No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG
ALL ROOMS REFURBISHED Spring 2014 - Only 4 miles from Oxford and on the outskirts of the Cotswolds, the Chequers is a beautiful and imposing three-story Cotswold stone traditional inn, offering excellent food, fine wines, real ales and lovely accommodation. There are eight versatile double, twin and family en-suite guest rooms. Each room is a different shape and individually dressed. We have 3 Family rooms, 3 King Bedded rooms, 1 Twin Bedded room and 1 Double Bedded Room.
PLEASE NOTE:- You may pay when you check in. Alternatively, you will be required to allow us to pre authorise a credit or debit card for the total of accommodation plus 25% for extra's. Thank You
Please remember to take your receipt with you. Copy receipts will be charged at £5 to cover our admin costs
Picture of The Chequers Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
My first impression on arrival was somewhat dissapointing. The building looked a little dowdy and not vvery inspiring. Inside however things began to look up. A friendly and efficient Australian young lady greeted me and explained all I needed to know. My room was fine - if not a little old fashioned, but fine all the same. The room facilities were up to scratch and the shower was fab. I ate at the restuarant downstairs and the food was superb. Lovely wine and a good beer helped me to relax and I sat, quite contented for the rest of a very pleasant evening. A great nights sleep and a lovely cooked breakfast set me up perfectly for the day ahead. I woud thoroughly recommend this little gem!

Reviewed by
gerry h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the level of furnishings was poor

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country inn with superb customer service
You are always assured of a very warm and friendly welcome at the end of a hard day when you stay at Chequers. It is a delightful inn but it's greatest asset is the staff who genuinely try to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Food is great, always tasty and well presented. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. I always enjoy staying here as it offers all you could need after a busy day - nice rooms, good food, a country pub with a lovely atmosphere but most of all Ross (owner) who has created a very good customer service approach in his friendly staff.

Reviewed by
eileen w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Area B & B
Good accomodation in a village pub. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Mark T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the location and premises were just what we were looking for. However, the pub was very quiet indeed - so much so, that the barman let the fire die out because he said the bar would be empty by 9pm. He wasn't joking - and the pub itself closed early!

Reviewed by
M T

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean good food nice people

Reviewed by
G Campbell

From Tam worth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend :)
Stayed here for three nights and ended up going back for another 2 staff were friendly and helpful, room was tidy and clean with a good shower and bath, the place was lovely to stay and cosy. however food could have been better but the staff and room more than made up for i.

Reviewed by
kerry-anne wood

From bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

agh
Brilliant

Reviewed by
k wood

From bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a family room which was not huge but was comfortable, clean and had good storage. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good with individually cooked full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Susannah M

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend getaway
Had a lovely 2 night stay over the August bank holiday. Fab base for exploring surrounding areas. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, no shower but no problem as bath instead. The staff are friendly and most courteous, always a good sign, and if you,re looking for food look no further than the restaurant downstairs!!!! Fabulous food, huge servings, and everything prepared to order. Only thing to make sure of is laterooms don't actually process payment you square up before you leave.

Reviewed by
n craig

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next