No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG
ALL ROOMS REFURBISHED Spring 2014 - Only 4 miles from Oxford and on the outskirts of the Cotswolds, the Chequers is a beautiful and imposing three-story Cotswold stone traditional inn, offering excellent food, fine wines, real ales and lovely accommodation. There are eight versatile double, twin and family en-suite guest rooms. Each room is a different shape and individually dressed. We have 3 Family rooms, 3 King Bedded rooms, 1 Twin Bedded room and 1 Double Bedded Room.
PLEASE NOTE:- You may pay when you check in. Alternatively, you will be required to allow us to pre authorise a credit or debit card for the total of accommodation plus 25% for extra's. Thank You
Please remember to take your receipt with you. Copy receipts will be charged at £5 to cover our admin costs
Picture of The Chequers Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming in a good way!
The chequers inn manages to pull off modern, clean and bright all within what should be an old fashioned building. Alongside the low beams and old wooden chairs in the bar, you'll find beige walls, clean lines and not a single brass knick knack. The rooms too have the same charm; clean, soft neutrals, still maintaining a welcoming country feel, yet not a single rose print duvet or chintzy curtain in sight. Staff couldn't have been nicer, very welcoming and friendly. Definitely recommend to singles, couples or families.

Reviewed by
ray c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chequers Inn was a good choice for our Late room booking.Well worth a visit.
We needed an emergency overnight booking in the Oxford area due to my mother's delayed hospital stay.We booked Bed and Breakfast at the Chequers Inn while still at the hospital and checked in within two hours of Booking.We didn't want to stay in a busy urban venue as needed to relax and unwind and preferred an Inn rather than a hotel and therefore didn't mind a few miles drive away from the hospital.
The hospitality and friendly service provided by the hosts was second to none.Our en suite room was spacious ,spotless and comfortable.This lovely little Inn which is set in quiet rural surroundings also had the option to purchase an evening meal,which was very welcome.The food was perfect with a good menu choice. The inclusive Breakfast offered a plentiful,wonderfully cooked menu, to include Full English, which set us up for another day at the hospital and then on for our long drive home.We will definitely return but hopefully for Leisure purposes on our next visit.

Reviewed by
S Bullock

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, the food wasn't too good
Me and my othe half had a fantastic time staying at the chequers inn, our room was perfect and the bed comfy. Would defo return here for future trips to the oxford area.
The food was not particularly good, whilst the restaurant was a lovely setting, the food was no great shakes. Small portion of sharing nachos and the burger was bland.
Had a fantastic stay none the less

Reviewed by
Jacob R

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
A fine B&B which was good value for the money we paid. If you are tall it would have been a bit of a squash n a squeeze, as room was in the attic of the house, so slanting roof space. The beds were very comfortable and we all managed to sleep well, once the problem with the slamming door downstairs had stopped, as people arrived at night time. A few bits of TLC required in bathroom, such as cracked, wobbly floor tiles. Hot water was very hot! The hosts were very friendly and the lady who cooked the breakfast was lovely - happy, smiley and very accommodating with the choice of food for my daughter, her cooked breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
N Amey

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant welcoming staff. Being a pub the room was small as to be expected but very clean and the bed was comfortable. The food was well prepared and attractively served and proved very tasty.

Reviewed by
Vera Carlson

From Kendal, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good location for travelling to the centre of Oxford and a great B & B accommodation
I will be returning

Reviewed by
GARRY S

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable
Lovely little B&B, but pricey compared to other guest houses in the area. Breakfast was tasty.

Reviewed by
Elaine W

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and welcoming staff--good food

Reviewed by
B vinton

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.Chequers Cassington
Very pleasant stay, staff excellent service very good, ideal spot to use as base for visiting Cotswolds and Oxford.
Good menu first class food served by a friendly and helpful staff.
Ample parking safe and secure.
Situated near most main roads and M40 and A34.
The owner has some excellent plans for future improvements.

Reviewed by
R Parkinson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not stay at the Chequers

Reviewed by
J Twomey

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next