No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG
ALL ROOMS REFURBISHED Spring 2014 - Only 4 miles from Oxford and on the outskirts of the Cotswolds, the Chequers is a beautiful and imposing three-story Cotswold stone traditional inn, offering excellent food, fine wines, real ales and lovely accommodation. There are eight versatile double, twin and family en-suite guest rooms. Each room is a different shape and individually dressed. We have 3 Family rooms, 3 King Bedded rooms, 1 Twin Bedded room and 1 Double Bedded Room.
PLEASE NOTE:- You may pay when you check in. Alternatively, you will be required to allow us to pre authorise a credit or debit card for the total of accommodation plus 25% for extra's. Thank You
Please remember to take your receipt with you. Copy receipts will be charged at £5 to cover our admin costs
Picture of The Chequers Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory
Room comfortable although the paint work in the bathroom was peeling.

Reviewed by
M Latimer

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money! In need of new mattress!!
Great for location as we wanted to be near to Oxford. My only gripe was the bed was very uncomfortable!!

Reviewed by
e harris

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural Cotswold Retreat
Situated on the eastern edge of the Cotswold's, this is a quiet country retreat and a good place from which to explore the local area. For example, the magnificent Blenheim Palace (where you can easily spend an entire day) is only a 20-minute drive away. The staff here were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was ideal serving good food at reasonable prices. Lovely to hear the village church bells ringing at 09.00 on Sunday morning.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Church bells
At 9 am on Sunday morning, church bells were a bit annoying. Otherwise all good

Reviewed by
P Dickinson

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Chequers Inn
Pleasant village pub with clean comfortable rooms.

Reviewed by
Stephen b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem
Nice country inn, friendly welcome and easy check in. Room was modern nicely furnished, good shower in the nice ensuite and double bed comfortable. Flat screen wall mounted tv was really good size and unlike other places we have stayed the tv remote worked perfectly. We really enjoyed this stay, we had a meal in the evening which was excellent very tasty and served with a smile, the cheesecake dessert I had was the best I have ever tasted and the bill was reasonable. There is the village church behind the Inn and it was lovely after the tasty breakfast in the morning to walk around the church, we chose this Inn to visit Oxford which is around 10 minutes away. We will return.

Reviewed by
sheila h

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

oxford visit
lovely room, bathroom could do with an up date. very clean and fresh bedding. Hairdryer provided was useful. Comfortable. Would have liked vegetarian alternative for breakfast, but family enjoyed theirs.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
Lovely accommodation. Really well appointed room. Clean. Sorting the wobbly toilet, wobbly floor tiles and adding a shower fitting (for washing hair) at least would make it perfect! Food was outstanding. Dinner - wonderful burgers and delicious fish and chips. Breakfast - great choice of cold items and made to order hot breakfast. Would happily stay there again!

Reviewed by
Jayne B

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic find!
A last minute decision to go to Oxford lead us to The Chequers Inn. The room was lovely and clean. The toilet was a little wobbly but a minor issue. A lovely evening meal was had in the pub and an excellent full English breakfast provided the following morning which set up nicely for a day in Oxford. The young lady behind the bar was very pleasant and efficient. I would highly recommend The Chequers Inn.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uncomfortable and disappointing
We were in the middle of moving house and were exhasted, so needed somewhere comfortable to sleep for one night between houses because we had a hard day of moving into our new home the next day.
We ate at the pub that evening. The food was OK, but not great.
The manageress wished us a good night, saying that she thought we would have a good sleep because the beds were really comfortable. The bedroom was clean and tidy, but as soon as we got into bed we realised the mattress was very lumpy and dreadfully uncomfortable and we just couldn't get to sleep. After dozing off then waking up from the discomfort for several hours, about 3.30am we tried sleeping on top of the duvet which was much more comfortable, but not warm enough so we had to sleep with our dressing gowns on.
At 5.15am, we were rudely awoken by people having a loud conversation on the landing outside the room next to ours. After about ten minutes, I was totally fed up so looked out and saw several other guests having this conversation white waiting for a friend. They were quite surprised that anyone should be trying to sleep at that time, but did quieten down when I asked. We then had about one hours more sleep before we had to get up.
We had hoped to have breakfast (which we'd paid for) at 7am because we had to leave at 7.30, but the manageress told us the night before that breakfast couldn't be served until 7.30am.
We had paid the bill the night before because the manageress said the breakfast lady wouldn't be able to take the payment. We would definitely have told somebody how uncomfortable we had been during the night, but nobody was around when we left in the morning.

Reviewed by
Maggie G

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next