No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bleak House

5Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Fort Road, Broadstairs, CT10 1EY
Set atop the cliffs overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House has stunning luxury B & B accommodation and a special bridal suite. If you wish to hold a party, wedding reception or any special business event, hiring Bleak House makes any function a very special occasion.

Bleak House was built in 1801 and was the home of the local fort captain during the Napoleonic wars. It was here that Charles Dickens wrote several of his famous novels. Bleak House was leased by the author from 1837 to 1859. Originally named Fort House, after his death in 1870 it was renamed Bleak House in his honour. It is the only four storey grade II listed mansion in Broadstairs.

Dickens and his family lived here every summer for 22 years. He called it 'our little watering place'. one on which he had always set his affections. Charles Dickens viewed his beloved English Channel. Dickens completed his novel David Copperfield here and it is where he was inspired to write Bleak House.
Picture of Bleak House, Broadstairs at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

seemed unorganised as no butter served with toast or milk on table or served for coffee

Reviewed by
t barltrop

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian elegance
It was an interesting experience staying at this unique hotel. The Chatles Dickens suite was very atmospheric as well as having great views across Broadstairs. The staff were helpful and attentive

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely welcome and interesting place
The welcome was very warm, and nothing would have been too much trouble. The bed was a little uncomfortable for me, but I am sure for most it would be just fine. Lovely garden, and seating area outside. A little climb to get to so be aware any disable also no lift. I would be sure to let my friends know it is a great place to stay in Broadstairs.

Reviewed by
s henser

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it
Everything was perfect. Beautiful room and buildings. Excellent service. SHerry bottle kept getting topped up for free, breakfast was brought to our beds, staff were lovely, views were amazing and broadstairs is a great seaside town. We loved it.

Reviewed by
J Ingham

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming, historical - but why is it 5*? Not great value for money.
Stayed in this hotel for our "mini-moon" post wedding for 2 nights - don't expect any special treatment if you do the same!! Even asking for a photo to be taken was greeted with some dismay! Stayed in the Little Dorrit Suite, which is very basic, view over a terrace with slight view of the sea, small, basic shower only. Asked for an upgrade as not at all what we expected for the price and online description - the only alternative was the Charles Dickens Suite, at a much higher rate, with the bathroom and toilet outside the room! Wifi did not work in our room, so spent a lot of time sitting in the hallway trying to connect - not ideal. When questioning the staff about this - was told there was nothing they could do about it. The house and its contents are very old, many will find this charming, others may find it just needs sprucing up. Room was clean. Good shower products. Breakfast was average. Service ok. If you are a huge Charles Dickens fan I would recommend it, otherwise I am sure you can find a higher quality 5* hotel in the area for a similar or cheaper price.

Reviewed by
H Lhoste

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been amazing but really didn't feel like a quality hotel. Staff were friendly but the house was run down and had some very garish decorations and was run down. Didn't feel bright clean and tidy
For the price I felt let down

Reviewed by
Daniel F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the moment we arrived to checkout excellent service from everyone. Bleak house is full of character and is an ideal setting in broadstairs overlooking Viking bay.

Reviewed by
Linda T

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Breakfast was a let down. Not that it was bad just not befitting of the venue and other services.

Reviewed by
Justin M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderfully charming, comfortable and emjoyable stay
This is one fantastic hotel. Steeped in history and full of the charm of the English seaside, we had the most wonderful stay at Bleak House. The staff were only too happy to be of service, attending to every whim with charm, wit and efficiency. The grounds are stunning and the house itself, from its authentic Victorian furnishings and detailed Dickensia to the delicious breakfasts and teas it serves, was more than we had hoped for.

Reviewed by
Mark McCord

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Amazing Experience!
I booked to stay at Bleak House as a suprise for my partner's suprise birthday present, however, I got in a complete muddle and thought I had booked it for the 4th when in fact I had booked it for the 11th!! When I realised half way through the week i went into a complete panic and called the owner and explained the situation, expecting to hear the worst and that I would have to pay for the room anyway and that they would be fully booked on the 11th. The response was quite the opposite and they were so helpful and understanding and booked us into The Charles Dickens Suite. This was only the start of exceptional hospitality provided by the staff at Bleak House! Everything was absolutley perfect! I would fully recommend Bleak House to anyone. The accomodation was fantastic, the views spectacular and the service second to none. A massive thank you to all for making a birthday weekend so very very special. We very much hope to return again.

Reviewed by
J Schurer

From Essex, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next