Reviews - The Chequers Inn


6, The Green Cassington, Oxford, OX294DG

Price From 169.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Ware

  • May 2015

would use again, excellent food

  • T Oakley

  • April 2015

Just what we wanted

Chequers Inn was a lovely place to stay.

Small, cosy, clean with friendly, helpful staff. We visited Oaxford during the day and as we didn't need to be in the centre for the evening, being on the outskirts was fine. Decent pub food and a very reasonably priced stay. Would recommend.

  • Scott H

  • April 2015

Good potential- disgraceful bathroom.

The bathroom really let this hotel down.

The room and furnishings were fine and the pub and food were nice too. However the bathroom had pain peeling from the roof and smashed tiles with mouldy grout and silicone. Recommend the hotel renovate the bathroom before disappointing other guests. Other than that it could be a nice place at £85 per night in Oxford.

  • Charlotte D

  • April 2015

A good B&B 10 minutes outside of Oxford.

Our room (six) was small but clean and comfortable with a good shower ensuite. The only issue we had was the extractor fan being just outside the room, while the kitchen was open-this however was not hugely noisy and was turned off by 9:30 each night. The food was very good and so was the service. There is also free wifi and plenty of parking available. Be aware that they close the pub between 2.30 and 4.30 in the afternoon, so you can't check in until 4.30. Overall though a nice stay.

  • R Milton

  • March 2015

check mate

wonderful village location; good for Oxford and the Cotswolds.

Quiet village pub with good range of facilities. Liked we could come and go with out going through the bar/ restaurant. Good safe parking. Staff were really helpful and looked after us well. towels etc changed each day. warm rooms. All 4 of the group; a double and the twin room enjoyed the stay.

  • Shirley A Williams

  • March 2015

A nice friendly and Quiet place to stay.

we enjoyed our stay there, perhaps a little way from Oxford, but small price to pay for a decent and friendly Hotel/Pub

  • Nicholas Arnold

  • March 2015

The Chequers Inn

Only real thing that got on our nerves was the bed were two singles and we had to push together as they had ran out of double beds

  • Mary R

  • February 2015

Comfortable room

Book this room last minute and found the room to be very comfortable.

Staff were welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Joanne L

  • February 2015

Overall ok

We were not impressed with the rubber under sheet on the double bed.

Also the bathroom was rather tatty. On the plus side the food was good as was the location.

  • Allan Meredith

  • January 2015

Very nice staff, food good.

My son and myself stayed for three nights, we had evening meals every night.

and a full English breakfast, it was a bit off that the breakfast was an extra at £ 18.50 but it was very nice. The rooms were ok, a little cramped for a double with en'suite, the shower leaked and rotted the skirtingbourd, nothing a days work couldn't sort out. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Not sure it was worth the near £ 100.00 per night, that did include a few drinks. Lol