No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG
ALL ROOMS REFURBISHED Spring 2014 - Only 4 miles from Oxford and on the outskirts of the Cotswolds, the Chequers is a beautiful and imposing three-story Cotswold stone traditional inn, offering excellent food, fine wines, real ales and lovely accommodation. There are eight versatile double, twin and family en-suite guest rooms. Each room is a different shape and individually dressed. We have 3 Family rooms, 3 King Bedded rooms, 1 Twin Bedded room and 1 Double Bedded Room.
PLEASE NOTE:- You may pay when you check in. Alternatively, you will be required to allow us to pre authorise a credit or debit card for the total of accommodation plus 25% for extra's. Thank You
Please remember to take your receipt with you. Copy receipts will be charged at £5 to cover our admin costs
Picture of The Chequers Inn, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and welcoming staff--good food

Reviewed by
B vinton

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.Chequers Cassington
Very pleasant stay, staff excellent service very good, ideal spot to use as base for visiting Cotswolds and Oxford.
Good menu first class food served by a friendly and helpful staff.
Ample parking safe and secure.
Situated near most main roads and M40 and A34.
The owner has some excellent plans for future improvements.

Reviewed by
R Parkinson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not stay at the Chequers

Reviewed by
J Twomey

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything as it should be
No complaints. Good wifi. Good service. Clean.

Reviewed by
Yan S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for Oxford,friendly staff.
We only stayed for 1 night on route home from London, by way of Oxford.
We got the last room available apparently, but the room was very small, we kept banging our legs
On the bed, when trying to get by. But bed was comfy & room was quiet.
We drove to the park & ride bus to Oxford which was nearby. I would definitely recommend this,
As Oxford is terrible to park in. Home cooked food was good.
Only downside was being woken by fire alarm going off in night, which turned out to be steam from shower!! Could not sleep after that. Toast was burnt at breakfast. & again room was far too small for comfort. Maybe better for a single person.
Staff were new, very friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
Kathleen C

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good food, accommodation very tired
The food and staff were excellent.!!!!!!!The room was very nice, even if the bed was a little lumpy. However the bathroom really needed attention. The toilet seat would not sit straight when you sat on it you kept falling left then right, the mastic around the bath looked dreadful along with the mold on the walls. With a small spray of mold cleaner and a small amount of mastic the whole room would have looked 100 % better. Even the main WC in the restaurant had locks falling off the doors. A shame as it was a lovely building and position with great staff and amazing food.

Reviewed by
P Walford

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Room was fine, very clean as was bathroom. Breakfast was great and nothing wrong with the beer either. Apart from the insomniac in the room above ours who walked around all night and drove me to insane, it was a really good experience. Would definately stay again, but only on the top floor.

Reviewed by
John G

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Inn, Close to Oxford
Friendly staff and nice pub for a drink/meal, Comfy double room although a bit on the small side.
Very close to Oxford, just off A40.

Reviewed by
Ginette P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Throughly Recommend this as a place to stay
The hotel in clean, quiet and comfortable the food is excellent and the staff are help and friendly.
Tt's location is very handy for the Pear Tree Park and Ride service to the city centre. We enjoyed our stay very much and will make the Chequers the hotel of choice when staying in Oxford.

Reviewed by
C Kelcey

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Inn near to Oxford
Very pleasant stay in comfortable room in village Inn close to Oxford.

Reviewed by
Lyn J

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next