No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kilworthy Farm Guesthouse

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
.Kilworthy Farm, , , Tavistock, PL19 0JN
Kilworthy Farm can only be discribed as one of Devon's Hidden Gems,and is well known for its range of Victorian farm buildings built in 1851-1853 by Francis, the 7th Duke of Bedford. The buildings consist of the remains of a waterwheel, the largest in Devon with a diameter of 30 feet, a granary/machinery barn, three parallel cow houses, an undercroft and a separate stable yard. The buildings reflect the most advanced and visionary thinking of the day for beef production. The scale, technological innovation and extravagance of the Kilworthy farmstead make it of national significance and justifies its Grade II* status. Restored at a cost of £345,000 by English Heritage it opened to the public in 2003 Set 2 miles from the histroric Stannary Town of Tavistock, We are a 150 acre working beef and sheep farm with stunning views down through a wooded valley and out over the western slopes of Dartmoor. Kilworthy has 3 re-furbished and comfortable rooms they are Staple Tor – an en-suite double room Brent Tor – an en-suite twin/super-king room Mistor – a spacious double and Single (family room) with a private bathroom All bedrooms have a remote-controlled television, a well equipped welcome tray of refreshments, filtered water and toiletries. Bathrooms have power showers. Kilworthy breakfasts range from light continental style to a ‘full English’ of free-range eggs, local bacon and sausages, tomatoes and all the trimmings. Just the thing to set you up for a day of walking or sightseeing. Your hostess, Sandra Vallance has recently become a member of Food & Drink Devon and has a well deserved reputation for good food and provides delicious evening meals, packed lunches and cream teas by arrangement – all featuring the locally produced food for which Devon is famous. Special diets and barbecues can be catered for if prior notice is givenThe comfortable visitors lounge has a wood-burning stove and television.
Picture of Kilworthy Farm Guesthouse, Tavistock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kilworthy Farm Recommendation
As the title suggests I would not hesitate in recommending this both clean and characterful farmhouse B&B to others. The owners are friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Top m,arks for breakfast too!

Reviewed by
r hart

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country hideaway working farm
Dogs, cats, puppies, chickens, ducks, pigs, and cows, so close to Tavistock town centre, just up the road, second on the right, and then yet down a very long country lane. Arthur and his family true Devon country folk. This is true farm house B&B, no frills, just home cooking by the farmers wife. Hospitality and friendliness 5 star.

Reviewed by
jeremy w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural and Peaceful
Kilworthy Farm is a great place, only 2 miles from Tavistock up a narrow lane, yet right out in the country with wonderful views of the surrounding landscape. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and comfortable, and I was shown round the farm by the owners' grandson while my breakfast - fantastic - was cooked. It's a working farm and pretty rustic, but I'd definitely stay there again; the buildings have an interesting history, too, and the owners are friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alex S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive points: great view from room even lying in bed!, very quiet and peaceful, huge comfortable bed. The rest of it was a bit of a let down, not very homely, breakfast plentiful but a bit disappointing. Power shower made the right noises but failed to deliver. Sorry.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real down to earth farmhouse experience with very hospitable hosts..
If you love working farms and animals, a stay at Kilworthy Farm is a must! I was there on business, and would have appreciated a desk/chair in my room to work, but for one night I managed. Sandra and Arthur, my hosts, couldn't do enough for me, and the breakfast was superb.. I will definitely stay here again, on a social rather than business trip. A real experience with no frills, what you see is what you get - I loved it!

Reviewed by
Susan Roe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An interesting working farm with grade 2 listed buildings
Plenty to see, both near, and views of the delightful surrounding landscape. The solidly-built farmhouse is well-equipped and well run. This is a slice of real Devon, sheep & beef cattle covering their 150+ acres. Ducks & kittens appear around the house and outbuildings. The farm's adjacent to one of the original stately homes which once surrounded Tavistock. Kilworthy House is now a learning centre, but was once the northern marker of the gentrified estates in the area. They still have a point-to-point here. Tavistock rugby club is down the road .We saw a litter) of 4 very young stoats playing in the narrow road halfway back downhill to Tavistock.

Reviewed by
E Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Farmhouse B & B
We enjoyed the two nights at the farmhouse. The food was excellent and the location was super.
Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Linda M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at kilworthy farm tavistock
i very much enjoyed my stay lovely couple went out of there way to make stay interesting and accomodating. history of farm was amazing, food was excellent and ended with my family meeting me who had a tour of the farm and animals my grandchildren loved it. would definately recommend but dont leave too late at night to find was away from everything down a long narrow lane but that also added to the magic of a short wonderful stay. Janis

Reviewed by
janis w

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Killworthy Farm
Very friendly family - I had dinner on my second night and it was so nice to share a nice home cooked meal with others; great company and much better than a lonely meal on my own! Fascinating to see and hear about the farm. Fabulous views from my window. Very good value for money. I hope for more business in this area so that I can go and stay again with Sandra and her family.

Reviewed by
Joan S

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hospitable & made very welcome. Good value for money & mega breakfast! ;-)

Reviewed by
S Dollery

From Burnham on sea , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next