No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG
ALL ROOMS REFURBISHED Spring 2014 - Only 4 miles from Oxford and on the outskirts of the Cotswolds, the Chequers is a beautiful and imposing three-story Cotswold stone traditional inn, offering excellent food, fine wines, real ales and lovely accommodation. There are eight versatile double, twin and family en-suite guest rooms. Each room is a different shape and individually dressed. We have 3 Family rooms, 3 King Bedded rooms, 1 Twin Bedded room and 1 Double Bedded Room.
PLEASE NOTE:- You may pay when you check in. Alternatively, you will be required to allow us to pre authorise a credit or debit card for the total of accommodation plus 25% for extra's. Thank You
Please remember to take your receipt with you. Copy receipts will be charged at £5 to cover our admin costs
Picture of The Chequers Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basically fine but a little overpriced
The Chequers is essentially fine but in need of some improvement. I stayed with my husband and toddler in the family room overlooking the front of the pub. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom tired and without a shower. The carpets throughout could also do with a deep clean.
At £120 per night, I felt it a little overpriced for pub with rooms, even for Oxfordshire.
On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and I would stay there again for the odd night.

Reviewed by
E Thorogood

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed!
We stayed here mainly for the proximity to Eynsham where a friend was getting married. The room was bright and clean, and the breakfast was very good. The room was quite small, but it suited our needs just fine and was pretty good value. It's not far from Oxford center either, so if we ever have need to stay in the area again, we'll be back!

Reviewed by
G Yeo

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scanfrumtarn
Very nice quaint little pub , we got last room so not biggest , but adequate . Best breakfast I've had in a long time

Reviewed by
kevin m

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesqe area but hotel in need of some updating. Bed very soft and noise from pub-goers outside. Breakfast good.

Reviewed by
Anne D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor value for money.breakfast first morning presented with a bottle of sour milk and salt cellar fell to pieces.food generally of poor quality or overcooked[made complaint re whitebait one evening as it was burnt].room at top of building requiring the agility of a mountain goat.room furnishings old with stains on it and handle missing from chest of drawers and a rickety chair..bathroom sink and bath taps did not match and bath taps they moved.on a positive note the staff seemed friendly and helpful.overall I think the whole place needed a refurbisment.

Reviewed by
p banfield

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel and pub area were great and staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Emma B

From Cornwall, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly amazing food
The quality of the food was surprising and exceeded all expectations. I would go back to the hotel just to eat at the restaurant. If you have a car while in Oxford or are just passing through, I HIGHLY recommend the restaurant. While I could not get the pork belly because all portions had been sold, I heard that is it not to be missed!

Reviewed by
G Mayback

From USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There is one other problem that doesnt relate to the room, they have a door at the bottom of some steps on a self close strut fire door, when it closes the room i stopped in, when it bangs it almost shakes you out of bed.
Other than that great place excellent food.

Reviewed by
Craig H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend breakaway
The place is very peaceful, the beer tasty and the bed does the job. The doors are thin on the rooms and some times it sounds like the next door guests are coming in. Food is good, chef spiecals were very enjoyable. Over all a nice breakaway in the country.

Reviewed by
Shane B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay at Chequers Inn
Very friendly and courteous staff who made us feel welcome from the start. Only stayed one night B&B on business which was very efficient check in and out. Car park at rear plenty of space. Old pub for a relaxing drink!

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next