenished daily. There was no hairdryer but had we asked I am sure my wife could have borrowed one. The shower could have been a little cleaner.
Breakfast was good, however the dining room floor needed hovering, I noticed the same bits and pieces on the floor both mornings. Considering Alison and her daughter Amy run the place almost single handed they are doing a good job. My wife left something in the room and it has been posted back for which we are gratefull.

Reviewed by
derek w

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful
Dirty carpets, dirty bathroom, TV didn't work, tried both beds but couldn't sleep in either as mattress was so spongey.
Paid for B&B but was told if I wanted breakfast before 9 am I had no chance !! I was told if I wanted to eat I should book, when I walked passed the "restaurant" at 8.30pm it was empty.
If I had paid full price for that room I would have demanded a refund.
Never ever again !

ManagementResponse

We have never ever told guests you have no chance of breakfast before 9.00am, we serve breakfast between 9.00 and 9.30 as most guests love this, but we do realise some guests require breakfast earlier and we always oblige if requested we have served it at 7.30 on several occasions where most places would not change times for any reason, we don't ask guests to book for restaurant as we always put guests first. I am sorry you felt beds were not to your liking other guests do like those mattresses and as you booked a standard room the bathroom was a shared one and most people would appreciate we can not stand outside the bathroom waiting to clean it after other guests have used it and the tv works perfectly well if you struggled operating it you could of asked for assistance, as you could of asked for a different room if you was not happy with it, different people have different tastes. You booked the cheapest room we have, maybe if your particular you should look at spending a little more money as you generally get what you pay for. We bend over backwards to look after our guests and tend to their needs and it upsets me when they are not happy.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff were very helpful and friendly as were the locals. the room was spacious, clean and had a sink, tv and coffee making facilities. we had everything we need close at hand and were made to feel very welcome

Reviewed by
debbie a

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room in need of upgrade but service good
Having previously stayed in inns in the area and paid less for accommodation disappointed that room did not have TV as listed when booked online. Decor dated and marks on ceiling where water had flooded through. Food however was excellent and staff friendly.

ManagementResponse

Sorry about the missing tv in your room, we had one break the previous night and had not been able to replace it, this has now been rectified. Has for the décor we are upgrading rooms as time and money allow, the water mark on the ceiling appeared at the beginning of the season and should not of as we had roof replaced 2 years ago. Im sure you will understand we cant do it all at once. I am pleased you enjoyed the food, that is something we can control on a daily basis and hope you come again.

Reviewed by
bridget b

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough welcome by a very pleasant person. Thought the accomadation needed updating and refurbishing. Breakfast ok but a little overpriced for what you got.

Reviewed by
w butler

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next