No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside Cottage Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
New Road, , , Bideford, EX39 5HB
Riverside Cottage is the very best Devon has to offer in Bed and Breakfast (B&B). Flanked by 2 acres of formal gardens and 2 acres of woodland Riverside Cottage commands magnificent panoramic views of the River Torridge and surrounding countryside. Self-catering Riverside Apartment Bideford, Devon. The launch of the 1 bedroom self-catering Riverside Apartment offering a spacious open plan lounge/kitchen with a breakfast bar running the full length of a double window, enjoys the glorious panoramic views of the River Torridge and surrounding countryside, it has a king size bedroom, opposite a separate large walk-in shower & WC. The apartment warmly welcomes both dogs and children. Bed and Breakfast (B&B) Bideford, Devon. Riverside Cottage Bed and Breakfast Guest House is 1 mile from the ancient port and market town of Bideford and is ideally situated between Dartmoor and Exmoor National Parks. The spectacular North Devon coast offers fantastic walks along the South West Coast Path and Riverside Cottage is perfectly situated to easily accessible drives to beaches at Instow, Woolacombe, Saunton and the sandy surfing beach at Westward Ho! and Northam Burrows.
Picture of Riverside Cottage Guest House, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful guest house in a stunning location
The house was beautiful, the welcome was warm and the location was perfect
I will be staying again definitely

Reviewed by
Elliott Berry

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service and room was spotless.
nothing was too much trouble and even went to the shops to get my wife gluten free food for her breakfast and biscuits for the room

Reviewed by
chris l

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utterly perfect in every way.
This was my Facebook status on our return - it says it all - ''Just had the most awesome of holidays - we started each day with a delicious home-cooked breakfast and ended them, tired but happy, relaxing in our beautiful room. We sat on our balcony and watched the tidal river rush in and then meander out, we 'ohhhhed' at the sunsets turning the water a glittery gold and then 'ahhhhed' as the moon rose in turn,sending silvery streaks scudding across the water. We waved to the trainee surfers standing precariously on their boards paddling downstream and the busy paddling kayakers, we visted nearby Clovelly and battled the rain-slick cobbles downhill and up. We ate fish and chips overlooking Bideford quay. We picnic-ed at Instow and admired the fishing boats, we dashed through the wild waves leaping the sea wall at Westward Ho! Blissful, every single minute.''

Reviewed by
andrew fowler

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B we've visited
We wanted somewhere near the Tarka Trail. Riverside Cottage was nearer to an access point than anticipated. Everything had been thought of from bottles of water in the bedroom to 'proper' shampoo in the en suite. Home made bread for breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. It's right next to a busy road so I thought noise would be a problem but it wasn't. Easy to walk into Bideford or drive to other places.

Reviewed by
Meg H

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcoming place
Stayed here for one night while in Devon on business and delighted I did. The setting on the river is delightful and Donna was an extremely welcoming and informative host. I particularly enjoyed my guided tour of the cottage farm! Bedroom was well furnished with very nice attention to detail. Not the most spacious or with the best of views, but it is advertised as an economy room with limited views, so that's perfectly fair. The adjacent balcony room was lovely, with spectacular views across the river. Great breakfast with lots of home produce. Shame I had to check out and do some work!

Reviewed by
Nicholas E

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
This is the second time I've stayed at Riverside Cottage and again, was delighted with my stay. Donna and Simon have enhanced the ease of parking by adding some extra space and the ability to purchase an individual glass of wine or beer is a nice touch (my sister and I went prepared but I won't feel the need to do so another time!). The location is lovely and close to many major tourist attractions/towns. Will definitely return!

Reviewed by
Linda S

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A enjoyable stay
Good welcome, good accommodation, good food, pleasant location.

Reviewed by
Anthony Ward Jones

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Just returned after staying 4 nights in Riverside cottage. We had a very enjoyable stay. Good location 20 minute walks in to Bideford along a single width path in some areas, where you will find an array of nice restaurants and pubs. The cottage overlooks the river Torridge which changed every time you looked out of the window. In the evenings after returning to the cottage we sat outside with a drink. One night it was raining so we sat in the boat house, Donna and Simon didn’t mind you using the outside area. The room was clean; breakfast was good with lovely views over the river. Our hosts were very friendly and even asked if we wanted to use their boat (a kayak) on the river. I would recommend a stay here and would like to return one day.

Reviewed by
K Davies

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B&B
Donna and Simon were both very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with a lovely ensuite. We stayed in the garden room which had a lovely view of the river and the gardens. Breakfast was lovely with views even more stunning than the room. The food was fantastic using all locally sourced ingredients. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Reviewed by
Jonathan L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Stay at Riverside Cottage
Highly Recommend Riverside Cottage the setting and house were both beautiful and restful, We were made to feel very welcome from the start of our stay by Donna and Simon who are a lovely couple. We stayed in the Garden Room which we a great size and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great too with most of the ingredients being home grown/made. Can honestly say we will be returning in the near future.

Reviewed by
Sharon Geall

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next