You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Chequers Inn

4

6 The Green, Cassington,, Oxford, OX29 4DG

Price From 117.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R O'Brien

  • February 2016

room not good

The food here was excellent but they wrre allowing a kid to run up and down nearly all evening.

No decaffinated tea or coffee so no hot drink for me. The owner, she just kept chatting about herself. Over friendly, done my head in. The room was really small (room 3), couldn't sit at dressing table as the bed is in the way. The bed was like a brick. I suffer with a bad back, I was awake nearly all night in agony.

  • L Backler

  • February 2016

Rooms were spot on

  • Richard M

  • January 2016

Excellent Night's Stay

Booked a room last minute for my partner and I doing a course up near Oxford and was very pleased with our experience.

We had excellent service throughout and the room was spot on for what we needed. Understand it's undergoing gradual refit works but already seems very good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • howard j

  • October 2015

Pub Break

A good value B & B pub.

Good Breakfast (as told by previous reviewers) The bar food was expensive but the Wed Curry special was better value. It was disappointing to be given a room with the bathroom "under repair"when the pub was not full.This caused excessive noise from the bar area directly under our room. A discount would have been a nice gesture.

  • william b

  • October 2015

Basically good but needs some work

Room and bathroom were clean but very small indeed, whilst we were there some tiles fell off the shower base and there were no working lights on the staircase, which we did report but no repair was done - not surprising as only the Manager was there with no other staff whatsoever.

The whole place needs a bit of TLC as it has obviously had money and time spent in the past but the impression now it is getting very tired. Staff were very pleasant and friendly, evening meal was okay but the breakfast was excellent

  • Jacqueline A

  • August 2015

Very comfortable and clean hotel

I enjoyed my one noght stay.

The bed was really comfy and room was quiet. I was helped with luggage and staff were very friendly. Good value.

  • Doug M

  • August 2015

The Chequers Inn

Nice country pub - very quiet , Excellent cooked breakfast, evening meals ok but there were never many other diners in - possibly because we dined during the week.

Rooms clean and pleasant.

Would recommend for a quiet retreat near Oxford

  • Linda H

  • August 2015

nice location

It was nice being out of busy Oxford City Centre, and yet within easy reach of it.

Our room was small but clean and looked fairly newly refurbished with everything in it you would need. Breakfasts were fine, nothing special or out of the ordinary, and staff friendly. As a pub with rooms the accommodation is what you would expect, and it's a pleasant pub with parking for residents which is handy. I find Oxford prices to be high wherever you stay, and hence this seems over-priced for what you might pay in other parts of the UK or for a similar standard of accommodation.

  • M H

  • August 2015

The Chequers Inn

Quite place.

Very friendly owner, looked after us well.

  • Alexandra L

  • August 2015

Very enjoyable stop over in this lovely inn

I have to say that I have nothing negative to say.

We stayed one night. Very comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff, and an amazing cooked breakfast, with the best poached eggs I have had in years. Very easy distance to Oxford which is lovely, great parking facilities. I would definitely stay again when in the area.