The Chequers Inn

3

6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (103)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jane O

  • February 2014

We love the Chequers

We stayed here for a weekend break last year and liked it so much we came back again.

We are always made to feel very welcome at the Chequers and the rooms are lovely, made extra special this year by the sound of the church bells on Sunday morning. We will be back again next year for sure.

  • Andrew M

  • February 2014

Business trip to Oxford

Couldn't fault - room excellent, service excellent and food great.

Will be staying again if in the area. Only thing to be critical, and it maybe booking service via Laterooms, is that price on search engine stated £45 offer (which obviously catches your attention but when I came to finalise the booking it was actually £75 for the night (more in line with my expectations of pricing in the area). However, happy with what I paid for but dont be drawn in by Laterooms lower pricing.

  • Paula C

  • January 2014

Lovely, newly decorated and spacious Bedrooms !

We had a Fantastic weekend at the Chequers, a newly decorated, airly and spacious Restaurant and bedroom with en suite close to Oxford.

The Bar & Restaurant are really nice and Breakfast was scrumptious. Amazing Coffee and so much to choose from.... Loved it :)

  • Karen D

  • January 2014

A comfortable night.

The family room was spacious and had recently been painted, plenty of refreshments were available along with decaf coffee.

(Normally I have to make a special request for this item.) Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. My grandson and I had a lovely time reading and eating pizza by the fire in their pub lounge on the evening of our arrival. My only complaint is that the room was cold on arrival, however, on turning up the radiators it didn't take long for the room to heat up, but it would have been nice to have it warm for our arrival. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • C Warner

  • December 2013

Absolutely beautiful pub and accommodation.

Lovely breakfast. Taxi cost £20 to oxford which is madness. I would recommend.

  • Sue N

  • November 2013

compact & bixou

This is a b&b in a pub so we were not expecting the Ritz.

Our room(Rm 6) was very small and no space to swing a cat.Having a tall husband the shower in the ensuite was a bit cramped and you had to be careful using the loo as there was a radiator right next to it, so sml health and safety issue there. Having said, everywhere was clean but in need of some updating and tlc. The pub and village lovely and very convenient for onward travel. Staff helpful and friendly. Guess we were just hoping for a bit more when looking at the photos of the outside. Shame

  • A O'Malley

  • November 2013

Clean and friendly

Clean, friendly and unpretentious

  • Thomas S

  • November 2013

Helpful, friendly and clean.

I was pleasantly surprised with my experience at The Chequers Inn, Cassington.

I had moved down from Lancashire to Oxford and needed somewhere to stay for a week. Every member of staff was extremely friendly and showed genuine interest in being helpful, from the gentleman behind the bar who gave me a good insight on the local area and region, to the waitress who was very friendly and efficient. The food was delicious and the atmosphere in the pub was welcoming. The room was always cleaned and tidied each day. The free car parking was also very convenient. It is perfect for anyone planning to visit Oxford but wants to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city, with perfect Park and Ride facilities within a 5-7mins drive. I would definitely stay again.

  • G Yeo

  • November 2013

Just what we needed!

We stayed here mainly for the proximity to Eynsham where a friend was getting married.

The room was bright and clean, and the breakfast was very good. The room was quite small, but it suited our needs just fine and was pretty good value. It's not far from Oxford center either, so if we ever have need to stay in the area again, we'll be back!

  • a miles

  • November 2013

handy for Oxford

The Chequers is located just North of Oxford but convenient for the park and ride into town - parking is a nightmare in Oxford.

Its a lovely pub atmosphere and ambiance but restaurant quality food. Our room was well equipped and everything worked but the bathroom could do with updating although it was perfectly fine for our short stay. Overall good value for money with very friendly and helpful staff.