No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Appledore House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Meeting Street , Appledore, EX39 1RJ
Gina, Mark and Ann welcome you to Appledore Guest House and all it has to offer. This 18th century house, formerly a vicarage, and more recently a private home sits in a prime location in the picturesque village of Appledore with its history steeped in shipbuilding, fishing and pretty much all things water. The stunning estuary views you see from the house are of the Torridge and Taw rivers and across the estuary you see the sister village of Instow and its golden sands and dunes. In Appledore there are many things to do, with a number of pubs, restaurants, fishing Trips, crabbing, walking, cycling, canoeing, windsurfing, sailing to name but a few,. For the kids there are many theme parks in easy driving distance, with the Big Sheep and Milky Way by far the closest and most popular. The Beaches of Instow, Westward Ho are minutes away and for the shoppers there are the towns of Bideford and Barnstaple as well as the outlet stores at the Atlantic Village. There are plenty of leaflets in the lobby should you wish to explore please take one or just ask one us we are here to help. We hope this will be the perfect base for your North Devon experience, have a wonderful stay and thank you for choosing Appledore House Gina, Ann &Mark
Picture of Appledore House, Appledore at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent B&B
Great B&B in a lovely town. Rooms and service good, parking not great as they only have a small car park, but lots of spaces within walking distance, good breakfast in morning with views over the estuary to compliment. will return again.

Reviewed by
Dale S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good guest house
A welcoming place, tastefully decorated and well situated in Appledore.
Would recommend it to most of my friends.

Reviewed by
Adrian G

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appledore House provided exactly what we wanted and expected.

Reviewed by
Colin T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation with great views
This was the second time we have stayed at Appledore House and we will stay again. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast is excellent. Would recommend

Reviewed by
Glyn Hopkins

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really like Appledore House !!!
Mark & Gina are great hosts. Room was fabulously well appointed &spotless. Breakfast was superb.

Reviewed by
Alan Windsor

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Superb Hotel, wonderful welcome, the room had fantastic views and was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was just what the doctor ordered, over all our stay was an excellent experience and given the chance we will return to stay again.

Reviewed by
Simon Andrew Crewes

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful estuary break
Wonderful comfortable welcoming stay . Hoe to return very soon .

Reviewed by
susan b

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Set above Appledore a great B&B with views over the village and the river Taw
Had an early start Sunday for golf and the host was more than happy to cook an early breakfast.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice place, lovely views and made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Steve E

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable two night stay
We enjoyed our stay at Appledore House. From the moment we arrived the friendliness of owner Mark was apparent. Parking the car was a little difficult as parking is limited, but Mark was very helpful in finding us space. Our room was fairly spacious and the quality of the furniture and fittings was very high. The provision of a bathrobe and slippers was a very thoughtful touch. The choice in the dining room at breakfast meant that there was something for everybody and the quantity and quality of the food was excellent. We would certainly stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
R Brooks

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next